Sitting Like a Princess Perched in Her Electric Chair

July 31, 2009

Wow, it sure has been a long time since I last posted here.  I think this is my longest hiatus since I started an online journal back in August of 2001.  There are a few reasons for my silence.  One is that I’ve been pretty tied up with an unhappy situation one of my sisters is dealing with.   The past few months have been physically and emotionally draining.

Another reason is that I just haven’t felt like going to the trouble of posting here.   When I do feel the need to make public mention of certain happenings, I do it on Facebook.  This appeals to me because I can do it in as few words as possible, without having to tax my brain trying to come up with an entire entry.  I’ve become a lazy blogger.

Speaking of Facebook, this social networking site has enabled me to make some new friends, as well as reconnect with some old and very dear friends.  One of those people is Joanne.  Her association with our family goes back to childhood.  She and my sister, Patti, were very good friends, and Joanne spent a lot of time at our house, and even traveled to our summer cottage in the Berkshires with us.  I was delighted when I recently received a Facebook friend request from her.  (She now lives in Virginia.)

I’ve been posting Youtube clips (like this one) all week, and Joanne left this comment the other day:  “God, you bring back memories…. [Singing] Someone saved my life tonight at the top of our lungs while you were getting ready to go to that place in New Paltz…. What was the name of it???? Some of my fondest memories are being at the Perri’s.”

Her remarks conjured up some fond memories of my own, and I went in search of photos.   I had a laughing fit when I came across this pic of Patti dressed up as Elton John.

My siblings and I loved to “dress up.”  Actually, I loved to dress other people up.  Unfortunately, most of the photographic evidence is stored in huge Rubbermaid bins in the basement, and I don’t have the stamina to sort through them right now.  It’s really too bad because there are some great shots of Mark and Mike dressed up as Robert Plant and Jimmy Page from Led Zeppelin, and Mike as King Tut and Mark as a mummy…  Oh well, I’ll get around to it someday… In the meantime, here are a few photos that were in albums, and therefore easier to locate.

This is Patti dressed up as a mime.

Punked out Michele.  (You can’t see them in this pic, but there are safety pins all over the shirt.)

Mark and Mike, and then Frank, as Gumbys.

We even dressed up our snowmen!

Those really were the days…

Reading:  The Shell Seekers by Rosamunde Pilcher

Song of the Day:  Someone Saved My Life Tonight by Elton John

13 Responses to “Sitting Like a Princess Perched in Her Electric Chair”

  1. karenfromphilly said

    I wonder why it makes me cry to see pics like that, (I remember your brothers at that age!) and I realize I’m mourning my youth!

  2. yaketyyak said

    Me. too, Karen. And, I was hoping to hear from you about this entry, because it made me think of you!

  3. Jim said

    That “place in New Paltz”? A restaurant or bar? Just wondering since I got my BA from SUNY New Paltz plus a load of grad work and lived in town for a couple of years — of course I moved from New Paltz to Monticello in ’68, so probably the places I knew are not the same as the ones you knew.

  4. yaketyyak said

    She must have been talking about Joe’s, or maybe Backstage…

  5. yaketyyak said

    Joe’s is a bar and Backstage was a disco, by the way. Joe’s is still there, but Backstage is long gone. I had an awful lot of fun in both places…

  6. Stefani said

    Judging from some of your recent Halloween costumes, I think you like to dress yourself up too! Cool stuff – love Patti’s Elton John pose especially!

    Facebook really is a lot of fun. We’re having our 35th high school reunion in a couple of weeks and it’s served as a great ice breaker. I already know who I want to seek out and what we’ll talk about!

    Facebook is a much or little as you want to make it. I like that.

  7. You should have been a costume designer, you have great talent.

  8. goatbarnwitch said

    Good to see an entry from you. Love the pics, so fun!

  9. Those pics are great!!

  10. Sasha said

    What great pictures and memories. 🙂 I understand what you mean about Facebook but I’ve missed your entries. My own entries just bore me.

  11. I love all your posts and the pics. At least you make sense when you write and I admire how you always come up with a musical lyric theme.

  12. terri t. said

    I enjoyed the blog subject and the pictures….

  13. LA said

    Adorable! ~LA

Leave a Reply

