Fifty-nine Out of One Hundred

December 21, 2008

Saw this Meme at Summer Fever’s place.  The ones in bold are the things I have done.

1. Started your own blog
2. Slept under the stars – I went camping a couple of times, but I’m not really into it.
3. Played in a band – No, but I briefly dated a bass player back in the 70s.
4. Visited Hawaii. How many times? – Once.  I’d love to go back.  It truly is paradise.
5. Watched a meteor shower – It was in the early nineties, and I was on a sailboat in Maine.  What a spectacular night that was!
6. Given more than you can afford to charity
7. Been to Disneyland (and DisneyWorld) I went to Disneyland during a trip to California with my grandmother when I was 13 years old.
8. Climbed a mountain – Well, I didn’t actually climb a mountain, but I have been mountain climbing.  There is a distinction.
9. Held a praying mantis – ARE YOU KIDDING ME????  I’m deathly afraid of those critters!!!
10. Sang a solo – In the privacy of my own home when no one was listening.
11. Bungee jumped – I have no desire to do such a thing.
12. Visited Paris
13. Watched a lightning storm at sea – While I have spent nights at sea, it was never during a storm, which suits me just fine!  Anyway, I was on land when I saw storms out at sea.
14. Taught yourself an art from scratch – Does teaching myself to cast on count?  (My aunt taught me the basics of knitting, but I taught myself to cast on.)
15. Adopted a child – I have adopted fur children.
16. Had food poisoning
17. Walked to the top of the Statue of Liberty
18. Grown your own vegetables
19. Seen the Mona Lisa in France
20. Slept on an overnight train – from San Francisco to Los Angeles during the aforementioned trip to California
21. Had a pillow fight
22. Hitch hiked – Many times.  I was a damn fool.
23. Taken a sick day when you’re not ill
24. Built a snow fort
25. Held a lamb –At the Catskill Game Farm petting zoo, I fed a lamb with a baby bottle.
26. Gone skinny dipping – at night in a pool in the backyard of our old house
27. Run a Marathon
28. Ridden in a gondola in Venice – No but my mother and daughter, Rebecca have done that, those lucky stiffs!
29. Seen a total eclipse
30. Watched a sunrise or sunset – that’s especially glorious at the seashore
31. Hit a home run
32. Been on a cruise
33. Seen Niagara Falls in person
34. Visited the birthplace of your ancestors – I want to go to Italy so bad!
35. Seen an Amish community
36. Taught yourself a new language – no, but I’ve made up some curse words
37. Had enough money to be truly satisfied (in general)
38. Seen the Leaning Tower of Pisa in person
39. Gone rock climbing
40. Seen Michelangelo’s David
41. Sung karaoke
42. Seen Old Faithful geyser erupt – that was during a cross country trip.  We saw lots of amazing sights!
43. Bought a stranger a meal at a restaurant
44. Visited Africa
45. Walked on a beach by moonlight
46. Been transported in an ambulance
47. Had your portrait painted
48. Gone deep sea fishing
49. Seen the Sistine Chapel in person
50. Been to the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris
51. Gone scuba diving or snorkeling
52. Kissed in the rain
53. Played in the mud
54. Gone to a drive-in theater
55. Been in a movie
56. Visited the Great Wall of China
57. Started a business – with my Ex-husband (building contractor)
58. Taken a martial arts class
59. Visited Russia
60. Served at a soup kitchen
61. Sold Girl Scout Cookies
62. Gone whale watching –went out on the boat, but we didn’t see any whales.
63. Got flowers for no reason
64. Donated blood, platelets or plasma – What an unpleasant experience that was.  I was hooked up for 45 minutes, but couldn’t fill the bag, so they had to toss it.
65. Gone sky diving
66. Visited a Nazi Concentration Camp – No, but Rebecca went to the Mauthausen concentration camp in Austria
67. Bounced a check
68. Flown in a helicopter – in Kauai, Hawaii.  We flew under a rainbow!
69. Saved a favorite childhood toy – it’s a book, actually
70. Visited the Lincoln Memorial
71. Eaten Caviar
72. Pieced a quilt
73. Stood in Times Square – many times, including New Year’s Eve once.
74. Toured the Everglades
75. Been fired from a job
76. Seen the Changing of the Guards in London
77. Broken a bone – I got hit by a moped on Block Island (in Rhode Island), and suffered a tibia plateau fracture (knee)
78. Been on a speeding motorcycle – I’ve been on motorcycles, but they weren’t speeding
79. Seen the Grand Canyon in person – twice
80. Published a book
81. Visited the Vatican
82. Bought a brand new car
83. Walked in Jerusalem
84. Had your picture in the newspaper
85. Read the entire Bible
86. Visited the White House
87. Killed and prepared an animal for eating – lobster
88. Had chickenpox
89. Saved someone’s life – I performed the Heimlich Maneuver on my daughter, Rebecca, who had swallowed and was choking on a lifesaver (!) when she was a little girl
90. Sat on a jury – No, but I did have to sit through the jury selection process.  And I just received a jury duty notice for January 5th, unless I hear otherwise before then.
91. Met someone famous – See this entry and this one.
92. Joined a book club – As much as I love to read, I don’t like to do it under pressure.
93. Lost a loved one – I miss my brother so much.
94. Had a baby – had two!
95. Seen the Alamo in person – I’ve been in Texas, but mostly we just drove through it during our cross-country trip.  We didn’t really do any sightseeing there that I can recall.
96. Swam in the Great Salt Lake – no, but we drove by it.
97. Been involved in a law suit – after I got hit by the moped
98. Owned a cell phone
99. Been stung by a bee – Many times, but the worst was when I walked into a bee’s nest and was stung thirteen times.
100. Read an entire book in one day – There have been several, including a couple of the Harry Potter books and Mama by Terry McMillan

Song of the Day:  Things by Bobby Darin

5 Responses to “Fifty-nine Out of One Hundred”

  1. LeAnn said

    This is a good one. I think I may borrow it for my blog. I’ll trade you my Alamo sighting for your walk up the Statue of Liberty. Well, maybe not cause I’d never make it to the top!! Hey, I did stand in Times Square though!! It was very brief, but I was there!!

  2. I’m totally with you on the bungee jumping!

  3. Sasha said

    Ditto on the bungee jumping. You were stung 13 times by bees!? That’s awful. Once is painful, I can’t imagine more than that.

  4. LA said

    Funnily for a chick who whines I ain’t been nowhere and haven’t done nuthin’ I’ve managed 82 of those! Of course all the European ones are the ones I’ve missed out on. And the Grand Canyon. But I guess I need to shut my mouth about this ‘pitiful empty’ life of mine, eh? Laughing at myself, ~LA

  5. Michael said

    I’ve done 30 out of 100, including four that you haven’t: served on a jury, been on a cruise, been fired from a job and had food poisoning. I’ve slept on a bus overnight, but not a train.

Leave a Reply

