It Was the Best of Times, It Was the Worst of Times

July 8, 2008

First, the good stuff.  The Asian lilies I planted in the fall are blooming. This is noteworthy for someone like me who does not have a green thumb.

Sunday was my grandmother’s birthday, and she was so happy.  She said she hopes she lives to see 100.  I hope so, too.  Anyone who makes it to 97 deserves to  hit the big One Oh Oh.

Now for the sad news.  The ex called a little while ago to let me know that he made arrangements to have our dog, Bowie, put to sleep on Thursday.  We got him as a puppy almost 15 years ago.  That’s a long life for a big dog.   Unfortunately, the quality of his life has been declining.  He’s having trouble standing, and is in pain.  It’s time to put an end to his suffering.

This hurts.  A lot.  He was such a good boy, and I love him so much.

My heart is breaking.

Song of the Day:  Dog’s Life by Gentle Giant

21 Responses to “It Was the Best of Times, It Was the Worst of Times”

  1. Even though 15 is a good long innings for a big dog, it doesn’t make it any easier to lose them. It’s something you inherently know, when you get pets, that you’ll outlive them, but something I don’t think about. Sorry about your beastie.

  2. LeAnn said

    That is very sad. I read somewhere that the only fault a dog has is that he doesn’t live long enough. I had to take my landlord’s dog to the vet to be put down about a month ago. They couldn’t bear to do it themselves. I just wish doggies could live longer!! I’m sorry. I really am.

  3. It doesn’t matter how old your dog is…it still hurts to lose them…especially when it has been so long. Our dog was 12 when he died. We’d had him since he was 8 weeks old. Some how you think they will always be there. I am sorry about Bowie. {{{HUGS}}}

  4. Alvin said

    Sorry to hear about losing Bowie. It’s for the best because when push comes to shove they can’t really tell you how much pain they are in. If they could they still wouldn’t. Pets are that way. I’ve always felt that they are here to look after us in some odd sort of way. I have had both my cats for over ten years and would hate to lose either one of them.

    Alvin

  5. goatbarnwitch said

    What a beautiful dog. I am so sorry {{hug}}

  6. Michael said

    I’m so sorry for Bowie’s suffering, and for your loss.

  7. K.Lo. said

    I’m sorry Stephanie. What a beautiful dog.

  8. Bex said

    Just yesterday on our local radio station, the subject of the first hour was whether people liked their dogs better than their humans, and most of the callers said definitely their dogs. The concensus was that saying that is on bumper stickers all over.. “THE MORE PEOPLE I KNOW, THE MORE I LOVE MY DOG.”

    Amen.

    My condolences to you and your family on losing your beautiful boy.

  9. LA said

    I’d forgetten the ex still had Bowie. I’m sad I didn’t get to meet him. Bowie, not D. (heh) It’s the brave and right thing to do, but putting a beloved pet down is such a wrench. My sympathies, dear one.

    As for your other news…yay! Your Gram is adorable. I can see she had a great party.

    And you get down with your bad gardening self! The first time I had bulbs come up I was so pleased and amazed it worked I sat outside staring at my miraculous pretties for days.

    Summer school is officially in session and I am free as a boid on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. See you soon? ~LA

  10. Carol said

    So sorry about your dog. I know it hurts.
    Your grandmother is amazing.

  11. Jeanette said

    I am so sorry about your dog. We had to put our 13-year-old shepherd mix down a few years ago and it was heartbreaking. No more dogs..but we’ve since replaced her with 5 cats. Crazy, I know. Your grandmother looks wonderful for her age. I hope she see’s 100 too.

  12. I’m so sorry about Bowie. It’s hard to lose a beloved pet. But yay for your Grandma! My mom turned 97 on June 9, bless her heart.

  13. Allison said

    I’m so sorry about Bowie! 😦

  14. Penny said

    Oh Stephanie I am sorry about your fur baby. 😦 Our kitty Belle died 18 months ago and it was so hard. She was sick and it was so hard to let her go. My husband was a mess because he had to tell the vet when to do it.. 😦 He still thinks he should have waited to see if she got better (she was sick and it was time it just does not make it feel any better)

    Big hugs. I love the pictures of your flowers and your granny..

  15. sasha said

    First, happy birthday to your grandmother. She is amazing. 🙂 Second, I am so sorry about Bowie. He had a long life and was loved. What more could a dog ask for?

  16. I have had to put a couple of dogs to sleep and it was awful each time. They become a member of the family and a companion when you’re lonely. Sorry to hear about your dog!

  17. cliffordthedawg said

    Sorry about Bowie.

  18. Stefani said

    I’m so sorry to hear about Bowie. I know I will be a complete mess when it’s Reggi’s time. I had to have a cat put to sleep once – I was in tears, the vet had tears in her eyes – I don’t know how they do it.

    I’m so sorry for your loss!

    And happy birthday, Grandma!

  19. Sunday said

    Oh….Bowie’s the same age (maybe a year younger!) than the dog I housesat a couple of weeks ago, and that’s exactly what I thought about. Damn, that’s one of the selfish reasons why I don’t want a pet.

    Best wishes!

  20. Jim said

    That is such sad news.

  21. Good for you for a green thumb. Mine are definitely brown. The flowers are beautiful. I hope your Grandmother makes it to 100. My Granddad will be 103 this year. This is really hard to believe. I’m so sorry for your loss of your dog. The only thing I could compare what when we had to put Spike my cat down. These dear fur children are such a part of our lives. They are a part of our family. My prayers are with you.

    mz. em

Leave a Reply

