Penny Lane is in Pain

December 16, 2008

When I got home from work yesterday, the first thing I did was hitch Ellie to her lease to take her out to do her business.  As I was closing the door, Penny got in the way and the door hit her.  Not hard, though, so I didn’t think anything of it.  When I came back inside, I fed the dogs, got dinner started, and sat down to watch General Hospital and work on the afghan I’m knitting as a Christmas present for my father.

Penny was lying on a fleece doggie bed at my feet.  She kept moving around, as if she couldn’t find a comfortable position.  What’s worse, she was whining, whimpering, and crying.  I picked her up and sat her on my lap, but the moving around and crying continued.  I put her back on the floor and she surprised me by going to her crate.  (There’s another doggie bed in there.)

I was getting very worried.  This was not like her at all.  I called Daniel to see if he would be able to leave work to take her to the vet if I could get an appointment.  Unfortunately, the receptionist at the vet’s said they wouldn’t be able to see her until the next morning.

Besides constantly changing position and whimpering, poor Penny was shaking uncontrollably.  When Daniel got home, he took her upstairs and put her under the covers. At one point, her head snapped back and she made a scary sound, sort of a strangled yelp.  She continued to squirm around, but finally settled down.

During the night, her yelping woke me up, but she went back to sleep pretty quickly, so I was able to do the same.   She seems better this morning, but I still want to have her checked.

In other news, our Secret Santa gift swap at work started yesterday.  Each day this week, we are supposed to leave a present in the mailbox of the person whose name we picked.  As luck would have it, I picked the name of one of the few co-workers I can’t stand. Nevertheless, I placed gift number one in her mailbox yesterday morning.

I checked my own mailbox at various times throughout the day only to come up empty handed by the time I left.  Perhaps the person who picked my name was absent… Still, it was disappointing.   I’ll be absent today, but made arrangements for My Friend to put gift number two in Ms. Co-worker’s box.  Even though I’m not crazy about her, I wouldn’t want her to feel left out the way I did yesterday.

Song of the Day:  I’m Gettin Nuttin’ For Christmas (‘Cause I ain’t been nuttin’ but bad.)

13 Responses to “Penny Lane is in Pain”

  1. Jeanette said

    Aww I hope Penny’s getting even better today. Last year at our gift exchange I didn’t get anything the first two days because my secret santa was off. I was feeling pretty left out, too! maybe you’ll get them all at one time! It will be like Christmas morning!

  2. Carol said

    I hope ther isn’t any harm done to Penny. And I hope you get your gifts.

  3. Bex said

    Saying prayer for little Penny… poor baby. I hate it when pets hurt. Our Kip must have pulled a muscle in his leg and was limping around for a couple of days, but he’s back to his old rambunctious self now. Hoping nothing is wrong with your Penny.

    We used to do a Yankee Swap at our office Xmas party, but we are dwindled down in number now and we stopped it a couple of years ago. I think we should change Christmas totally to NO GIFTS – just share time with each other, and maybe some food. Gifts ruin the spirit of this holiday for me.

  4. LeAnn said

    I hope Penny will be okay. Please let me know. It was thoughtful of you to arrange for your gift to be delivered in your absence. I heard y’all were have very warm weather up there. Last night it got down to eight degrees here. I thought I told you I would send it your way!! You must have refused my offer!!

  5. LA said

    Yikes, hope Penny will be okay.

    Secret Santas and such are always so lopsided. Some people go whole hog and others blow it off, though I’ve never seen a grinch turn down getting a gift of their own! The grinch who got your name should realize in this case it’s truly the thought that counts and get with the Christmas spirit. ~LA

  6. Stefani said

    Aww, I hope Penny feels better very soon, poor thing! It’s hard to watch – especially since they can’t talk. But she understand you!

    Good thinking, having your friend deliver present #2 – it will really throw off the recipient. I’m sure your gifts are piling up in your mailbox today. 🙂

  7. alvin said

    As luck would have it, I picked the name of one of the few co-workers I can’t stand.

    I know this sounds like a cliche, but even if you don’t get one gift from the S S thing perhaps this time around the person you are giving to-whether you like them or not – will work out for the best. I hope so, wouldn’t that be nice.

  8. Sasha said

    Poor Penny. 😦 I hope she’ll continue to do well.

  9. Jim said

    Poor Penny. Hope everything turns out okay for her.

  10. terri t. said

    Sure hope your special furry friend does ok today. And I also hope the secret Santa remembered it was the week to do the gift exchange. Good luck.

  11. Kathy said

    I hate that damned secret santa crap. Is this elementary school? I have heard from so many people who are having to suffer through it lately. What happened to our bad economy? And really…secret santa? at work?

    Keep us posted about poor Penny!

  12. Oh gosh, I hope Penny is OK – maybe she just got a little cut that was stinging – like a paper cut on a human??
    Your secret Santa had better come through or we’ll all be pissed!

  13. Michael said

    Poor Penny. I hope she’s okay. I can hear your Song of the Day in my head. It must have been on a Dr. Demento album where I heard it.

Leave a Reply

