Bring Out Your Dead

July 13, 2008

I finally saw Spamalot!  A local community college offered a bus trip to NYC yesterday for the unbelievably low price of $11.  (The train costs $30.)  I went with my mother, my aunt, my cousin, Kathy, and her friend, Bob.  When we got to the city, we split up.  My mother, aunt and cousin had already seen Spamalot, so they went to the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  Bob and I headed for the TKTS Discount booth, and, fortunately, Spamalot was among the listed shows.

Before the performance, we had lunch at Bistecca Fiorentina.  It was the best meal I’ve had in a long time. For an appetizer, Bob ordered grilled octopus and squid.  I had a mixed plate of roasted polenta with Gorgonzola cheese, a stuffed mushroom, zucchini with béchamel sauce, eggplant Parmesan, and a roasted, stuffed red pepper.  It was way too much food for me, so I shared with Bob.  Still, I barely had room for my lobster ravioli entrée.  Even with Bob’s help, I couldn’t finish it.

After we ate, we headed over to the Shubert Theatre.  I was very excited.  The play certainly lived up to my expectations.   It was so much fun!  This was my favorite number.  Hilarious!

At present, Stephen Collins (the father on 7th Heaven) is playing King Arthur, and Drew Lachey (former member of 98 Degrees, along with his brother, Nick, who was married to Jessica Simpson.  Drew was also a “Dancing With the Stars” winner.) plays Patsy.  Marin Mazzie is the Lady of the Lake.   What a voice!  I had such a good time.

The only downside was the physical pain.  I’m really hurting.  Sunshyn and Texas Peach are right.  I most definitely should not have done all that backbreaking gardening, and, yes, I am crazy.  The pain is worse than it was when I was out on disability.  I keep hoping it will get better, but it hasn’t.  I don’t know what I’m going to do…

To add insult to injury, I’m not sure the garden will flourish.  The layers of compost, etc., aren’t as deep as they should be, but it’s the best I could do.  Please keep your fingers crossed.  It would be devastating for the garden to fail after all the hard work I put into it.


Song of the Day:  Not Yet Dead from Monty Python’s Spamalot

11 Responses to “Bring Out Your Dead”

  1. I hope the pain subsides soon, but I’m glad you got to have a fun day in NYC!

  2. Carol said

    I am glad too that you had fun in NYC.
    I hope the you plants thrive, What you have done looks very pretty.

  3. LeAnn said

    I think your garden will survive. I wish I could get a bus to NYC for $11!! lol. I still haven’t given up hope of going. It’s just taking longer than I anticipated!! I hope you recover from your pain and are able to enjoy your lovely garden.

  4. Stefani said

    The garden area looks great, Stephanie! I’m so glad you enjoyed the show too.

  5. K.Lo. said

    Stupid gardening. I feel for you. And I am totally jealous that you saw Spamalot! In my city!!!!

  6. Bex said

    I’ve had to give up gardening due to an aging body and serious pain. It’s been a struggle to get husband to take up the slack, but just now, as I was upstairs working, I thought I heard a lawnmower out front, and went down to see him mowing the front lawn on his brief hiatus between lobstering and going back down to Fort Beach to set up his lobster selling business for the afternoon. He came thru.

    Your garden looks wonderful… just keep it watered. Plants are very forgiving as long as they have a drink in the hot weather.

  7. Joan said

    Water, water, water!

  8. Michael said

    I knew it was meant to be for you to see Spamalot! I’m so happy you were able to go.

  9. Jim said

    Well, the garden looks good now. As others have noted, water is important (but not every day, more like really drenching it every few days so that the water soaks in and the plants will grow deep roots).

    A touring company of Spamalot was in Providence a few months ago but we were too busy to go (actually, I think we were watching a play at TrinkityRep one night that Spamalot was in town). It sounds like a lot of fun.

  10. LA said

    YAY! Spamalot! The garden looks terrif. If the plants don’t do well you can restock with something really unkillable like coneflowers. My perennial bed is only about a foot deep and blooms like Eden, so be of good cheer. Wednesday is looking good so far, but Jet needs to go back to the shop. I’ll call soonest I know. Mwah! ~LA

  11. Your little garden area looks very nice and I hope it does well for you. Your lunch out and trip to the theater sounded like a lot of fun.

    mz. em

Leave a Reply

