Gardens and Groundhogs

May 30, 2009

Before we get to the garden photos, I want to share something that made me laugh.  As I mentioned in Mary’s comments in reference to her entry about spelling bees, I came across a doozy of a spelling error while looking over a paper written by a high school junior – “alls timers” for Alzheimer’s.  I just love that.

On to the garden gazing.  If these wild roses didn’t smell so delightful, I’d get rid of them because their sprawling growth tends to be rather riotous in an area that doesn’t work well for that.

This giant allium is my current pride and joy.


The huge purple globe amazes me every time I look at it, which I do quite often, from a rocking chair on the front porch.

The blooming iris are few but spectacular.

Last year, this plant didn’t bloom, and I had no idea what it was.  My Neighbor has informed me that it is called Jacob’s Ladder.  It’s probably something she gave me, because I know I didn’t buy it.

These coral bells are another donation from My Neighbor.

I planted this lupine a few weeks ago, and am very happy to see it come into bloom.


I’ve always wanted foxgloves, and am thrilled with this one, planted the same time as the lupine.

Does anyone know what this is?  I haven’t had a chance to ask My Neighbor.

All the news from my outdoor world is not as good as the fruits of my garden labor, thanks to a couple of dastardly groundhogs.  LA very thoughtfully sent me a tutorial on groundhog elimination that involves blocking tunnel entrances/exits.   Our groundhogs have tunnels that pop up all over My Neighbor’s yard, as well as mine.  I’ll have to talk to her about joining forces.   If all else fails, I might have to hire a hit man.

This pile of rocks under the rhododendron in my back yard (a loooooong time ago, it was part of an elaborate rock garden complete with lighted fountain) is now the portal to a tunnel.  My Neighbor calls it the Groundhog Condo.  Let the eviction process begin.

Song of the Day:  Garden Party by Ricky Nelson

Reading:  The Once and Future King by T.H. White

14 Responses to “Gardens and Groundhogs”

  1. Gorgeous flowers! Did Dennis Moore give you the lupine? Will your front yard become an outpost of the Lupine Express? (You know I couldn’t resist…)

  2. yaketyyak said

    Stand and deliver! 🙂

  3. Our allium and Iris already bloomed and are gone. Funny how the spring works its way northward. Your flowers are very nice.

  4. LA said

    Gorgeous! Good luck with Operation Groundhog. ~LA

  5. terri t. said

    Beautiful flowers…good luck with the groundhogs…

  6. Sharon said

    I love those purple globe flowers. Is that the proper name? I took a photo of some that my neighbor had in her garden, but wasn’t sure of the name, so I used google images with the words purple puffy flower. There was a photo with the same flower, but that person had called it purple puffy flower. 😀

  7. Sasha said

    I love all your growing stuff, it’s gorgeous! I’ll send Spike over to catch your groundhogs. Funny, but since he caught those two moles here, there haven’t been any fresh mole holes. He’s such a good little hunter.

  8. ALvin said

    Love the spelling error. Every now and again I’ll come across someone calling it Ol’timers, as in my grams has Ol’timers, She’s 90, so that is to be expected.

    Funny thing tho, is that they actually believe it’s ‘old timers disease’, something that happens to the elderly.

    Now get this… a person at work used that very expression. Now, I don’t want to mention what kind of work I do here… but it has to do with saving lives.

    Yeah. scary I know. I think we need a better screening process before hiring these people.

    Ok, I’m outta here.
    luv ya
    =a=

  9. Jim said

    Lovely flowers.

    (My wife says I just suffer from “Some Timers.”)

  10. yaketyyak said

    Saving lives? Did you change jobs, Alvin? Thanks for the compliments on my gardens, everybody. By the way Sharon, the purple globe plant is an allium.

  11. Michael said

    The Jacob’s Ladder is gorgeous, wherever it came from. Love the foxglove, too. Good luck with the underground war.

  12. Stefani said

    Your flowers & plants are gorgeous! I can just imagine rocking on your porch enjoying them all. Nice!

  13. karenfromphilly said

    You’re flowers are beautiful. I have allium too, only they’re little. I love them cause the deer don’t! I’ve never had to deal with groundhogs although I see them once in awhile. We have a fence so I guess that deters them a little. Of course I do have those intimidating little dogs! Aren’t flowers so satisfying when they grow so beautifully? I love being surprised in Spring by the bulbs I planted in the fall.

  14. BT said

    I think your blue flower may be campanula persicifolia. I love the architectural form of alliums – my wife hates them *sigh*. We don’t have any in our garden. 😦

Leave a Reply

