Spirits In the Night

October 9, 2008

Our high school has been celebrating Spirit Week, which will culminate in the Homecoming Game and Dance on Saturday.  The festivities kicked off on Monday with “Decades Day.”  I already did my part for the Twenties, so I decided to wear something more comfortable this time.  I chose 1990 grunge.  My outfit consisted of ripped jeans and a flannel shirt over a Nirvana tee.

Tuesday was  Mismatch Day.  I wore green and white checked seersucker pants, a pink and white striped tank top under a patchwork shirt, one black boot and one brown boot.

Wednesday was Twin Day.  My Friend and I wore jean skirts, black boots, off-white tank tops and our identical corduroy jackets.   (Hers has been worn and washed more than mine so it’s a bit faded.)

We’re off today for Yom Kippur. I have an appointment with a pain management doctor this afternoon, and, for once, the appointment coincides with a full-blown flare-up. The stress of waiting for a response to my request for a health-related accommodation has exacerbated my symptoms, and I’m in terrible pain.

By the way, I was looking online for information about how quickly an employer should respond to an accommodation request, and found that employers should respond “expeditiously.”  Furthermore, “Unnecessary delays in responding or implementing an accommodation can result in a violation of the ADA.”  The EEOC provides an example in which an employee submitted two requests (I have submitted four).  “Yet, two months after the initial request, nothing has been done. Although the supervisor never definitively denies the request, the lack of action under these circumstances amounts to a denial, and thus violates the ADA.”

Tomorrow is School Colors Day (blue and white), but I’m taking the day off to have Sacroiliac Injections..  Again, the timing is uncharacteristically good.  My back has been killing me the last several days.

Stress at work is not the only factor that is wreaking havoc with my body.  The 20th of this month will mark the 2nd anniversary of my brother’s death.   Tuesday evening, Leigh left a hysterical message on my answering machine.  I was sleeping, and didn’t hear the message until yesterday morning, just before I left the house.  It sent me off to work in quite a state.

The message had something to do with a medium who visited her campus, and a question Leigh asked about Mark.  She was crying so hard it was difficult to understand what she was saying.  I called her yesterday afternoon to get the whole story.

Paranormal Investigator, Chris Moon, uses “Frank’s Box,” a device that allegedly can communicate with the dead.  Of course, I am skeptical of such things, and so is Leigh.  Others in attendance at the college event were quite skeptical, as well.  One young man challenged the voice coming through Frank’s Box to tell him his nickname.  It did.  Then a girl who wanted to contact her grandfather asked the voice what he died of.  The voice answered, “Disease.”  She pressed it to tell her what kind of disease.  The voice responded, “Lung.”  Her grandfather died of lung cancer.  The girl sobbed.

Leigh asked, “Is Mark P**** there?”

Voice:  “Yes.”

Leigh:  “Is there anything you want to say to my mother?”

Voice:  “I’m sorry.  I… (unintelligible).”

Now I know that some of you are rolling your eyes, and, as I said, I too am a skeptic when it comes to these things.  Still, “I’m sorry” strikes me as a rather strange response.  I would expect something more along the lines of “I’m okay,” which is what you typically hear during these episodes.

Regardless of whether this is real or fake, it shook me up because it caused me to relive what we went through two years ago.  It slammed the fact that my brother is not with us anymore right smack in my face.  It ripped my heart wide open again.

I’m sorry, too, Mark.  I’m so sorry you are gone.

Song of the Day:  Spirits in the Night by Bruce Springsteen

6 Responses to “Spirits In the Night”

  1. Just a gentle hug from me, and hope that the doctors can help with the physical pain. You know, maybe you should copy that EEOC example and send it to whoever has to approve your request. Not as a threat, just as an FYI. That might light a fire under them.

  2. Angela said

    Hi I read your blog, and I also have a blog. I would like to know if you could take a look at my blog and let me know what you think. I would really appreciate it. Thanks!
    http://groovybabyblog.blogspot.com

  3. terri t. said

    I agree with Bozoette Mary….I think you should send a copy of the EEOC and then if you still don’t hear something…maybe you need to contact the EEOC and file a complaint. The fact that your pain has gotten worse and you are having medical treatments this week should help your cause. Since you were working under a medical situation last year and now are only asking for it to be continued doesn’t mean the “powers that be” should be ignoring your requests.

    As for the spirit thing….I have been skeptical myself but my dear BIL has been studying this and I have heard some recordings he got from psyhics where family names were mentioned that are so unusual and so impossible for someone to fake that it does make you wonder. Your brother could have meant he was sorry that he left before he could say Goodbye and sorry everyone is grieving so much.

  4. Bex said

    WEll, call me nuts (you wouldn’t be alone) but I totally believe in channeling and contacting the spirit world. I believe we all live together still, just on separate “life planes.” Therefore, I believe we don’t die.

  5. Sunday said

    Screw being nice and non-threatening. It’s time to get out that can o’ whup-ass and gets to whuppin’! A professor recently complained about not getting someting, and I basically told her to act like a bitch. Hey, bitches get shit done, so either you’ll get what you need, or not. Either way, you’ve GOT to do something!

  6. It is good to read you are getting the medical care you need. Plus, to have your body cooperate when you are with your doctors. It’s like taking your car to the shop and then it doesn’t do the thing you’re bringing it in for. I know when you don’t feel good, it’s hard to stand up for your rights. Good for you to keep moving forward. I’m behind you.

Leave a Reply

