Whole Lotta Fun

October 25, 2008

I actually went out last night!  Me, the person who is almost always in bed by 8:30.  We didn’t get in until 2:00 am, which is only a few hours earlier than the time I usually get up.

Of course, I am paying the piper today.  But, I don’t care.   I had a good time.

Daniel and I went to see my brother and his Led Zeppelin tribute band.  The place where they performed is located in “The Boondocks,” an hour away from where we live.  It was worth it, though.  The music brought me back to my youth, and I was very proud of my guitar virtuoso brother.   Highlights were a blistering version of “Achilles Last Stand,” and their tour de force encore, “Whole Lotta Love. ”

Rock on, little brother.

Another thing I’d like to talk about is money, or the lack thereof.  As I mentioned in a previous entry, I am feeling pretty stressed out over financial matters.  Things are really tight.

Last year, Leigh attended a community college where the tuition was dirt cheap.  This year, she’s away at school, so our financial burden is greatly increased.  Incredibly, the only state aid we get for each of my daughters is a paltry $250.  That barely covers a couple of textbooks.

We live pretty simply.  Much of our furniture has been handed down from family members or purchased at yard sales.  The few pieces that we bought new were “assembly required,” in order to keep costs down.  We don’t have credit card debt.  In fact, I don’t even have a credit card.

My clothes are bought off clearance racks and from thrift shops.  Our grocery list is created according to what’s on sale that week.  Daniel brings leftovers to work for lunch.  I bring a granola bar and fruit or a peanut butter sandwich.

Because of our financial situation, we’ve been living with some pretty shabby pieces of furniture.  One was the loveseat in the living room.  Our darling dogs destroyed it.  The cushions were stained, and there was a spot that had been chewed all the way down to the frame.   I covered that spot with an afghan, but there was nothing I could do about the stains.  They wouldn’t come out, no matter what I tried.

Another ruined piece of furniture was the sofa in the family room.  This was a hand-me-down from my sister, who bought it at a yard sale, so it was pretty well worn.  The foam padding was visible through the rips on one of the cushions (on both sides).

Also in the family room is a chair that was given to me by a co-worker when her boyfriend moved out of his apartment and in with her. The chair was pretty beat up, but beggars can’t be choosers.   I put a slipcover on it, but it wasn’t a good fit, and constantly had to be re-tucked.  It looked sloppy.

These unsightly pieces of furniture were really bringing me down.  I had to do something, but couldn’t afford a new sofa, loveseat and armchair.  Thanks to a half price sale at Pier One, I was able to buy these two chairs to replace the loveseat.

Stretch slipcovers worked wonders on the family room sofa and chair.

Now I just have to train the dogs to stay off the furniture…  Sigh.

Song of the Day:  Achilles Last Stand by Led Zeppelin

11 Responses to “Whole Lotta Fun”

  1. Bex said

    I’ve been looking to find stretch slipcovers just like that for my oversized camel-back sofa. Where did you get them? I really like them.

  2. Carol said

    I live with blankets on my furniture because the dogs sleep on it. I love your new chairs and covers. Those covers fit so well.

  3. beanie said

    For inexpensive furniture, try googling “freecycle” with your city name… people give lots of great things away for free!

  4. Yes, where did you get those stretch slipcovers? They look great!

  5. Stefani said

    Wow – count me in with the people who are impressed with those slipcovers! It all looks great, Stephanie.

  6. yaketyyak said

    The slipcovers (Stretch suede with a separate piece for the seat cushions) came from Surefit.com, but JC Penney has them, too.

  7. LeAnn said

    Beanie beat me to it. I was gonna tell you about freecycle. You can offer an item or items, that you no longer need but feel that someone else may benefit from it and you may ask for an item you need and also request an item posted by someone else. Sometimes, if a lot of folks are interested in the same item offered, the person offering has to decide who gets it, so just because you ask doesn’t mean you will get whatever it is. You should also subscribe to cheapcycle which is also a yahoo group like freecycle. I’ll forward you a freecycle post so you can find your local group from mine. Your furniture is lovely. You don’t have to spend a lot of money for your home to look great. It’s another of the things about you I admire so much.

  8. They look great! Sometimes you have to do something to give you a lift. I’m glad you found a way to do it that didn’t cost you a fortune. It’s getting harder and harder these days to do that

  9. Michael said

    Good shopping! And it’s really good you got out and had some fun. A good Led Zeppelin tribute band is one thing, but your brother playing guitar in one? Priceless.

  10. LA said

    Totally changes the look of the room! I loved your white couch and never noticed any stains, nor any other battered looking furniture, but then again your place is so pretty and full of books and art and YOU that inspecting the furniture is not on the radar. However, you made some excellent upgrades! I love all of it! Well done! ~LA

  11. Wow! The colors are so pretty! You remind me of one of my friends who can alter a few things and change the whole look of a room!
    Both of my youngest are in college now. They both borrowed the most that they could on their student loans and I have thousands of dollars our on PLUS loans. They’ll get paid back…some day

Leave a Reply

