Have You Any Wool

October 19, 2008

Even though I’m in a lot of pain, I’m trying to make sure to have some life in my life, so I went to the Sheep and Wool festival in Rhinebeck yesterday.   We left at 9:30 a.m. and didn’t get home until 8:30 p.m.  My back is killing me, and my legs are cramping from all that walking and standing but it was well worth it.  I just love that festival.  In fact, I might go back today.

I’ve never seen rabbits like this before.  They look like huge puffballs.

This llama is named My Sweet Prince, and I can see why.  He was very friendly, and even a bit flirtatious, if you can imagine such a thing.

This sheep was trying to climb over its enclosure to get in with his or her neighbors.

I bought some deeply discounted yarn, which made me pretty happy.   The lighter blue is a mohair blend, and will be knit into a cowl hood/scarf.  The darker blue is for my first pair of socks.

I also picked up a couple of felted gourds to go with the felted pumpkin I got at last year’s festival.

Another thing I’d like to mention is today’s Simple Abundance essay.  It begins with this quote from Oscar Wilde:  Nowadays we are all of us so hard up that the only pleasant things to pay are compliments.

Sarah Ban Breathnach writes:  “All women need more compliments in their lives… We need to hear more of them, even if we have to give them to ourselves.  But, most of all, we need to bask in them… It’s interesting that the first dictionary definition of a compliment is ‘an expression of esteem.’  Perhaps we have a difficult time accepting compliments because deep down we don’t believe we deserve them… Today, be receptive.  Start with the assumption that you’re beautiful, dazzling, absolutely fabulous… Every time someone pays you a compliment, accept it as if an angel had just whispered Spirit’s appreciation… We’re all so fragile, especially when we put on a brave face.  A sincere compliment can penetrate beneath even the most sophisticated masks to soothe troubled souls.”

I was struck by the timeliness of this essay because I’ve been receiving an unusually high number of compliments lately.   One day this past week, a girl came into the computer lab and was writing her name on the sign-in sheet next to my desk.  I heard her say “You’re pretty,” and looked behind me to see who she was talking to.   I was truly shocked when I realized she was talking to me.  (This is not something a fifty-four year old expects to hear, especially from a teenager.)  I thanked her with a big smile, and told her how gorgeous she is.   The next day, a young male substitute Teaching Assistant (who is in the process of writing a book – for which he already has an agent and publisher –  about having Asperger’s Syndrome, combined with his experiences on the Appalachian Trail)  asked me if I had any daughters.  When I acknowledged that I have two, he said, “They must be very beautiful, just like their mother.”  I was absolutely floored.

At the Sheep and Wool festival, I was amazed and pleased by all the compliments I received about my “sharf.”   My cousin, Kathy, was as delighted for me as I was for myself.

Sarah Ban Breathnach is right when she says “Just as words can hurt, words can heal.”   I’ve been so down lately, these compliments couldn’t have come at a better time.  The kindness that has been coming my way really does help to offset some of the stress I’ve been under.  And, much of that kindness has come from you, my attractive, smart, compassionate, wonderful readers.  Pass on a compliment today.

Song of the Day:  Sheep by Pink Floyd

8 Responses to “Have You Any Wool”

  1. Carol said

    When I was in the hospital one of the staff came by and said -you look beautiful today. I felt like hell but you know it did make me feel better.
    From the photos I have seen of you, you always look beautiful.

  2. That llama looks like he’s saying “How YOU doin’?”

  3. LeAnn said

    I gotta put that festival on my to do list! That’s cool. It amazes me that you are surprised to hear that others think you’re beautiful. You really are, ya know!!

  4. Sasha said

    I remember that felted gourd you bought. I love the pumpkin! I’m glad you got out of the house and had a little fun. I know you’re still going through a lot.

  5. Kim said

    Ooooh, lucky you, going to Rhinebeck! Hey, are you on Ravelry? I like that blue sock yarn!

  6. Kim said

    Ravelry is an online fiber arts community that is a good place to find free patterns, get ideas and join different interest groups. It’s free, you have to sign up and it takes awhile to get accepted, cuz the site’s still in beta mode. It’s a great place to get help if you’re stuck on a project, or have some yarn and are looking for ideas for what to do with it. You might like it…

    http://www.ravelry.com/

    Check it out.

  7. LA said

    GBW and A went there yesterday too. I was tempted, but my addiction to pashminas would make it tough, trading my kid for a couple of pashminas might be considered unethical, heh.

    And you should know by now how bee-EWE-tiful you are! (A sheep pun! I made a sheep pun!) ~LA

  8. Stefani said

    Love the pumpkin! Glad you were able to go to that festival – it looks fantastic.

Leave a Reply

