Bad News Travels Fast

December 24, 2008

Ms. T, one of my favorite co-workers, had been trying to reach me since Sunday.  She left a message on my answering machine saying she had to tell me something.  I returned her call the next day, but she wasn’t home.  Then I was out when she called back.  I was finally able to reach her yesterday morning.   My stomach knotted when I heard her speak the words, “I’ve got bad news.”

Lloyd, one of our former students, died last Friday.  Ms. T knew that Lloyd and I had a special connection, and she wanted to be the one to tell me about his death.  I really loved that young man, and was devastated upon hearing this terrible news.

The facts of his death are sketchy.  Some people are saying it was suicide, but Ms. T and I don’t believe that.  Others are saying it was a drug overdose, and, sadly, that seems more likely.

Lloyd was a victim of the streets.  Back in high school, it was well known that he sold drugs, as well as used them, but it was just weed, nothing stronger.  I guess he moved on to crack after he graduated from high school.

Before his descent into crackhead hell, he tried to go straight.  He came to visit me at the school a few times, and one of those times he was so excited and hopeful.  He told me he was “going legit.”

He had enrolled in college, and wanted to get a real estate license, just like his stepfather.  His stepfather was a very positive role model, and Lloyd admired and adored him.  Unfortunately, his stepfather became ill and died not long ago.  I guess that was the beginning of the end for Lloyd.

I mentioned Lloyd in an entry I wrote on May 13, 2006, back in my Diaryland days:

A couple of weeks ago, Lloyd and I were having a conversation during which he said, “Miss, I need a shorty” (girlfriend). I assured him that he was a good-looking guy, and shouldn’t have any problem in that department. He went on to say, “Yeah, but you don’t understand, miss. I need an older woman.” I swear I did not see where this was headed. I figured he meant he was looking for a twenty-year-old. Therefore, I told him to go for it. He gave me a big smile and asked, “So, how about it?”

Rest peacefully, Lloyd.

Yesterday brought more bad news.  During a routine exam, Leigh’s gynecologist found a lump in her breast.  She’s going for an ultrasound today.  I’m sure it’s nothing serious, but would still appreciate any good vibes you can send our way.

P.S. I just received some more sad news.  GBW’s beloved father passed last evening.  All I can do is offer sincere condolences to her and her daughter.  My heart goes out to them.

Song of the Day:  Bad News Travels Fast by The Fuzztones

9 Responses to “Bad News Travels Fast”

  1. Very sad.
    Sending positive light for Leigh.

  2. That’s so sad. And I’m definitely sending good vibes for Leigh.

  3. Kathy said

    How sad. And how very very sad for his family.

  4. Sasha said

    That is very sad, Stephanie. I’m sorry to hear your news. 😦 I hope Leigh will be okay, also. I’ll keep her in my thoughts.

  5. terri t. said

    That’s a lot of bad news to handle in just a few days….I am sorry.
    I hope that Leigh’s situation turns out to be positive.
    I visited GBW’s blog a lot this week. So sad for her and A.
    And I know you must be thinking of Lloyd…that’s a cute memory about his move on you though.

  6. Michael said

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Thinking good thoughts for Leigh.

  7. terri t. said

    Oh, THANK YOU so much for the link thing. I never knew how to do that…..

  8. Alvin said

    Hanging in there for Leigh. Nothing but good wishes heading out her way.

    =a=

  9. LeAnn said

    Gosh. I am terribly sad to hear the news about your young friend Lloyd. I think you’re probably right about it not being a suicide. Young people often do dangerous things without realizing it might actually kill them. My son called his girlfriend Shorty. Interesting.

    I’m sure your daughter will be fine. I had lumps at that age and the doc said it was fibrocystic breast disease and to cut back on caffeine.

Leave a Reply

