The Verdict Is In

November 19, 2008

Yesterday, I received this letter from the Director of Human Resources:

I have received verbal confirmation from the District’s physician that the 504 accommodation you requested is medically justified.

You should have already received verbal permission from Ms. Principal to leave the High School during your lunch period as per your accommodation request.  (Uh, no I didn’t.)  Since your lunch period is at the end of the day, it appears as if your normal work schedule provides the accommodation you feel is necessary at this time.   (DUH.  That’s what I’ve been trying to tell her for months.)

If your lunch period changes, or if the nature of your accommodation changes, please let me know immediately.

By the way, I have been leaving ninth period, as directed by my union president.  She said we would file a grievance if anyone tried to stop me, since we are permitted to leave the building during our lunch break.  My fear was that administration would switch my lunch to an earlier period, but I don’t have to worry about that anymore.

Something I do have to worry about is how I’m going to get through tomorrow.  It’s time for Parent/Teacher conferences.  The schedule is different this year.  Instead of working two evenings from 6:30 to 9:00, conferences will start at 1:00 and go until 5:00.  Then we get an hour break.  Conferences will resume at 6:00 and end at 8:00.  That’s a helluva long day, especially for someone with chronic pain and fatigue.  Wish me luck!

Reading:  Just After Sunset by Stephen King

Song of the Day:  The Verdict by Joe Jackson

13 Responses to “The Verdict Is In”

  1. Stefani said

    >>>is medically justified.

    No shit, Sherlock.

    Congratulations – finally!

  2. Jim said

    Teacher conferences? But you are not a classroom teacher. Yes, okay, I know that you actually do some teaching, but they don’t have you in a faculty salary range.

    ————
    p.s. You may be amused to hear that I attended a Mona Vie tasting on Saturday. A niece who lives in Virginia got into it back in February and became a distributer and she turned her mother on to it and she became a distributer and she, in turn, has signed up a niece here in R.I. as a distributer under her.

    I was not impressed by the taste. (And I still think the guys at the top have taken a reasonably healthy juice product and instead of going into the business of selling the juice through supermarkets, have vastly inflated the price and created a multi-level marketing organization that is little more than a pyramid scheme designed less to sell juice than to sell people on becoming a distributor.)

  3. Glad that you got your lunch break back.

  4. Whew! About damn time! Good luck with your long day — can you sit most of the time at least?

  5. Kathy said

    That’s good news. Congratulations on being listened to and respected!

    I’m sorry to hear about upcoming conferences. I know how long those days can be. Believe me, my buddy Buzz is always a mess the day after. Hang in there!

  6. LeAnn said

    That shouldn’t have taken as long as it did. Your boss didn’t provide you with verbal permission either. I’m happy you got the accommodation but you shouldn’t have had to suffer as long as you did. Congrats, though!

  7. sasha said

    Well, thankgod that’s finally been taken care of. Even though it was a huge hassle and they took their sweet time. 😐

  8. Kim said

    Bravo on the move forward on your lunch hour! Seriously, how much “action” do you get on Parent conferences? I made a point to attend my students’ conferences, last year, when I was a resource teacher, but during most, I didn’t get a word in edgewise, and doubt I’d have been missed, had I not attended most of them…

  9. LA said

    Good deal on getting the lunch thing straightened out! Buffoonery ahoy over how long it took though. ~LA

  10. Sunshyn said

    As an aside, I get my acai berry juice from thetotalhealthshop.com, and it’s purer, has less sugar, less carbs, not the “filtered water,” and more actual acai berry.

    Yay on winning your lunch hour leaving time, too bad now you have to wait until after conferences (and probably the Thanksgiving break, I’m thinkin?). How’s the Stephen King? I’m almost done with “Road to Cana” by Anne Rice (you gotta read “Out of Egypt” first, though, and it was way better). Not everyone can write about Jesus in the first person, you know!

  11. Bex said

    One small step for woman-kind!

  12. Yes, it IS about damn time! I hope this helps with you daiily pain management!

  13. terri t. said

    Well, finally, some good news…..I hope you can get through the conferences….if you can’t, I guess you should just be “sick” and go home.

    Hopefully you will get some relief over the holidays and maybe being able to leave on your lunch break “legally” will help with the stress.

Leave a Reply

