This Land is Our Land

January 21, 2009

We watched the inauguration ceremonies at a school assembly yesterday, and I cried through the whole thing.

I finally feel like this land is my land again.

Song of the Day:  This Land Is Your Land as sung by Pete Seeger and Bruce Springsteen

[Chorus:]
This land is your land,
This land is my land,
From California to the New York Island,
From the Redwood Forest to the Gulf Stream waters,
This land was made for you and me.

As I went walking that ribbon of highway
I saw above me that endless skyway,
I saw below me that golden valley,
This land was made for you and me.

I roamed and I rambled, and I followed my footsteps
To the sparking sands of her diamond deserts,
All around me a voice was sounding,
This land was made for you and me.

When the sun came shining, then I was strolling,
And the wheat fields waving, and the dust clouds rolling,
A voice was chanting as the fog was lifting,
This land was made for you and me.

One bright sunny morning, in the shadow of the steeple,
By the relief office I saw my people,
As they stood there hungry, I stood there wondering if,
This land was made for you and me.

Was a big high wall there that tried to stop me,
Was a great big sign that said, “Private Property,”
But on the other side, it didn’t say nothing,
That side was made for you and me.

Nobody living can ever stop me,
As I go walking my freedom highway,
Nobody living can make me turn back,
This land was made for you and me.

6 Responses to “This Land is Our Land”

  1. Stefani said

    I Tivoed that concert but I haven’t watched it yet – so thanks for starting my day with our mutual friend, Bruce!

    And man do I love the Internet! While listening to that song, I Googled to find out that Pete Seeger will turn 90 this year – and I read about his grandson Tao.

    A moving day indeed.

  2. It was amazing, wasn’t it?

  3. LeAnn said

    I always thought Woody Guthrie of no place other than Okemah Oklahoma wrote that song, which is a favorite of mine. I know he was buds with Pete Seeger and Will Geer (Grandpa Walton). They were all musical genious’s and the song is so very appropropriate for this historial day. Very nice blog. I trust President Obama and I adore Michelle. They always say change is coming with a new administration and I do believe the world will be a better place because of our new president and his family.

  4. LA said

    Thanks for the lovely sparkly birthday wishes, hon! ~LA

  5. boxx said

    Thank you for your note. I watched the inauguration yesterday with my students at school, too. (6th graders) I cried! I was soOoooOOO happy. I feel so hopeful for this country, our world! I can honestly say that this is the first time in 53 years that I am PROUD to say the pledge of allegiance and sing patriotic songs. Obama is the leader our country needs. Peace, Love, Health, and Happiness~BoXx

  6. Michael said

    I missed the concert, so thanks for posting this. It led me to some of the other performances. Pete Seeger is one of my heroes, musically and otherwise. He’s still active in trying to clean up the Hudson River. LeAnn was right, though. It was Woody Guthrie who wrote “This Land Is Your Land.” (Pete wrote “If I Had a Hammer.”)

Leave a Reply

