M R Ay Yi Yi

May 16, 2008

When I got home from work on Wednesday, I called to schedule an appointment for the MRI of the cervical spine. The secretary said they could do it that evening at 6:45. Getting it over with as soon possible seemed like a good idea to me, so I agreed to go in at that time.

I sat in the waiting room for half an hour. At one point, I couldn’t help but overhear a phone conversation in which the secretary told the person on the other end that they were running behind schedule. I went up to the desk to find out how much longer I would have to wait, and was told it would be at least another hour and a half.

I was in too much pain to sit there that long, so the secretary offered me an appointment for 7:00 the next morning. I told her that I had to be at work by 7:40, and she assured me that I would make it in time. I took the appointment.

I arrived at the Imaging Center at 6:55 a.m. No one was there. The technician finally arrived at 7:03. He apologized for being late, and ushered me inside. He said that he had to turn the machine on, and he’d be ready to take me to the MRI room in a few minutes. My stomach was in knots because I knew there was no way I’d be on time for work.

The scan commenced at 7:15 and ended at 7:35.  I was ten minutes late for work.  In my nineteen years of being employed by the school district, this was the first time I was tardy. It wasn’t that big of a deal, but it did make me tense, and that’s not a good way to start the day.

I should have known better than to expect anything to go right. It rarely (if ever) does.

Song of the Day: Gone Wrong by Blue October

8 Responses to “M R Ay Yi Yi”

  1. LA said

    I loathe being at the mercy of others’ schedules and being put off my own, but do cut yourself some space, dear one. Excessive loyalty to employers who’ve treated you this shoddily is unnecessary. I know your timely thing is about who you are and not really fear of the boss, but you don’t owe the district anything, especially not winding yourself up and being panicky and tense like that over a few minutes lateness.

    Free weekend! Next week the madness starts again and goes straight through to July. Can you squeeze me in sometime this weekend? ~LA

  2. Carol said

    Sorry that happened to you.

  3. Sasha said

    That does suck, Stephanie, but that’s pretty remarkable that you have such a great record for not being tardy! You need to cut yourself some slack and not fret over being late for one day, you deserve that at the very least.

  4. Michael said

    I’m happy for you that it’s over, for now and maybe forever but at least for a long, long time. Now let’s hope it shows something that will lead to less pain, so that the whole ordeal will turn out to be worth it.

  5. LeAnn said

    I know it’s a big deal to you to end a perfect record of never being late, but I’m amazed that you went through all that and you were still only ten minutes late!! Very impressive!!

  6. I understand why you were upset. I made a mammogram appt for first thing in the morning…drove over in a snowstorm to find the office wasn’t even opened….Thankfully the receptionist came in and opened the door for me…no heat was on, no technicians were in and I waited over an hour when I could have slept in and walked into a warm waiting room and a warmed up mammogram machine. The screening went just fine but still…….thankfully you did get an appointment and that much is over for now.

  7. Jim said

    It’s amazing to me just how disrepectful so many businesses are to their customers.

  8. Joan said

    I agree – don’t sweat those 10 minutes. I’m sure whoever “notices” these things has also noticed that you have always been on time!

Leave a Reply

