Nothing but the Dead and Dying Back in My Little Town

May 28, 2009

Yesterday, questioning of a rape suspect at the Sheriff’s headquarters turned into a three hour standoff.  The suspect grabbed a detective’s gun and fired.  The bullet grazed a detective’s head.  The suspect then barricaded himself in an unoccupied office.  About three hours later, he shot and killed himself.  Streets in the area were shut down for hours, and residents were evacuated.   This is the fifteenth shooting in My Little Town since the beginning of the year.  Fifteen shootings in less than five months.  I feel like I’m living in the Wild West.

In more pleasant news, I went on an architectural Art Deco walking Tour of Manhattan a couple of weeks ago, and thoroughly enjoyed it (although I most definitely did not enjoy the resulting pain).  We visited the Daily News building, the old GE building (it was like Oz inside) the Waldorf-Astoria, Rockefeller Center, and, my favorite, the Chrysler Building.

I had another positive experience last weekend when I attended a Reiki training session given by My Friend.  During the attunement, I was amazed to feel a powerful surge of energy flow through my fingers. This is some seriously cool stuff.

I’m running late on time, but before I go I want to wish Daniel a very Happy Birthday!

Song of the Day:  My Little Town by Simon & Garfunkel

11 Responses to “Nothing but the Dead and Dying Back in My Little Town”

  1. Sharon said

    That sounds like a really neat tour!

  2. Happy birthday to Daniel!

  3. Stefani said

    I love cool architecture! Sounds like a neat tour.

    Happy birthday to Daniel!

  4. LA said

    The Hotel Edison is a non-famous Art Deco place with the most comfortable chairs ever! Best lobby to sit around in when the tootsies are tired. Nobody hassles you and you can sit and look at all the murals and cool curves on the ceilings and elevators and people watch in peace. Shhhh…it’s a secret.

    Happy Birthday, Daniel! ~LA

  5. I would love a tour like that one. Glad you had fun.

  6. Jeanette said

    I’ve never seen a close up of the Chrysler building. Very cool.

  7. Sasha said

    Those are some great pictures! Happy birthday to Daniel, too. 🙂

  8. terri t. said

    So glad to hear that the shoot-out thing didn’t result in anyone else being killed. He obviously was guilty.
    The pictures were wonderful….I am always in awe of people who can create such magnificence.

  9. Jim said

    New York City has some fascinating buildings. Sounds like a great tour.

  10. Michael said

    That’s a beautiful building, and those are beautiful photos.

Leave a Reply

