The Roaring Twenties

October 20, 2008

This year’s Big Read festivities came to an end with a closing reception at Locust Grove.  Here are a couple of high school students dressed up as The Great Gatsby’s Tom and Daisy Buchanan.

Those of us in attendance were treated to a lesson in the Charleston.

A co-worker/friend and her partner wore masks for the occasion.

This event also featured an announcement of our area’s Big Read selection for 2009, and the first 100 people to arrive (including me!) were given a free copy of the book, which is Their Eyes Were Watching God, by Zora Neale Hurston.  I read the book years ago, and look forward to reading it again.

And now for something completely different…

Some of the comments for my last entry made me pause to reflect on how insecure I am about my looks.   This has a great deal to do with the fact that I was a chubby teenager.  I was extremely self-conscious about it, and having a thin beauty for a best friend back then didn’t do much to improve my self-esteem.  Even after I lost the weight, I struggled with body image, and continue to do so to this day.  I’m not grossly overweight, but could stand to lose a good twenty pounds.

Anyway, it does take me by surprise when people comment favorably about my appearance.  I do know that I don’t look my age (at least I don’t think I do), but I certainly don’t feel beautiful.  On an especially good (but increasingly rare) day, I might feel fairly attractive.  On the other hand, there are plenty of times when I feel downright ugly.  At any rate, it’s been a mighty long time since I felt confident about my physical appearance.    Still, it’s nice to receive compliments, and they are always gratefully received.

Now you’ve got me wondering how YOU feel about your appearance.  Please let me know in the comments section.

Song of the Day:  I’d Rather Charleston by George Gershwin

8 Responses to “The Roaring Twenties”

  1. LA said

    Funnily I was just about to write an entry about this very thing. I was flamed on big time yesterday and was confused by it. It’d been a while since there were any wall walking incidents and dropped jaws and I was wondering what the hell they were staring at! Duh. ~LA

  2. Carol said

    I for one am always surprised when someone tells me how pretty I am. I don’t ever believe them. I am very insecure about my looks- I think I look like an old hag. I am so not used to hearing compliments and I have a hard time accepting any. I stay at home so much that when I go out I always hope I don’t see anyone I know for fear of them thinking how ugly I am. No one at home ever tells my I look nice or good or whatever so I guess I just never feel pretty. But it is hard to feel pretty when you feel like hell most of the time.
    I have to say I loved you in the dark wig. But you look good in every picture I have seen no matter what color your hair. You do look younger than you are.

  3. Kathy said

    Oh honey. Don’t even get me started on how much I loathe is chubby body of mine. But hey. It’s Monday. Time for a new diet!

  4. Sasha said

    Good question. I’m not sure how to answer it. I have some odd things that can affect how I feel about the way I look. On days I don’t straighten my hair, I feel less attractive. Some days are just “ugly days” and I have no idea why. It also depends on how I’m feeling physically so I know you must be having a particularly rough time with how you feel. Oddly, your looks don’t reflect that. You always looks fresh and lovely in your photos with that gorgeous smile of yours.

  5. beanie said

    I’ve long since stopped caring what other people think of me. I’m overweight, but I realize that it’s my heart and soul that matter the most…. anyone who judges me on appearance is missing the best part of me. And as you can tell, I’m modest, too hahhah

  6. sdg said

    Thanks Steph, and the same for you as well. Its definitely been the defining reason as to my drive for equality for all, of that I am sure. You shoudl hit up LA… she has a pic of me. 🙂

  7. I’m not crazy about my figure. When I was younger, I was built like a brick shit house, but no more. I’ve gained weight by overeating and lack of exercize and the magic mood beans helped me gain another 30 lbs.
    That being said, I know I have a knock out smile and my hair usually looks pretty good so…you take the good with the bad.
    By the way, Stephanie, I’ve never seen a bad picture of you and you also have a killer smile!

  8. Michael said

    I always assume that any compliments I get on my looks (and believe me, there aren’t that many) are insincere (in a nice way, of course).

Leave a Reply

