The Grinch Who Stole Christmas

December 17, 2008

I took Penny to the vet yesterday.  She had a fever, so the vet wanted to check for Lyme disease.  The test came back negative, thank goodness.

So, what was the diagnosis?  Intestinal colic.  I looked it up online and the symptoms include restlessness and whimpering.  Yup.  I’m so relieved it was nothing more serious, and am happy to report that Penny seems to be back to her old self.

Since I wasn’t at work yesterday, I asked My Friend to check my mailbox to see if there was anything from my Secret Santa.  There was nothing.  Nada.  Zip.  Zilch.  A big fat goose egg.

I wasn’t going to participate in the Secret Santa gift exchange this year, but the organizer talked me into it.  The morale in the high school (actually, the whole district) is very low.  Ms. Organizer believes that the Secret Santa thing is a way to lift our spirits and promote friendly feelings.

Unfortunately, my spirits are being deflated by this whole thing.  I know that it is better to give than to receive, but not in this case.  The whole point of a Secret Santa is to give and receive.

This really sucks.

Song of the Day:  You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch by Dr. Seuss

8 Responses to “The Grinch Who Stole Christmas”

  1. I’m so glad Penny’s better, but sorry for you. I’d be very disappointed too.

  2. Stefani said

    I’m so glad Penny is okay!

    About the Secret Santa – my attitude about everything in life, “Just do the right thing!” Is that so hard??

  3. Carol said

    Glad that Penny is on the mend. I hope your secret santa gets a lump of coal.

  4. beanie said

    Glad you know what’s wrong with Penny. The last time I did a secret Santa, I got everything on the last day. I had been talked into it, too, and swore I would never do it again.

  5. LeAnn said

    That’s happy news about Penny. I hate to hear she was so miserable, but happy she’s getting better. Doesn’t anyone know who your Secret Santa is? Someone needs to talk to that person. They agreed to participate and they need to know they are ruining the fun for you.

  6. terri t. said

    I agree with the above…It isn’t that You are complaining but the person who organized the Secret Santa should be told that you have received nothing….it just isn’t fair. Hopefully whoever is your Secret Santa won’t turn out to be Scrooge and you still might get some gifts….
    Glad to hear your dog is going to be fine. Wonder if she swallowed some really cold air and that is why she got colic….

  7. Sasha said

    When I was in high school I remember doing a secret Santa thing in my freshman year. The girl who drew my name was pretty stingy. I think I got one little thing and that was it and when it came time to find out who it was, I never did find out who she was! The person whose name I drew was pretty lucky. I was pretty generous and had a lot of fun giving and she was really grateful and sweet when we finally met. I like to think that she made up for the stingy person that got my name but I still wonder why people can’t just be nice. It isn’t asking for a lot.

  8. Michael said

    You’ve been bamboozled! It’s almost enough to make a person not believe in Santa. But that wouldn’t be right, because you have been Santa, and someone believes in you. I don’t think it’s too much to ask for people who agree to be part of a gift exchange to hold up their end.

Leave a Reply

