It’s Beginning to Feel a Lot Like Christmas

December 24, 2009

I received another good dose of holiday spirit yesterday when a student presented me with a card.  Inside, she wrote:

I have been so lucky (and happy) to have you to confide in!  Seeing and talking to you always lifts my spirits.  It has been a blessing to have you in my life.  My words could not cover the amount of gratitude I have for all your help!  Thank you so much!  You’re like my school mommy!  You’re an amazing and encouraging woman!  I pray you get all you want and deserve!  Love, B

I cried when I read her words.  There’s a lot of crap going on at work (for one thing, I’m involved in a grievance against an administrator), but kids like B, along with my “merry band of misfits,” remind me of what’s important about my job – the students.

Speaking of students, here’s an update on Manny the Puppet Master.  He’s been busy working on his resumé and applying for jobs.  Please keep your fingers crossed for him.  He deserves a break.

Merry Christmas!

Song of the Day:  It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas;
Soon the bells will start,
And the thing that will make them ring is the carol that you sing
Right within your heart.

11 Responses to “It’s Beginning to Feel a Lot Like Christmas”

  1. Stefani said

    Awww, Stephanie – how nice! Go B! Go Manny!

    Merry Christmas, Stephanie, to you, Daniel and the girls!

    Stefani

  2. How nice Enjoy the holidays

  3. I always root for puppeteers! Merry Christmas to you and your entire family of misfits!

  4. Sunshyn said

    That is SO sweet. The cool thing is, she will always remember you as someone who helped her through school. One of those “most influential teachers.” Almost (but not quite) makes all the pain and suffering worth it, huh? Have a Happy Christmas.

  5. Bex said

    Happy Holidays to you and your family.

  6. Jim said

    Merry Christmas!

  7. terri t. said

    What a sweet card and how great that she felt so strongly that she put her thoughts into words for you to read whenever you need a pat on the back.
    Hope your holiday is wonderful and that the problem with the administrator works out in your favor.

  8. Michael said

    It’s a great gift, isn’t it, knowing that you make a difference? Merry Christmas.

  9. Sharon said

    Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a very happy new year with less pain.

  10. Hulda said

    Hi, I know I don’t comment much but I do read you and I wanted to say happy new year! Also, I was looking through the archives but I can’t seem to find it, do you remember linking to a brochure for people who live with or have family members with ‘invisible diseases’, like just because you can’t point to a broken leg your family member can still have pain and what we can do to be understanding? Do you know what I’m talking about? I would have sent you an e-mail, but I can’t find it. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

