Heat Rave

June 10, 2008

A couple of you mentioned Bryce Courtenay’s The Power of One in yesterday’s comments. That just happens to be the book I bought in the thrift shop a couple of weeks ago. I read the book when it first came out in hardcover (about 18 years ago), and loved it. So I agree with Sunshyn and Michael. And, Mary, thank you for your recommendations. I’ve added The Once and Future King to my list. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest is a great movie. Is the book even better? Does anyone else have any recommendations? (Other than Mad magazine, my dear LA!)

In other news, I saw the new pain management doctor yesterday. She prescribed Lidoderm patches, Cymbalta (anti-depressants taken in small doses have been found to be helpful for pain), and the anti-inflammatory, Naproxen. The pharmacy bill for these meds came to a staggering $65. That might not seem like a lot of money to some of you, but it sure is to me, especially considering that I won’t be earning a paycheck over the summer.  The potential side effects are pretty alarming, as well.

Besides the medication therapy, I also have to go back for trigger point injections.  Dr PM could have performed the procedure yesterday, but said she will only do the injections if someone is there with me.  I explained that I didn’t drive, and had taken the Dial-A-Ride bus, but that wasn’t good enough for her.  She insists that someone has to accompany me when I have the injections.

I don’t want to take any more time off from work (other than on the 20th, when I am scheduled for the second series of Epidural Steroid Injections), so I’ll go back for the trigger point injections after school gets out.  (June 27th is our last day.) However, the way my back feels (it took a turn for the worse yesterday), I don’t know if I’ll make it until then…

Speaking of work, school will be dismissed at 11:30 this morning because of the excessively high temps. I’m hoping to catch a ride home with My Friend so I don’t have to walk in this god-awful heat.

Song of the Day: Too Darn Hot from Kiss Me Kate

14 Responses to “Heat Rave”

  1. The heat here is oppressive, I don’t even go out.
    I can’t afford most of my meds and end up haing to buy 7 at a time sometimes. It is too damn expensive to be sick these days.

  2. LA said

    You’ll be unsurprised to find out that not only is Mick’s school open today, but that sports practices are still mandatory and the administration DEMANDED Mick continue to do driveway duty or face being fired. Stand in unshaded driveway for 1+ hours directing traffic morning and afternoon. I’m terrified for my guy. The admins are sick, cruel, sadistic bastards. ~LA

  3. Stay cool, my friend! I hope the new meds work out for you. (And yes, I loved “Cuckoo” in book form, too.)

  4. Sunshyn said

    It was hot here yesterday, finally (we’ve been having “beach weather” and I’m not complaining), but today the wind kicked back in. It’s still “hot” (if you call the 90s hot), but now it’s windy, which means I just can’t breathe, and we can’t go swimming at the gym tonight, which Roo was looking forward to. Damn stupid wind. I paid $90 for around seven mail-order meds, and that was just the copay. Thank God for health benefits; it would be several hundred without them. It’s ridiculous to need someone to accompany you for just trigger point injections, and I’ve started lying and saying my ride is outside smoking, or waiting for me in the cafe, and then I just duck out without them noticing. But I had to scope the place out first. One pain management clinic, I couldn’t get away with it; the other one, I can. Now, the other injection procedures, I’d be happier with a ride. Hope the trigger point injections work. I need a second cortisone shot for the rotator cuff; you should see the bruise on the bicep tendinitis site – purple mountains majesty!

  5. Joan said

    Stephanie, I’ve been reading for a long time, but I don’t think I’ve ever read why you don’t drive. Just curious, you don’t have to answer…of course! 🙂

  6. goatbarnwitch said

    I sure hope those meds make a big difference…. Please do take the time to get the injections rather than let the pain get out of hand.

  7. Sunshyn said

    If yesterday’s list of books was a list of commonly “not finished” books, I just want to say, how could ANYONE not finish “The Time Traveler’s Wife,” which is one of my all-time most favorite pieces of fiction ever? Also, the “not finished” thing would explain why I haven’t read so very many of them. A lot of them, I think, I categorized as “I tried.”

  8. I hope the meds work for you too Steph. Be careful in all that heat with new meds too. It’s been over (or close to) 100 here for the past couple of weeks and the humidity stinks. We don’t get early days for heat here in Texas! I saw the they were doing it in NJ (they never did it when I..or my older kids…were in school. My granddaughters’ school was opened up there though (which is where we all attended)

  9. Jim said

    I think One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest is really worth reading, but I like his Sometimes a Great Notion even more. In fact, I’d say it is one of my favorite novels. (And the Paul Newman & Henry Fonda & Lee Remick movie version — directed by Paul Newman — is flawed and only covers parts of the novel but is still an awesome movie, more indie flick than Hollywood.)

  10. LeAnn said

    I read Cuckoo’s Nest when I was a kid, cause I liked the movie so much. I read a lot more in those days. These days it hurts my eyes so much to read even with bifocals. My friend Susan calls herself a bibliomanic and has a great book blog called Naked Without Books. Here is the link.
    http://bybeebooks.blogspot.com/

    For those medical procedures that they have to use anesthesia they will not do it unless you have a driver to take you home. They say is because you can get amnesia and not know how to get home. Most places won’t even send you home in a taxi and they certainly will not allow you to catch a bus. I’m glad I finally got a notifcation to your blog. I need to blog again soon.

  11. LeAnn said

    I got finally got a notification. I just read this and wrote a comment, but it didn’t post. I’m trying again.

  12. Michael said

    Good luck with the new meds. It’s only worth it if they work. And while I haven’t read “Sometimes a Great Notion,” I’ll agree with Jim that it’s a terrific movie, one of my favorites. (It’s sometimes shown on TV as “Never Give an Inch.”)

  13. terri t. said

    Sorry to hear that your back pain has gone back up again. I sure hope some of the new meds give you some relief.

  14. I feel for you for the costs of medications. I am amazed at how I spend by month’s end. Stay cool and feel well.

Leave a Reply

