Enough is Enough

October 18, 2009

A lot has happened since I last posted here.  Right before I went back to work in early September, my grandmother was admitted to the hospital.  She was there for quite some time, and it was touch and go for a while.  She ended up getting a pacemaker.  As you can imagine, that was a very stressful time.

Last month, I participated in our annual  “Dress Up As A Literary Character Day”  at work.  I went as Jacob Marley from A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens.  What a trip that was.

On Tuesday, the husband of a much loved co-worker died unexpectedly.  I went to the shiva house after work on Friday, and was dismayed to see how frail and fragile my co-worker looks.  She and her husband were married for 41 years, and they were incredibly devoted to each other.  My heart aches for her, as it does for my darling LA, her fiancée, and his family as they deal with the very recent loss of Mick’s grandmother.   Please keep them all in your thoughts and prayers.

A little over a week ago, my father had a total knee replacement.  At present, he is in a rehabilitation facility for physical therapy, which means that my 98 year-old grandmother is alone.  Michele, Mike and I have been running around like those proverbial chickens with their heads cut off.  I am beyond exhausted, and in extraordinary pain.  I don’t know how I’m going to walk to work every morning this week (Daniel is visiting his family in Canada)… The walk home isn’t too bad, but I am especially stiff and achy in the morning.  This is going to be very difficult for me.

Yesterday, Leigh had to go to a walk-in clinic because she thought she had a UTI. Turns out that she has an unusually high amount of protein in her urine, which the doctor said can be indicative of kidney disease.   He wants her to follow up with a urologist.

To top things off, Tuesday will mark the third anniversary of my brother’s death.

As I said on Facebook, my “downer” quota has been filled for the month.  No more, please.

Song of the Day:  Downer by Nirvana

12 Responses to “Enough is Enough”

  1. Yes I agree that your quota has been filled.
    I hope Leigh is OK and it isn’t kidney disease. If it is CKD she can help slow the progress with a certian diet. But hopefully it is just a fluke. Sometimes people that stand a lot get a high protien output. Hoping you get a happy quota soon.

  2. Betty Lou said

    Oh, I hope that life turns around for you soon, and you and everyone you love will get better, and nothing will be as bad as it appears right now.

  3. Bex said

    I think the “down” quota is contageous. I have it bad now too, with pain all the time nonstop. I am slowly going berzerk. I wish you some peace, and myself as well. If only…..

  4. Sharon said

    You’ve certainly had much more than your share of pain and bad times. I hope that things soon turn around for you and your family. Sending lots of good thought your way.

  5. sasha said

    You’ve certainly had your fill. *hug*

  6. terri t. said

    That’s a lot of stress to live with…no wonder you are not feeling as well as you wish. Good luck to your daughter, hope it isn’t serious and she can control it.
    Keep on blogging, we need to know you are doing ok.

  7. Michael said

    That’s just more than one person should have to deal with at one time. I’m sure it wouldn’t be quite as hard if you didn’t have to go through the physical pain. I hope you get to start working up to your quota of good stuff soon.

  8. LA said

    Three years already? Seems impossible.

    Mick sends his love and appreciates your sympathy, as do I. ~LA

  9. goatbarnwitch said

    That is a large amount of stress at once and I hope it lets up asap. Hang in there.

  10. Sunshyn said

    Good to hear from you; you’re alive! Sorry things have been so sucky…

  11. Well, damn! This certainly isn’t helping any of your health problems! I remember the doctor telling me I had too much protein in my urine, and being the stupid 24 year old that I was, ignored her, and lo and behold, 5 years later….

    Man oh man…I’ve really got nothing to say other than things please, please, PLEASE! get better for everyone.

  12. JJ said

    Jeez! That outfit is truly scary! What a great idea. You really do go all out for this and I’m sure the kids appreciate it!
    Blessings on you and your family during this sad anniversary month.

Leave a Reply

