My Fifteen Minutes of Fame

August 28, 2008

A funny thing happened on the way to the forum yesterday…  My cousin, Kathy, came over to give me a birthday present, and suggested that we go get something to eat at our favorite Middle Eastern restaurant.  I hadn’t showered and was wearing cut off sweat pants and an old t-shirt.  I considered changing my clothes, but then thought, “Who’s going to see me on BLANK Ave?  It’s been a ghost town since the road construction started months ago.”

As it turns out, a lot of people saw me.  I ended up on the local news.

BLANK Ave. is a mess because of the seemingly never-ending road construction.  Because of that, many people are avoiding the area.  A reporter was doing a story about how the construction work is affecting businesses.  She interviewed the owner of the Middle Eastern restaurant, who said that sales are down 80%, and the utility company is threatening to turn off their electricity.    He then told her she should talk to me because of the extra trouble I had getting to the restaurant due to my sprained foot.  The next thing I knew, I was holding a microphone and being taped.

When I watched the clip on TV last evening, I laughed so hard my already sore ribs were aching even more.  It starts with a shot of me trying to get across the torn up obstacle course of a street, with curbing a foot and a half deep in some spots.  Then it shows me talking about how my cousin had to go ahead of me to check the depth of the curbs so she could let me know where I had the best chance of getting over the hurdles.  The clip ends with me saying that I hope the damage to the businesses isn’t irreversible, and that the people will come back to support the merchants on BLANK Ave.  It’s hilarious, and gave me a much-needed good laugh.

Another thing I’d like to mention is today’s Simple Abundance essay.  Sarah ban Breathnach writes about “meditative handwork.”  When our hands are busy, our minds can rest. She goes on to say, The next time the fabric of real life seems to unravel before your eyes, get busy with your hands so that your mind can serenely sort out where to pick up the next stitch.

I guess that explains my passion for knitting.   This is my latest project – a shawl/scarf, named a “sharf” by my brother, Mike.

In other news, I’m going away again for a couple of days.  We’re taking Leigh to school.  Orientation is on Friday.  Because check-in starts at 8:00 am, we’re going to spend Thursday night in a motel not far from the campus.  Leigh is scared stiff (being so far away from her boyfriend is her major concern), and I’m worried that she won’t give this experience a fair shot.  All good vibes and positive thoughts will be greatly appreciated.

Speaking of Leigh, when she came over to take me to dinner for my birthday, she found fleas on the dogs.  We immediately went to the veterinary clinic for supplies, which set me back $200.00.  I actually felt sick when I saw the bill.  Plus, the house and furniture (including mattresses) need a good vacuuming, and then everything has to be sprayed with this stuff the vet recommends over bombs. (That was only $15.)  Unfortunately, I can’t vacuum because of my sprained foot and Daniel is in Canada.  Another piece of fabric of real life is unraveling before my eyes.  I think I’ll go knit.

Happy birthday to 54 year old me.

Reading:  The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards

Song of the Day:  Fame by David Bowie

16 Responses to “My Fifteen Minutes of Fame”

  1. LeAnn said

    You look quite beautiful in your birthday pic. The scarf is lovely. You picked very nice colors. Sending good thoughts for your daughter. Now let’s get down to business. Where is the news clip??? Hmmmm???? It’s very cool that you went out in cut off sweats and a tee. I imagine you don’t do that often. I do it so often that I have to dodge familiar faces in public. I once went out early in the morning before I brushed my teeth and ran into my friend who was a local news photographer. He asked me to do a Good Morning America clip which I did. That was over 20 years ago and it still embarrasses me! lol. Now, I wanna see the news clip!!

  2. Sasha said

    Well, you’re glowing and gorgeous! Happy birthday again. Sorry about the fleas. 😦 Last summer we ended up with a flea issue that took us forever to get under control. Thankfully we stayed flea-free this summer -and- thankfully the desert is too dry for the little buggers. The fleas, I mean, not my pets. Heh.

  3. Michael said

    Everybody should either have a laugh or be on TV for their birthday. You got both! Congratulations.

  4. Stefani said

    Love the sharf colors!

  5. Bex said

    Happy Birthday, Steph. You are shining and it’s really hard to believe you are in such pain when every picture I see of you is brilliant.

    (touch wood) somehow we never have had fleas here and we have tons of wooded areas all around us, and dogs with long furs who do not “bathe” ever and seem to stay looking neat and clean for the most part. I don’t know why but I’m not complaining!

  6. Jim said

    Gee, it would be fun to have your television star role on YouTube. *grin*

  7. LA said

    You Tube! there must be You Tube!

    Good luck, Leigh. You’ll be great. School and boyfriends are not mutally exclusive adventures! A busy happy campus life will make your time with your guy all the more sweet. Promise. Now knock ’em dead and get you some book learning. ~LA

  8. goatbarnwitch said

    Happy birthday! I love the story about going out and being on TV….. I repeat…. YOU TUBE!

  9. Happy Birthday, you look wonderful. Good luck to your daughter.

  10. yaketyyak said

    Okay, about this YouTube business – the clip was on TV, not the Internet. Thanks for all the kind words for me and good wishes for my daughter!

  11. kitchenlogic said

    Happy 54th to you Birthday!!! (nice necklace!) You look fanstastic! And I think you need to go pick yourself out some birthday earrings. Just e-mail me the pair you want.

    Also? Let this entry be a reminder to us all that we should go and put on some clean underwear before leaving the house this morning because you never know when you, and your underwear, are going to end up on t.v.

    Too funny!

  12. Betty Lou said

    Happy Birthday! And Congratulations on being a TV Star!

  13. Sam said

    YouTube! YouTube! YouTube! YouTube! YouTube! YouTube!

  14. Happy happy birthday, in spite of it all. And I join in the YouTube chorus!!

  15. mz. em said

    Hey, I’m writing to a celebrity!

    Even in our little burg they are tearing up streets left and right. Drivers have to negotiate one lane roads, watch out for the road crew and be exceptional watchful of the other drivers out there. Oh yeah, there are the darting kids through this maze of cars and equipment.

    And, happy birthday. You look radiant in your photo. Prayers will be said for your daughter.

    mz. em

  16. Sunday said

    54?! You lie! (Heh, that was the same thing a guy said to my mother, which I think was funny too).

    Wow–Leigh off to school. It makes me wish that I’d been that brave 15 years ago, I definitely know my life would be much different than it is today.

    I find the fact that you were on TV both hilarious and (what’s another word for sad that means less than sad?) Going all over that contstruction with a sprained foot? And then being interviewed on TV? Wooooooow…. (Flava Flav voice.)

Leave a Reply

