You Make Me Smile With My Heart

February 14, 2009

I’ve got a few things I want to talk about, but before I get to that I’d like to post the Bucket List that’s going around Facebook.  I was tagged by Penny.  (This list, by the way, is not the same as Fifty-nine Out of One Hundred.)

Things you have done during your lifetime:
( ) Gone on a blind date
(x ) Skipped school
( ) Watched someone die
(x) Been to Canada
(x ) Been to Mexico
(x) Been to Florida
(x ) Been to Hawaii
(x) Been on a plane
(x ) Been on a helicopter (in Kauai, Hawaii)
(x) Been lost
(x) Gone to Washington, DC
(x) Swam in the ocean
(x) Cried yourself to sleep
(x) Played cops and robbers

(x) Recently colored with crayons
( ) Sang Karaoke
(x) Paid for a meal with coins only
( ) Been to the top of the St. Louis Arch
(X) Done something you told yourself you wouldn’t.
(x ) Made prank phone calls
(x ) Been down Bourbon Street in New Orleans
(x ) Laughed until some kind of beverage came out of your nose & elsewhere

(X) Caught a snowflake on your tongue
( ) Danced in the rain-naked
(X) Written a letter to Santa Claus
(x ) Been kissed under the mistletoe
(x ) Watched the sunrise with someone
(X) Blown bubbles
(X) Gone ice-skating

(X) Gone to the movies
(x ) Been deep sea fishing
(x ) Driven across the United States

( ) Been in a hot air balloon
( ) Been sky diving
(x) Gone snowmobiling
( ) Lived in more than one country
(x) Lay down outside at night and admired the stars while listening to the crickets
(x ) Seen a falling star and made a wish
(x ) Enjoyed the beauty of Old Faithful Geyser
(x) Seen the Statue of Liberty

( ) Gone to the top of Seattle Space Needle
( ) Been on a cruise
(x) Traveled by train
(x ) Traveled by motorcycle  (It wasn’t exactly traveling, but I have been on motorcycles, as a passenger.)
(x) Been horseback riding
(x ) Ridden on a San Francisco cable car
(x ) Been to Disney World (Actually, it was Disney Land in CA)

( ) Truly believe in the power of prayer
( ) Been in a rain forest
( ) Seen whales in the ocean  (I’ve been on whale watches, but didn’t see any whales.)
(X) Been to Niagara Falls
(x ) Ridden on an elephant  (I have a picture of that experience, but don’t feel like digging through thousands of photos to find it.)

( ) Swam with dolphins
( ) Been to the Olympics
( ) Walked on the Great Wall of China
( ) Saw and heard a glacier calf
( ) Been spinnaker flying
( x) Been water-skiing
() Been snow-skiing
(x ) Been to Westminster Abbey
( ) Been to the Louvre
( ) Swam in the Mediterranean
() Been to a Major League Baseball game
() Been to a National Football League game

On to the next item… The last time I saw Dr. What Do You Want Me to Do, he referred me to an allergist because of my frequent problems with runny nose and sneezing.  I went for allergy testing yesterday, and it turns out that I’m not allergic to anything.  I do, however, have a deiviated septum.  I also have nonallergic rhinitis, which means that I am very sensitive to irritants such as dust and odors.  Changes in weather and chronic health conditions can also trigger nonallergic rhinitis symptoms.  The Mayo Clinic notes that this condition can make you miserable.  It sure does.  Lucky me.

In other news, we are going to pick up our new car today. Our current vehicle is a 1995 Chevy Cavalier.   It’s getting to the point where we are putting more money than is fiscally responsible into a car that is fourteen years old.  So, we looked for the cheapest decent car we could find and decided upon a 2009 Hyundai Accent, ranked number 17 out of 35 in affordable small cars by US News & World Report.  The color is charcoal grey.

We’re going to have to be even more creative in our budgeting now that we’ll be adding a car payment to our monthly expenses.  Our car insurance has gone up,too,  but it’s not as bad as I had feared.  Daniel called around (including Geico), and the best deal we got came from Liberty Mutual.  They also offered us a better deal on our home insurance, so we switched that over, as well.  Wish us luck!

Besides picking up our new car, we will be celebrating Valentine’s Day with take-out food.  I don’t want to go to a restaurant because they’re too crowded and you get the bum’s rush on holidays such as this one.  Take-out Chinese will do nicely.  Not having to cook is a beautiful thing.

After dinner, I will snuggle up with my sweetie, savor my Lindt Lindor Truffles,  and watch a romantic episode of The Sopranos.  We don’t have HBO, so we’ve been getting the DVDs from Netflix.  We’re almost at the end, and I have to say that I can see why the series was so popular.  I’m really loving it.

Speaking of loving, go on and kiss the girl (or guy, whichever the case may be).

HAPPY VALENTINE’S Day!

Reading: Random Family: Love, Drugs, Trouble, and Coming of Age in the Bronx by Adrian Nicole LeBlanc
Song of the Day:  My Funny Valentine by Richard Rodgers and Lorenz Hart

12 Responses to “You Make Me Smile With My Heart”

  1. LA said

    Love and kisses to you too, baby! ~LA

  2. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  3. Happy V Day. And congrats on the new car. That is exciting.

  4. Jeanette said

    We watched The Sopranos on Netflix DVD too and really liked it. When you’re done I recommend Six Fee Under and Big Love and Weeds. All of which are worth watching

  5. Jeanette said

    Oh yeah, and Dexter, too!

  6. Stefani said

    I’m glad you’re loving the Sopranos series. Netflix is perfect for that stuff. I second the above recommendation for Six Feet Under. We loved Oz too – it’s a gritty prison drama, not for everyone, admittedly.

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  7. terri t. said

    It sounds like you have a lovely weekend planned. I started watching the Sopranos and then couldn’t get the next season….a few years ago. Guess I should try Netflix since we have an account now. I also watched a season of 6 Feet Under and loved it.

  8. LeAnn said

    Billy gives me a hard time about watching GH and always asks me why I don’t just watch the Sopranos. I’ve never seen that show but I guess GH mafia theme is similar. Congrats on the new car!

  9. Congrats on the new car and happy V day.

  10. goatbarnwitch said

    Happy V-day and new wheels too!

  11. Michael said

    Enjoy the new car. I’ve had four brand new cars in my life and got excited about it every time. I drove the first three until they wouldn’t go any more. Still working on the fourth. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  12. Jim said

    Regarding question #24 — So you’re one of those people who only dance naked when it’s not raining?

    *grin*

    Yeah, TV shows on DVD via Netflix is a great way to watch. No commercial breaks (for those that aren’t from HBO). We’ve been delighted with Battlestar Galactica and 24 from Netflix. If it weren’t for Jill & Jeremy, I’d probably drop everything but basic cable — oops, no, I’d have to have the ESPN channels for Nancy to watch the major tennis events.

    Let me be a third (or is it 4th) voice for Six Feet Under. Not every single episode was great but they were all watchable and some were very good and some were outstanding.

Leave a Reply

