Garden Party

June 8, 2008

I got my camera back, so, as promised, here are the photos of the carrot cake (decorated with fresh flowers), and my new bed ensemble (It looks better in person, and you can’t see the bedskirt, which is striped):

I have some more pictures I want to post. These were taken at the Botanical Gardens yesterday. A little birdie joined us during our picnic lunch, and had the cheek to hop over and steal something from my plate..

Highlights of our visit included the rose garden:

the sculptures by Henry Moore,

and “Darwin’s Garden.” (The first shot is a recreation of Darwin’s window looking out on the garden.)

It would have been a wonderful day if not for the oppressive heat. It’s much too early for it to be so hot. According to the forecast, it’s supposed to be 97 tomorrow and 98 on Tuesday. I hate this weather.

Song of the Day: Octopus’s Garden by The Beatles

9 Responses to “Garden Party”

  1. Lovely!! I’m with you on the heat, though — it’s like that here, too.

  2. goatbarnwitch said

    Great pictures… I am so with you on the heat issue… it is gross.

  3. Sunshyn said

    Oh, man, I SO want some of that cake.

  4. LA said

    Gorgeous pics, delightful new bed, miserable suck-ass weather. I cannot believe you trudged around the botanical gardens in this swamp muck! I refused to leave my house. At all. You are a brave girl. ~LA

  5. K.Lo. said

    Man! That’s some crazy heat! I’d melt!!!!

    I love Darwin’s garden!

  6. Great Pics Stephanie…we’ve been too hot here too…even for Texas it has been hot way too early!

  7. Michael said

    Oh, ugh. That kind of heat is just about unbearable. The flowers are beautiful, but what I really like are the Henry Moore sculptures.

  8. Jim said

    Marvelous photographs… Thanks for sharing with us.

  9. Jeanette said

    Great pictures. That cake looks delicious and your new bedspread is very pretty!

Leave a Reply

