Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera

December 14, 2008

The Christmas edition of “Getting to know you.” (My Friend sent this to me via email.)

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags?
Both.  Bags are easier, but unwrapping presents is part of the fun, so I always make sure to wrap some gifts.

2. Real tree or Artificial?
Real.  This year, we have a gorgeous Fraser Fir.

3. When do you put up the tree?
The first or second weekend in December.

4. When do you take the tree down? The first weekend of the New Year.

5. Do you like eggnog? It’s okay…

6. Favorite gift received as a child? A Mary Poppins doll.

7. Hardest person to buy for?
Daniel.

8. Easiest person to buy for? My brother, Mike.  (A gift certificate to Outback.) Even though my siblings and I have agreed not to exchange gifts this year (and that includes the kids), I wanted to get something for Mike because of all he’s been through.  He owes $60,000 in medical bills, and can’t afford to eat out anymore, so I thought this would be a nice thing to do for him and his girlfriend.

9. Do you have a nativity scene?
Yes, but I haven’t put it out in years because there’s no place to set it up.

10. Mail or email Christmas cards? Snail mail.

11. Worst Christmas gift you ever received?
I don’t think I ever received a gift for which I wasn’t grateful.

12. Favorite Christmas Movie? Nightmare Before Christmas

13. When do you start shopping for Christmas? The day after Christmas (for the next year, obviously)

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present?
I can’t remember ever doing that.

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas?
Crabbies!

16A. Lights on the tree?
Yes, multi-colored.

16B. Lights outside? No; we don’t have an outdoor outlet.

17. Favorite Christmas song? Oh holy night.

18. Travel at Christmas or stay home?
I’ll be home for Christmas.

19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer? Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Donder (or Donner) Blitzen and Rudolph.

20. Angel on the tree top or a star? A star made out of grapevine.

21. Open presents on Christmas Eve or morning?
Christmas morning

22. Most annoying thing about this time of the year?
Having to be super frugal.

23. Favorite Ornament theme or color? I’m not into themes.  Since red is my favorite color, I guess that’s what I’ll go with.

24. Favorite food for Christmas dinner?
We typically have a pasta dish (this Christmas, I’m making stuffed shells) and some kind of meat.  I usually make a turkey, but wanted to do something easier this year, so I’ll be making a spiral ham.  Personally, I hate ham, but most of my family members like it.  Maybe I’ll make a turkey on New Year’s Day, just for us.

25. What do you want for Christmas this year?
SHOW ME THE MONEY.

26. Who is most likely to respond to this?
Frosty the snowman.

26. Who is least likely to respond to this?
The Grinch.

Song of the Day:  Getting to Know You from The King and I

6 Responses to “Et cetera, et cetera, et cetera”

  1. Fraser firs are my favorite type of tree.

  2. Bex said

    The stuffed shells are brilliant, and I’ve just decided to do them too! Thanks for the idea, and Happy Christmas to you and your readers.

  3. liz said

    I think I’ll have some of the same answers but I think I’ll do this one to!

  4. LeAnn said

    Thank you Bex!! Happy Christmas to you too!!

  5. LA said

    We’re having Italian too. Wolf’s request. Chicken and eggplant parm. With all sorts of yummy side dishes and a ton of cookies and pie.

    I misread your answer to #16B and thought you didn’t have an outdoor toilet.

    And Christmas lights would make an outhouse so festive too! ~LA

  6. LA said

    Stew’s is a left exit off 84 onto Route?? (I’ll ask Mick). Then exit 11 onto Federal Road. It’s about 10 mins past the Danbury Fair Mall.

    It’s a lot like Adam’s Fair Acre, only hokey countrified, but with outrageous gourmet food. Weird combo, but it works! No aisles, either. The place is set up like a winding trail that keeps curving you around and dumping you off at tempting specialty areas with samples, samples, samples. And the only fish counter I’ve ever seen that was larger or more comprehensive was at the old Fulton Market. Bring a cooler and A LOT of money. Oh, and wear hockey pads. You know how whitey-white people are. Those Yuppies and their spawn are pushy, rude, and can’t drive a cart worth a damn. ~LA

Leave a Reply

