Thanksgiving 2008

November 27, 2008

Today I am thankful for the usual things – the love of my husband, family and friends, the joy of pets, having a job that provides health insurance (including dental and optical), a roof over my head and food on my table.  I am also grateful for the kindness of my readers.  The friendship and support you have shown me over the years has helped me get through some really hard times.

I am also very appreciative of the nice comments about my “sharves.”   Some of you suggested that I try to sell them.  I did consider etsy, but I’ve heard that other knitters, far more experienced and skilled than I am, have had disappointing results with their etsy endeavors.

One of my co-workers has expressed an interest in buying a sharf, but I don’t know how much to charge.  Depending on the yarn, the materials expense is only $10 to $15.  The big thing is the amount of work involved.  Creating a sharf is labor intensive – it takes me about a month to knit one.  Any suggestions on pricing would be most welcome.

Sasha, you asked about surplus stock. I have lots of yarn left over (I’m pretty sure I have enough for any of the sharves featured in my last entry) , and I would be happy to knit whatever you want according to your color specifications.   This is just a sampling of my supply of sharf yarn.

Now for Thanksgiving dinner…  For the past several years, I’ve been alternating hosting holiday gatherings with my sister, Michele.  It’s her turn to do Thanksgiving but she didn’t want to invite The Ex and his mother.  Ex MIL  has Alzheimer’s, but that’s not why people don’t enjoy her company.  The truth of the matter is that she’s rude.   What’s worse, she’ll make an insulting remark and then repeat it over and over because she doesn’t remember that the cruel words were already uttered.

Anyway, we always include The Ex and his mother in our holiday plans.   Otherwise, they’d be alone, and I’d feel terrible.  Consequently, we won’t be going to Michele’s this year.  Since I’ll be hosting Christmas, I didn’t want to do Thanksgiving, too.  Therefore, I told The Ex he should do it and he agreed.

So, that’s where we’re going this afternoon.  I’m bringing pumpkin pies (recipe courtesy of Mary), brownies, and a Mexican chili cheese dip that I’d better go prepare before any more time slips away from me.

I wish you all a very Happy Thanksgiving.

Song of the Day:  My Thanksgiving by Don Henley

14 Responses to “Thanksgiving 2008”

  1. beanie said

    Ex MIL’s rudeness could just be due to her Alzheimers, or if she had it before, could have been an early sign of it. Alzheimers patients can be extremely rude!

  2. Carol said

    Have a great day, I am heading off to my sister’s house. I have no idea how to price knitted things.

  3. Bex said

    I guess we are lucky, my father-in-law has Alzheimer’s but he’s a “nice” Alzheimer’s patient. His personality didn’t change at all, he’s just quieter now. And if it’s possible, more loving. As usual, I am doing all the cooking for our Thanksgiving, but husband is doing the cleaning, and for THAT I am truly grateful.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you, your family, and all your readers, too.

  4. Stefani said

    Happy Thanksgiving, Stephanie, to you and your family!

  5. Happy Thanksgiving!! I hope you like the pie!

  6. goatbarnwitch said

    Have a great thanksgiving!

  7. Allison said

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  8. catsoul said

    Hi & Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. I also love your “sharves.” With the amount of time you spend making them, I wouldn’t hesitate to charge at least $30.00 for one. What kind of yarn do you use to make them? Take care and rest. =^..^=

  9. Happy Thanksgiving Steph!!

  10. LA said

    Happy Thanksgiving, hon! ~LA

  11. LeAnn said

    I don’t think you will ever get paid what it’s worth for the labor. I think if you charge $30 to $50 you will be able to sell them though. Just don’t under price because you will be taken advantage of and you don’t want that. Maybe you could find a place that would take them on consignment. You do beautiful work and they will sell. I hope your Thanksgiving was great.

  12. Michael said

    I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  13. Sasha said

    Oooh, the pink and purple on the far left is my favorite!

  14. terri t. said

    I think I have heard that labor should at least equal the cost of the materials. I expect if you are making them per request, you could charge more but if you put them in a consignment shop, you could charge double the cost of the materials. They ARE beautiful.

Leave a Reply

