So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Adieu

August 5, 2008

Sasha’s comment in reference to the 15 hour drive to Canada’s French River really made me cringe.  She wrote:  “The last time I was on a ride (almost) that long was when we moved up here. For two nights after I had awful leg cramps overnight. It was pretty horrible.”

Coincidentally, I’ve been suffering from agonizing leg and foot cramps for the past few days. Even when I’m not experiencing a full blown cramp, it always feels like my muscles are on the verge of cramping.  Besides worrying about what this long ride will do to my back, I now have to be concerned about leg and foot cramps, as well.  I dread the thought of being in the grip of these excruciating paroxysms of pain while riding in a car.   Shudder.

We’re leaving tomorrow, and will return late next Tuesday night.  The following Saturday, believe it or not, I’m going away again.  This time, I’ll be headed for a week at the seashore in Rhode Island.  My suitcase sure is getting a lot of use this summer…

Bye for now!

Song of the Day:  So Long, Farewell from The Sound Of  Music Soundtrack

10 Responses to “So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Adieu”

  1. clickfornick said

    I’ve really been enjoying your blog. So much so that I want to syndicate it on BustaBlog, a new blog network. You will earn money from your posts by doing nothing more than you’re are doing now.

    For more information: Visit Bustablog.com/Syndication

  2. Here’s hoping the ride passes quickly and as painlessly as possible!

  3. Carol said

    Eat some bananas and make sure to drink water.
    Have fun.

  4. Jim said

    My goodness, the travel time will take up most of your trip! I think the Canadian destination is marvelous, but the journey sounds painful.

    When you do get to Rhode Island, how about you just take it easy and relax and soak up sunshine and clam chowder and clam cakes and various regional comestibles like that and maybe a beer or two or some nice wine and freakin’ take it easy for a few days?

  5. Sam said

    Ah yes… the infamous leg cramps. Sonsabitches! I had one in my hamstring in the middle of a meeting at work and couldn’t do anything about it. I thought I was going to pass out. Somehow, no one noticed. Or maybe they already know I’m a bit crazy and figured if they didn’t look at me I’d go away.

    Have a great trip, Steph. I’m not going anywhere this week. So, send the cramps down to Jersey if you wish. I’ll take one in the leg for you. 🙂

  6. sasha said

    OMG. I almost feel like I put the hex on you! 😦 I should have recommended the homeopathic pills I’ve taken that have worked so well. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you’ll be okay!

  7. Michael said

    Have a safe and comfortable and fun trip! (Did I forget anything?)

  8. Stefani said

    I was going to say drink lots of water too – but then you’d have to stop a million times and the trip would be even longer!

    Enjoy your destination once you get there – especially that week at the beach, you lucky duck!!

  9. Have a great time and a safe trip and I am praying that it will be comfortable for you.

  10. I hope you have a pain free trip and the destination makes up for any discomfort.

Leave a Reply

