She Had a Good Run

March 2, 2009

Before I get to the topic for this entry, I’d like to address a comment.  Fay asked if I meditate, or do any sort of ritual de-stressing each day.  Good question!  I have tried to meditate, but can’t seem to shut my brain down.  As for ritual de-stressing, I’m open to suggestions.  I’d also like to thank Sheryl for her comment.  It’s always good to hear from someone who has firsthand knowledge of what chronic pain sufferers have to live with.

Moving right along… I’m in a hurry because we have a snow day and I want to go back to bed.  I should probably stay up and tackle the multitude of things I have to do – taxes, FAFSA applications, clean the kitchen, etc., but this untreated sinus infection (I don’t believe the nonallergic rhinitis diagnosis is accurate.  The mucus is yellow, for crying out loud!) is getting the better of me.  Anyway, this is an excerpt from an entry I posted on January 8, 2006 on Diary-x:

Centenarian Coquette

Daniel and I went to a party for a friend’s grandmother who just turned one hundred years old.  You’d never guess her age. She gets all dolled up, and looks amazing. She’s sharp as a tack, too. Incredibly, this woman worked until the age of 94!

I can’t say I had a good time at the party, but it wasn’t bad, either. There were at least fifty people there, and I didn’t know any of them except for the host and his wife, so it was a bit awkward and uncomfortable. We don’t like to leave Ellie in her crate too long (but can’t leave her unsupervised, either), so we had a good excuse to leave early.

One thing we did enjoy was the barbershop quartet that serenaded the 100-year old birthday girl. They were pretty good, but what made the experience even better was watching The Coquettish Centenarian’s reaction to the men as they sang to her. It’s good to know that a person can still be flirtatious even at such an advanced age. More power to her!

Yesterday, Daniel and I went to her wake.  Rest peacefully, Mildred.

Song of the Day: Coquette by Paul McCartney

8 Responses to “She Had a Good Run”

  1. Stefani said

    Sounds like she certainly had a great life. (Except the working until she was 94! Hopefully she did that because she wanted to. Not me!)

    I keep reading about snow in Friends’ updates on Facebook – and now you have a snow day? Guess I better go look out the window. 🙂

  2. LA said

    The snow day alert call woke me and now I can’t get back to sleep! Hope you can.

    103! Wow. RIP, Mildred, you surely did give it a great run.

    Not that I’m planning on her dying anytime soon, but I’m a bit goofed over the idea Gram might still be here in another 10 years. To put it in perspective, Wolf would be 21! And Gram could be still chugging along. That would be so cool. ~LA

  3. My mom is a total flirt — so much so that even in the ER, she tells the docs “Oh, you’re so handsome!”

  4. terri t. said

    Once a flirt, always a flirt…bless her heart. I am sure she had a wonderful life….I hope she passed on plenty of stories to her family. Just think how much change she lived through in her long life. I think it is amazing that I lived from the time of manual typewriters to word processors…!
    and that can’t compare with what she saw and lived through…especially working until she was 94!

  5. LeAnn said

    Wow! I would have loved to have heard her tell some stories. I can just imagine way back in the the early twentieth century her as a young girl picturing the year 2000. Could she have ever dreamed she would live to see 2009?!

  6. Fay said

    I feel so special! So now I’d like to add one more thing: It doesn’t have to be so much about “shutting your brain off.” Even just sitting and focusing on one thing: some music, your breathing, the sound of the birds outside, etc… for a few minutes, can be very powerful. I used to have a hard time with it too, until I started thinking of it in the “focus on one thing” way instead of the “must shut brain off” way.

  7. yaketyyak said

    Thanks, Fay. That I can do! 🙂

  8. Michael said

    It’s inspiring to hear about someone who lived so well for so long.

Leave a Reply

