Help Me Get My Feet Back On the Ground

October 17, 2008

In reference to my last entry, LA asked if  “any of the people actually IN your building ie: principal, etc, would they stop you if you just took your lunch last period as you always have and just left? Has anyone officially said you COULDN’T?”  Unfortunately, yes, the principal has made it known that I cannot leave the building before the dismissal bell until this accommodation issue is resolved.  The thing that really gets my goat about this is that my schedule already indicates ninth period as my lunch break, so I’m just sitting around waiting for the last bell to ring.  It doesn’t make any sense.

As many of you have pointed out, I am not asking for anything extraordinary, and this accommodation has been approved before.  Because of what the District is putting me through, I wish I HAD asked for a bariatric chamber, or, at the very least, some of the other accommodations available for people with physical problems similar to mine, such as: provide sensitivity training to coworkers, allow time off for medical treatment, reduce or eliminate physical exertion and workplace stress, schedule periodic rest breaks away from the workstation, allow a flexible work schedule and flexible use of leave time, allow a self-paced workload, implement ergonomic workstation design, e.g., ergonomic chair and adjustable workstation to alternate between sitting and standing, reduce repetitive tasks or interrupt the tasks with other duties, modify work-site temperature, minimize distractions, etc. (These examples of accommodations were taken from the Job Accommodations Network.)

Michael suggests that, in my next letter I “mention the ADA (and the district’s responsibilities under it) about six times. (And write the one after that in ALL CAPS.)”  There won’t be a next letter from me.  All future contact will be with JAN, ADA, EEOC, ODEP, and my union.

By the way, I received a response to the complaint I filed with JAN, but it was frustratingly unhelpful.  This is how I replied:

Thank you for your quick reply.  Unfortunately, it does not address my issue.  I am already familiar with the information you provided, and have sent copies of some of it to my employer, along with my accommodation request and doctor’s recommendation.  What I need to know is what I should do next, since my employer has failed to respond to my accommodation request after six weeks.

This is really getting to me.  I’m under enough stress as it is because of financial matters (having two kids in college is killing us), so I sure as hell don’t need to add work crap to the mix.

I’m in so much pain I can’t stand it.

Song of the Day:  Help by The Beatles

6 Responses to “Help Me Get My Feet Back On the Ground”

  1. Jim said

    What an amazing bureaucracy and what insensitive twits running it!

  2. LeAnn said

    Okay, now that’s just not right!! So now, you are not only not getting your job accomodation, but you are the only employee who is not allowed to leave the property on your scheduled lunch hour?? A time when you are not being paid?? As far as I know, (and this could be wrong, but I don’t think it is), if they don’t let you leave during your lunch hour they have to pay you for it. Here is the link to the NY State Human Rights Commission. http://www.dhr.state.ny.us/regional_offices.html

    I think this particular link is to the page to find a regional office near you or at least the closest regional office that serves you. They are much easier to deal with than the EEOC and a complaint with them is automatically a complaint with the EEOC. Plus you can actually call and talk to someone who knows what they’re doing and even go to the office and see your caseworker. But I think you should talk to a union rep right away regarding being forced to stay on your lunch hour. Of course then they would probably just change your lunch hour and still no resolution. This is just unbelievable, yet I do believe it.

  3. LA said

    GAHHH!!!! My poor darling. ~LA

  4. Sunshyn said

    When we were talking about bariatric chambers, I was THINKING about HBOT (hyperbaric oxygen treatment) chambers, which are being used with some success on kids in the autism spectrum. Not that insurance is covering the treatments, of course. We can’t have insurance covering successful treatments, because they’re “experimental.” Watch the Georgia Supreme court for a vaccination lawsuit. It opens the door for more, more, more, because it takes the suits out of vaccination (no-fault) court and into the civil courts where they belong. Not that this has anything to do with your situation, of course. I still say you should SUE the school for your injury.

  5. Michael said

    Keep fighting! Do whatever it takes to get the accommodations you need. If nothing else, you might make it easier for the next person in a similar situation (as if that’s even possible, but you never know). Good luck in the next phase.

  6. Sunday said

    Again, this may be useless, but you’ve got to go over someone’s head. This shit is just silly–you need to threaten to embarrass them in some way, TV, etc. That’s the only thing they’ll listen to, some reporter sticking a mike in their face, asking why you’re being treated differently than everyone else.

    RYC: HA! So, so, so true. Except it was Saturday at midnight.

Leave a Reply

