A Female Dog

October 24, 2008

Like LA, workers in service fields almost always take a shine to me.  For some reason, they want to tell me their life stories.  My sisters and daughters can’t get over it, and often say that they feel invisible when we are out together.  It’s definitely a weird thing.

Please note that I said almost always.  There are occasional exceptions to that rule.  A couple of weeks ago, I experienced a doozy of an exception.  My sister and I were shopping in Dress Barn.   I picked out a shirt from the clearance rack, and a sweater from a 30% off rack. The sweater had a large tag on the hanger that said, “take an additional 50% off.”

While checking out, the sales clerk was getting on my nerves because she kept calling me “honey,” and not in a nice Vietnamese nail salon sort of way.  She was very condescending.  Still, I let it go.

After paying for my purchases, it struck me that the amount was higher than I had expected, so I looked at the receipt and saw that the additional 50% hadn’t been deducted from the sweater.   I pointed this out to the sales clerk, and she said that I needed to buy a full price item in order to get the “buy one get 50% off,” as was being promoted throughout the store.   I patiently explained that this sweater wasn’t part of the buy one get one half off promotion.  It had a special tag on the hanger advertising an additional 50% off after the 30% discount.

The sales clerk had the audacity to tell me that there was no such tag on the hanger.  I assured her that there was, and told her to check the hanger from which she had taken the sweater.    She would not.  So, I went back to the rack and pulled off another sweater with the tag.  When I brought it back to her, she said, “I had no way of knowing about the extra 50% off.”  I told her all she had to do was look at the tag that was on the hanger my sweater was on.

She again insisted that there was no tag on the hanger and I again insisted that there was.   She started to say, “Look, honey,”  and that’s when I lost my cool.  I told her to stop calling me honey because I found it offensive.

She then turned to the woman next to her at the counter (I gathered that she was a manager), and asked her to handle the refund.  I had to explain the whole thing to this woman, but she didn’t seem to be grasping what I was saying.  She treated me as if I was trying to pull a fast one.

Not trusting the tag on the second sweater I brought over to prove my point, Ms. Manager went over to the rack to see for herself.  I watched from the checkout counter, and saw her remove all the sweaters with special tags and place them in another employee’s arms.    Fearing that they were trying to hide the evidence, I walked over to them and asked (nicely, I might add), “Do you see what I’ve been trying to explain about the tag on the hanger?”  She responded, “Yes, this is our mistake, and we will honor it.”

I was happy with the outcome until I heard the manager say to the employee holding the sweaters, “What a nasty bitch.”

Oh yes she did.

Since when is it nasty or bitchy to ask that an advertised price be honored?

For the record, I was very polite to this second woman.  But, when I heard her remark, I said “I wasn’t nasty to you, but I will be now.  Your little comment is an issue that will need to be addressed by corporate headquarters.”  I then took a pen and piece of paper from my purse, and made note of her name.  (Thank goodness for nametags.)

Before I left the store, I stepped behind the counter and pulled out the hanger my sweater had been on.  Lo and behold!  There was the nonexistent “take an extra 50% off” tag!

Dress Barn can bite me.

Song of the Day:  The Bitch is Back by Elton John

12 Responses to “A Female Dog”

  1. Stefani said

    Oh, I’m boiling mad! Arggh. How can humans be so nasty to other humans??

    I’d love to be a fly in their brains to see how they justify their words and attitudes when the evidence is there in black and white?

    Somebody needs to go to Customer Service School.

    Glad they honored the discount but sorry you had to go through that.

  2. Bex said

    I never shop. I wear clothes I’ve had for 20 years. Your story is one reason I don’t shop. I hate people like that and I have enough stress in my life as it is. You deserve a purple heart!

  3. LA said

    I cannot imagine YOU being even slightly snitty to a clerk! And no, sticking up for yourself isn’t bitchy nor is insisting that your purchases be rung up properly. You get on the horn with corporate, in today’s economy a manager who is so nasty to a customer is OUT OUT OUT. Trust me, Dress Barn won’t let this slide. ~LA

  4. dara said

    Just recently on the news, it was pointed out that an employee from Journeys shoes in a local mall printed out on a customers receipt the words “Dumb N*****”. I just don’t understand why people think they can talk to other people that way. Luckly the Journey’s employee was fired. You should follow though on contacting Dress Barn.

  5. Carol said

    I would have made them give my money back and not bought a thing. Nasty clerks need to be fired. On the other hand I have seen some shoopers be nasty to clerks too for no reason.

  6. LeAnn said

    http://www.dressbarn.com/flashLeftNavMenuground.jsp?pageTitle=dressbarns%20Customer%20Service~flashArg=pageFilename~pageFilename=Flash/customerservice.swf

    Dress Barn contact info. Corporate is in Suffern NY. Don’t let em get away with it. If those two “honeys” had any sense they would have simply given you your discount immediately and not waste all that time to try to prove you were lying!

  7. You should definitely follow through!

  8. sasha said

    That’s disgusting! And from a manager no less. This sort of thing really makes me boil. I hope you follow through on that!

  9. Uh oh, my Irish is up and I wasn’t even the customer! I woulde have loved to see their faces when you grabbed that hanger from behind the counter!

  10. Michael said

    Has the world changed that much? I know it wasn’t always like that. It kind of makes you want to resign from the human race.

  11. Jim said

    Yes, you definitely should send a letter to Dress Barn corporate headquarters. (And maybe include a link to your posting? *grin*)

Leave a Reply

