Tears in Heaven

August 28, 2008

I got some very sad news this morning.  One of my all-time favorite students collapsed on a basketball court at a college in Pennsylvania, and died of an undetected heart condition. He was 19 years old.

Michael was such a good kid.  I first met him when I was working at the Middle School over the summer several years ago.  He was in sixth grade at the time.  Every morning, he greeted me with a hug.  I am heartsick over this.

Rest peacefully, Michael.

Song of the Day:  Tears in Heaven by Eric Clapton

11 Responses to “Tears in Heaven”

  1. Sunday said

    Wow…I just find it amazing that these days, there are still soooo many young people (especially) that suddenly collapse with an undetected heart problem. The problem is there’s really no way to actually test, because there are so many things to look for that it’s literally like looking for a needle in a haystack sometimes.

    I am so sorry.

  2. Bex said

    Only the good die young. Condolences to his loved ones.

  3. mz. em said

    Sorry for your loss. I have to wonder why there are so many young people die from undetected health issues. My heart goes out to you and to the young man’s family.

    mz. em

  4. kitchenlogic said

    That poor boy and his poor family. My god. How terribly sad.

  5. Michael said

    I’m so sorry for your loss. What a tragedy.

  6. terri t. said

    That must be a terrible shock to you. I am sorry that you lost a student you cared about. The good thing is that you have the memories of him and his hugs to make you smile.

  7. LeAnn said

    This is very sad news indeed. My heart goes out to his family. I understand that kind of anguish all too well. I always hate to hear of another family who has to experience it. I’m sure in your profession it’s something you are forced to endure from time to time and I’m certain it never gets any easier. I’m sorry.

  8. my heartfelt sympathies to you and his friends and family

  9. Stefani said

    How sad. My thoughts go to his family and friends – and you.

  10. Sasha said

    This is very sad news. I’m so sorry. 😦

Leave a Reply

