All and Sundry

September 30, 2008

I was away this past weekend because Saturday was Family Day at Leigh’s school.  There were lots of activities, including the Community Harvest Festival and Snakes Alive.

Here’s a shot of Leigh with a boa constrictor.

And here she is holding an alligator.

In the evening, we enjoyed a magic show, followed by a comedy show that was actually funny.    What a pleasant surprise.

It was nice to get away.  Work has been pretty grueling.  For the past several years, I have been given permission (based on a doctor’s recommendation) to work straight through eight periods, take ninth period as my lunch, and go home.  This arrangement helps me to cope with my pain, and improves the quality of my life.  It really does make a tremendous difference.

I submitted my request (along with the accompanying doctor’s recommendation) for this year on September 5th.   There was no response until yesterday.  The Principal came into my room for a piece of tape, and while she was there, she mentioned that she wasn’t ignoring my request; she was waiting to hear back from the Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources.  This is something new.  In the past, the building Principal made the decision.  Once when we had an interim Principal, approval was given by the Superintendent.

Regardless of who is making the decision, it shouldn’t take this long to get a response.  I checked the Job Accommodation Network website (in reference to Fibromyalgia and the Americans with Disabilities Act), and found that a flexible schedule is considered a “reasonable accommodation.”   During my online research, I also discovered that failure to respond to a request for accommodations can be considered discrimination, and I could initiate a lawsuit…  How about that?

Song of the Day:  I Smell a Lawsuit by Dolour

8 Responses to “All and Sundry”

  1. LeAnn said

    All true. The tricky part is getting a lawyer to take the case on a contingency. Even if you have the grounds for a lawsuit a lawyer has believe he will make money before he will take it. I filed my case with the Oklahoma Human Rights Commission rather than the EEOC. It automatically initiates an EEOC case anyway and the state HRC is much simpler to deal with. So if you file a complaint check to see if NY has a state HRC. The EEOC is very complicated and it’s insane trying to get through the red tape!!

  2. sasha said

    Well, I’m glad you’re armed with that information. I hope you don’t have to sue though. I hope they cooperate! The pictures are great although I’m squeamish about snakes, I adore lizards. 🙂

  3. It’s always good when a comedy show is funny!

  4. Stefani said

    There’s not enough money in the world to get me to hold a snake. M-a-y-b-e an alligator but even that’s iffy. Insects don’t bother me but snakes, no freakin’ way!

    🙂

  5. terri t. said

    That was interesting news about the disability request for consideration. I sure hope you don’t have to pull a discrimination card to get permission to do what you have been doing for years. Good luck with that.

  6. Sunday said

    (Excuse the cursing…but…) AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKK yeah! Sue! Sue! SUE!!!!!!!!!! Need a lawyer? Get Lionel Hutz, or his new counterpart, Larry H. Lawyer. “We also habla espanol!” Hey, he got Dr. Nick $$ when he went driving through a graveyard drunk! You should be able to find a lawyer easy as pie because of this, and if not, I’ll just put a voodoo curse on all the folks who are causing you trouble! 😉

  7. Michael said

    Sounds like the school system has instituted a new level of buck passing. What in the world could be the objection at the district level, as long as the principal is okay with it? I mean, even without the ADA on your side. Sheesh.

  8. Kathy said

    Smells like a lawsuit to me. Now about Leigh and the snake. She is not only brave, she is absolutely gorgeous. Hmmmm. Wonder who she looks like…Uncanny resemblance.

Leave a Reply

