Stop the World I Want To Get Off

November 9, 2008

My mother was discharged on Friday and is doing well. She calls me every day to tell me how much she is enjoying the food I sent her home with (flounder, sausage & peppers, lasagna, meatloaf, chicken cutlets and apple pie).  She also has chicken soup from Michele, so she doesn’t have to worry about cooking for a while.

Mike, on the other hand, is not doing so well.  He is in terrible pain after his surgery on Friday.  His doctor said it was the worst case of hemorrhoids he has ever seen.

The poor guy is really suffering according to my father, who is pretty shook up about seeing Michael in so much pain.  He can’t bear it, especially after what happened to Mike’s twin, Mark.

As for me, I am still very lightheaded and weak.  This is getting old real quick.  Although I won’t be going back to work until Thursday, I do have to go out a couple of times before then, and don’t know how I’m going to manage it in this dizzy state.

Tomorrow, I have an appointment with the pain management doctor as follow-up for the sacroiliac injections.  I have experienced some relief as far as the buttock discomfort goes, but lower back pain still wakes me up every single day around 3:00 am.

Wednesday morning, I go back to see Dr. What Do You Want Me To Do.  In the afternoon, I have an appointment with a doctor at the request of the School District, in relation to the comp injury.  I don’t really understand the point of that appointment, considering that I’ve been back to work for over a year.  It would make more sense if the appointment was at the request of the Comp carrier, but why the District?  Oh well, whatever floats their boat.

Song of the Day:  Stop The World I Want To Get Off by Gorky Park

6 Responses to “Stop the World I Want To Get Off”

  1. Bex said

    I would have thought some doctor had prescribed you some Meclizine for that vertigo problem by now. That helps sometimes. Also, you might want to ask to be taught the “Epley Maneuver” – that is a maneuver you can do yourself (or have the doctor do it with you) that will “fatigued” the inner ear thing that causes vertigo. I have typed many patients who have done this and it has totally gone away after about the 3rd or 4th try. I also know that hemorrhoid operations can be very painful for a long while in the recuperation process but I’m sure his doctor has already told Mike this before he operated on him.

  2. Sasha said

    Ouch. I hope your brother will feel better very soon. That sounds just awful for him.

  3. I have a friend that had hemorrhoid surgery and he said it was a long recovery and very painful.
    I hope your brother feels better soon. Glad your mom is home.
    Take care of yourself.

  4. Michael said

    I’m sorry your brother is suffering so. I hope he feels better, and I’m glad to hear your mother is doing so well now. Next, maybe one of these doctors can find a little relief for you.

  5. terri t. said

    OMG! I can’t believe how much you have been dealing with in the past weeks. I sure hope you get some relief and response from all that you have been trying to get concluded…including the school district ignoring your requests. I expect that is why they want you to see their dr. of choice. Hope you keep on them and that your Union rep. does as well. I wonder if they are going to try to give you a disability?

  6. It sucks to feel sick and dizziness is the worst. I’m thinking of you and your brother from top to bottom!

Leave a Reply

