Unmitigated Gall

October 30, 2008

When I got home from the chiropractor’s office yesterday, there were two messages on my answering machine from my sister, Michele.  I knew something was wrong because, for one thing, she was supposed to be at work.  Also, in the second message, she said that she sat in my driveway for 40 minutes, waiting for me to get home from work.  She didn’t know that I go to the chiropractor on Wednesdays.

I called her right away and she told me that our mother is in the hospital.  Mom called her at 7:00 am yesterday to say she was really sick (diarrhea, vomiting green bile, excruciating pain in the abdomen and lower back), and was going to call an ambulance.   Michele offered to drive her to the hospital, but mom wanted to take an ambulance because she felt that it would assure that she would be seen immediately once she arrived at the Emergency Room.  Good thinking.

After a variety of tests, it was determined that my mother has gallstones. I don’t know much more than that because she was out of it when I spoke to her last evening, and she had to hang up abruptly when they came to take her for more tests.  Apparently, she is going to have a procedure in which the gallstones are crushed.  If that doesn’t work, she will have to have surgery.   I’ll get more information today.

In other news, my union president called me yesterday.  She said she spoke to the Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources, and the woman told her that she didn’t get any of my paperwork until just now.  That’s a bald-faced lie.  I’ve sent everything directly to her attention, and the initial correspondence goes back to early September.  Oh well, at least she knows that the union is involved now.

Please keep a good thought for my mother, and for me.

Song of the Day:  Unmitigated Gall by Pam Tillis

16 Responses to “Unmitigated Gall”

  1. Sharon said

    Sending lots of good thoughts to you and your Mom!

  2. Stefani said

    I’m impressed you found lyrics containing the word “gall”!

    As for the HR person, ah yes, the old lost in the “mail” stance.

    Hope your mom gets through the gallstones stuff without much more pain. If they have to remove her gall bladder I hope they do it sooner rather than later. I think my doctor said small stones are actually more difficult to pass than large stones. Depends how large, I reckon.

  3. All my best to your mom — and to you, of course.

  4. LA said

    Ouch! Hope your mom’s gallbladder is fixed quick!

    And that somebody over in HR finally gets off her duff! ~LA

  5. Bex said

    It might just be better to have the gb taken out, so no more trouble down the road. Cholecystectomy is a fairly common and simple procedure these days, especially if they can to it laparascopically rather than an open procedure. Good luck to you both.

  6. LeAnn said

    I hope your mom will recover quickly. It’s good to hear your union is involved. That issue has already gone on too long!

  7. Jim said

    Hope your mother gets quick and appropriate treatment and has a fast recovery.

    Also hope that now that the administrative bureaucrats know that the union is involved they will resolve your complaint as quickly as possible.

    Regarding your musical pun in your notify mail — I recall back in my days in high school Latin that we always maintained that “Gallia est omnis divisa in partes tres” continued to specify that the three parts were Upper Gaul, Lower Gaul, and Unmitigated Gaul.

  8. liz said

    I guess unions are good for something 🙂 Hope your mom’s fine soon.

  9. Gosh I hope your mother will be better soon.
    And of course I hope HR gets on the ball right away.

  10. sasha said

    Good thoughts to you and your mom!

  11. goatbarnwitch said

    Holding you and your mom in my thoughts. I hope the crushin procedure does the trick.

  12. Holly said

    ((hugs)) I will keep your mother in my prayers. Here’s to a speedy recovery, and staying that way. ((hugs))

  13. Betty Lou said

    I hope that your mother has a speedy and complete recovery. She did the smart thing by taking an ambulance-I’ve decided to do the same thing if I ever need to go to ER. I’m praying for you both.

  14. Allison said

    I hope your mom recovers quickly! I will keep you both in my thoughts and prayers.

  15. Always take the ambulance – they must see you before anyone else in the ER – they’re the rules. Hope your mom feels better soon andHurrah for unions!!!

  16. Michael said

    I’m sorry your mom has to go through this. All good thoughts for a speedy recovery.

Leave a Reply

