Make the Yuletide Gay

December 25, 2008

First of all, I’d like to thank everyone for the good mojo. Leigh’s ultrasound revealed a cluster of cysts, but they look benign. She’ll know more when she goes for her follow-up visit in two weeks.

Secondly, I’d like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas!

Including me, there will be twenty-three people crammed into my small house. I set up three tables, but there’s still only room for 20. My brother’s two young daughters will have to find someplace else to eat, and so will I, if I get a chance to eat, that is. Hostessing duties will keep me pretty busy throughout the long, hard day I have ahead of me.

Today’s menu for 23 people:

Appetizers:

Crabbies (The recipe can be found in this entry.)

Mexican Chili Cheese Dip:

Spread softened cream cheese (8 oz) on bottom of a pie plate or quiche dish. Add contents of 15 oz. can of chili. (I use Bush’s or Hormel.) Spread contents of small jar of salsa over the chili. Top with shredded cheddar cheese. Bake at 350 degrees until bubbly, approximately 20 minutes. Serve with Tostitos Scoops.

First course:
6 lbs stuffed shells
meatballs (I “only” made 50, so people will have to be considerate.)

Second course:

18 lb glazed spiral ham

Corn casserole (I have to double the recipe):

Melt one stick of butter. Beat 2 eggs. Drain 1 can whole kernel corn and put in bowl with one can of creamed corn. Add 8 oz. sour cream and 1 box Jiffy corn bread mix.   Mix all the ingredients together. Bake in a 2-quart, buttered casserole dish with a lid in a 350-degree oven for one hour. Remove lid for last five minutes so the top gets golden brown.

Crunchy Cole Slaw (Everybody loves this, so I have to triple the recipe.)

Dressing
1 cup oil
½ cup sugar
½ cup whie vinegar
2 packets beef flavor (comes with Ramen noodles; the block kind, not the noodles in a cup)

Slaw
1 lb. cole slaw
2 packages of Ramen noodles. Break them up and cook them according to package directions, although they should be slightly undercooked for this recipe.
1 cup sunflower seeds
1 cup slivered almonds
1 bunch green onions, sliced
2 carrots cut into strips

**Prepare dressing 2 hours early and do not add to slaw until ready to serve.

Dinner rolls

Dessert

I made fudge, and Mike’s girlfriend is making cookies. My mother and brother, Frank, are also bringing desserts. Michele and Patti are providing the wine. I think I’m going to need it to get through this holiday.

Click here for an interactive Christmas message.

Follow this link to see another special greeting from me to you.

Song of the Day: We Wish You a Merry Christmas

14 Responses to “Make the Yuletide Gay”

  1. Sounds like a wonderful feast!

  2. Can you fit me in for dinner? Liked the cards, you and your 2 buddies are great dancers.

  3. Sharon said

    Wow! I wish I was eating at your place! Thanks for sharing the recipes.

    Merry Christmas!

  4. Bex said

    When you mentioned you were making stuffed shells, I (for the first time ever) made them for my Christmas Eve dinner party and they were a huge hit. But I saved myself a lot of pain and served only the stuffed shells, a big salad, homemade oatmeal cookies and really fabulous frozen pudding ice cream. Easy-peasy.

    Happy Christmas!

  5. LeAnn said

    Sounds like your house is the place to be this Christmas!! Enjoy the day and don’t work to hard!! Merry Christmas.

  6. LA said

    Merriest of Christmasses, my dear Steph! Kisses to all of yours from all of mine. ~LA

  7. Kathy said

    I love that you put all that effort into your Christmas and I hope that everyone sees how thoughtful and wonderful you are. Have a great day Stephanie!

  8. Sounds delicious! Have a Merry Christmas and make sure you take care of yourself too girl!

  9. Sasha said

    Merry Christmas, Stephanie! That’s good news about Leigh.

    You set a beautiful table. I hope your meal was as lovely as it sounds. 🙂

  10. Michael said

    It sounds like you had everything under control. I hope you got a chance to sit down some time during the day.

  11. Jeanette said

    I’ve had that coleslaw before and it’s awesome! Hope your holiday gathering was a success. Your tablecloths were very pretty.

  12. Nancy said

    I would love to see your recipie for the stuffed shells Steph. I think I’ll duplicate this menu for Easter! yum!

  13. karenfromphilly said

    Ahh, you made stuffed shells! Are they as good as your Granmothers?(!) There’s always a matter of fitting in people at my Mom’s house too. (Especially when people say they aren’t coming & show up anyway!) But we won’t go there!
    Thank God Leigh is ok. I’ll be saying a prayer for her for her follow-up. I just had a scare myself with a mammogram that found something that shouldn’t be there. My diagnostic testing proved to be clear. I had myself so worked up I burst into tears when they told me I was fine.
    Merry Christmas to you & your family Steph. I miss the old times!

  14. Stefani said

    Love the elf card! Someone else sent me one too – cracks me up.

    I was just thinking about that slaw recipe with the ramen noodles this morning, believe it or not. I used to make it and was thinking I should Google it because I know I no longer have the recipe. Thanks!

    Stefani

Leave a Reply

