Twenty Five Random Things

February 8, 2009

Sasha and Stefani did this  (on Facebook), and so did Mary.

Here are the directions:
Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged. You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you. (I don’t do tags, but if the spirit moves you, go for it.)

1. I have never taken a picture with my cell phone.  Truth be told, I hardly use my cell phone at all.
2. I enjoy games like Taboo, Pictionary and Scattergories, but I’m not much of a card player.
3. I rarely remember my dreams.
4. I love shoes.  Unfortunately, I can’t wear pretty shoes or boots (not for long, anyway) because I have hammertoes.  I had surgery (one of the most painful experiences of my life) to correct the problem back in the eighties, but it was a flop.
5. I hate to cook.  I used to enjoy it, but after forty years in the kitchen, I’d love to hang up my apron (metaphorically speaking; I don’t actually wear an apron).
6. I prefer dogs over cats.
7. I count when I’m brushing my teeth – 15 seconds for each quadrant, inner and outer.
8. I blush easily.  It’s a curse.
9. I’m part Polish (on my mother’s side) but identify far more strongly with my Italian heritage.
10. I am a ravenous reader.
11. Music has always been a big part of my life, and my tastes are rather eclectic.
12. I am a crybaby.  Seriously, it doesn’t take much to get the tears flowing.  Being an empath doesn’t help.  (See more below.)
13. I have a potty mouth.
14. I am addicted to Kitsch in Art jewelry.
15. I don’t like flavored coffee, and I drink my coffee black, no sugar.
16. Watermelon is my favorite fruit.
17. Red is my favorite color.
18. During my pregnancies, I craved sour things, like green olives, lemons and vinegar (which I drank from a spoon).
19. I have body image issues.
20. I have a bit of an inferiority complex.
21. I have serious bed head when I get up in the morning.
22. I have been in menopause for quite a while, but I’m just starting to experience night sweats.  It’s so bad I’m considering giving HRT another try.
23. I’ll be 55 years old in August, and I’m not feeling very good about that.
24. I have an unnatural fear of praying mantises and eyelash curlers.  It’s a good thing my eyelashes are naturally curly.
25. Many of my clothes come from thrift shops and clearance racks.  A co-worker recently told me I could earn a good living thrift shopping for others because of my sense of style, and talent for separating the wheat from the chaff.  She made my day.

Back to number 12.  I wrote an entry on this topic on February 4, 2003, during my days at Diary-X.  It was one of the few entries I was able to salvage.  I’ll repost it here.

I t doesn’t take much to make me cry.  I’ve always hated that about myself, but, try as I might, I just can’t seem to help it.  I guess I’m just a crybaby.

I cry when I’m angry.  I cry out of frustration.  I cry when I’m moved.  I cry when I’m depressed (although there are times when I’m too depressed to cry).  I cry from grief, and sometimes I laugh until I cry.  I shed tears of joy, and tears of compassion.  I cry when my feelings are hurt.

Yesterday morning, I cried while watching a lame deer in my backyard.  It was one of eleven, and I stood at the door spying on them as they foraged for food.  When I spotted the lame one, I was filled with pity for it, and tears formed in my eyes.  I had to force myself to turn away.

On Sunday, while listening to music, I was stopped dead in my tracks when an old Joe Jackson tune, “A Slow Song,” came on.  I used to love that song, and hearing it again sent shivers down my spine.  It made me cry.  It wasn’t so much the song itself; it was the memory of the song being special to me.  It was the memory of younger days.  Days when I went to see Joe Jackson perform at an intimate local nightclub whenever he came to town.  Days that were exciting and filled with fun.

Similarly, I wept when I watched “To Sir With Love” a couple of weeks ago.  As soon as I heard, “Those schoolgirl days of telling tales and biting nails are gone,” I broke down and cried.  In fact, I sobbed.

That song and that movie brought back so many memories.  Memories of 1967, and of being 13 years old.  I wore big, dangly earrings, and had a gamine haircut  just like Lulu.

That was the year my grandmother took me to San Francisco.  Haight Ashbury thrilled me beyond measure.  That was a time when I was fascinated by hippies, and The Haight was their Mecca.  That was a time when I was in love with The Beatles, and in love with life.  I had so much to look forward to.  Remembering that young girl was a very emotional experience for me.  So I cried.  Oh, how I cried.

As much as I get down on myself for being so sensitive and emotional, I am starting to think that it sometimes takes courage to allow ourselves to feel bad or sad.  In a society that promotes the power of positive thinking, many of us learn to suppress our negative feelings. However, repressing emotion doesn’t strike me as a very healthy practice.  It seems to me that denying our feelings only makes for a longer period of recovery.  So, as Lesley Gore sang, “It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to.” So there.

Song of the Day: Random by 311

8 Responses to “Twenty Five Random Things”

  1. I rarely cry but when I do, I am a mess. I think it is good to get your emotions out.

  2. Stefani said

    Crying is a good thing – and I do it for all the reasons you mentioned. Feels good (except at work).

    Congrats on giving the kitty his shot – I’m impressed!

    Nice list – I enjoyed that.

  3. I’m a crier, too — God forbid I should hear a commentary on NPR while I’m on the way home.

  4. terri t. said

    Me too! Yesterday I cried watching some reality tv shows because it made me feel so bad for the people involved. I cry at network fiction tv shows too even when I know the story is made up. I cry at commercials, news events, movies for sure, music, books….but I am glad that I can feel the emotion anyway.

  5. LA said

    Another weeper here. Except anger, as I’ve gotten older the tears have given way to icy cold. Learned something from the passive-agressive ex, I suppose. Makes Mick bonkers. He’s shouting and I’m looking back deadpan and completely unmoved.

    Great list, btw! I thought I’d join the bandwagon but can’t think of 25 things I haven’t flogged to death already. Heh. ~LA

  6. Michael said

    One of the best things about living alone is that when I start sobbing uncontrollably at the end of a movie (or book or commercial or whatever), there’s nobody around to judge me. I don’t like being judged. It makes me cry.

  7. i cry about animals and now youve got me near tears for the deer. is it going to be alright? i also get weepy about some personal sob stories on the tube, how can one not? many life stories are sad. my own sad and sorry life,lol,just makes me feel a fool and ticked off. i think i would rather get mad and upset about things than to cry. my personal life ticks me off more so than it makes me cry and then later on i laugh like a buffoon and thats as embarrassing as crying, but man, things sure strike me funny later on as to how crazy everybody acted. i dont like weeping copiously. crying wears me out. i dont cry all that much about my own matters or else, wow, im totally drained. crying really makes my throat sore if its a personal issue, if its because of an animal i am more sad than sobbing uncontrollably. crying over an animals death is more depressing than my few depressed and sad tear or two show, i think i stop crying so that the buckets wont have to arrive. sometimes i fear crying, it hurts.

  8. Hey! I’m addicted to Kitsch in Art Jewelry, too! What a small world!!!!

    heh.

    I’m kind of a crier, too. Although I pretend that I’m not. But when I think about it, I teared up at the beginning of the Grammy’s show last night because Luther Vandross was dead and will never be at the Grammy’s again. So, not only am I a crier – but I’m nuts. Be thankful that you’re not nuts!!!

Leave a Reply

