A Mother of a Week

May 11, 2008

Boy, was I glad to bid a not so fond adieu to this past week from hell. Getting smacked in the face by a rake handle set the bad karma ball rolling, and it was all downhill after that. One bad experience involved shopping for eyeglasses to replace the ones that broke in the rake incident.

I have a really hard time finding glasses that look halfway decent on me. Consequently, I tried on just about every pair of frames in the place I do business with. (Naturally, the style I broke has been discontinued.) It was very discouraging. Everything I looked at was extremely expensive (plus, I wear Transitional/Progressives, which jacks the price up even more). To add insult to injury, none of the frames were the least bit flattering.

Still, I had to get something. The spare pair I’m using distorts my depth perception. Finally, I settled on a Banana Republic frame. I’ll probably be even more dissatisfied when they come in than I was when I tried them on because the prescription lenses will allow me to see more clearly just how bad they look. (It’s difficult to accurately judge how glasses look when you need glasses to see with!)

I’ve also been dealing with some work-related crap, but I don’t want to talk about that. I’m trying to not give the petty nonsense that goes on in that place too much power over me.

Yesterday, there was a big get-together at my sister’s house to celebrate my nephew’s 16th birthday. I made the mistake of telling my family about the rake incident. For the rest of the day I had to endure wisecracks from my father, brother-in-law and nephews about how “stupid” I am.

It might have been stupid if I had noticed that the rake tines were facing forward when I was walking over to turn the hose faucet on, but I didn’t. It was an accident, not something I did intentionally. To call me stupid repeatedly, and to make jokes all day long about something that caused me physical pain and financial hardship (i.e. the expensive replacement eyeglasses) was cruel and hurtful.

Still, I should have known better. Certain members of my family make a sport out of calling people stupid. Personally, I think they are the stupid ones.

To lighten things up, I’d like to share a few photos with you. Two years ago, my daughters gave me a small lilac tree for Mother’s Day. Much to my delight, it bloomed this year. Hurray!

I keep this next picture propped up on my desk at work. It amuses me, especially when students say things like: “You met Flavor Flav??” I kid you not. Quite a few students have asked that question, despite the fact that Flavor Flav’s side is in black and white while mine is in color.

Speaking of Flavor Flav, this student borrowed my gansta clock for a school play she appeared in Friday evening. She was adorable.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there!

Song of the Day: Mother by Pink Floyd

10 Responses to “A Mother of a Week”

  1. Carol said

    Happy Mother’s Day.
    I don’t know why stupid people laugh at other’s misfortune.

  2. goatbarnwitch said

    Happy mother’s day to you too. I too had a week from hell and hope both have a better time this week.

  3. Bex said

    Happy Mother’s Day to you, Steph, and to any other mothers who are reading this. I am not a mother – except of dogs – but we had a nice day yesterday (and fried clams were involved) with P’s mother. We are so glad they are living up here now and not 1,000 miles away.

  4. LeAnn said

    I’m sorry some of your family members gave you such a hard time. I’ll look forward to seeing your in your new glasses. You’re so right. I’ve been wearing glasses since I was about three. I have never selected a flattering pair in my life because I can’t see to pick them out. I hope you have a great Mother’s day and that it’s the beginning of a great week!!

  5. Pam L said

    Here’s hoping Mother’s Day makes it a nicer start to a new week. People who call you names for unfortunate accidents are callous ignorants. My DH could not understand why I would react badly when he said “What did you do THAT for?” while I was still reeling in pain from bumping that tender spot on top of my head on something. Ouch! or some similar accident. And he didn’t call me stupid even. That’s just rude.

  6. Betty Lou said

    Happy Mothers Day – and I hope things get better for you in every way.

  7. Sunday said

    Hey, if it happened to Sideshow Bob 800 times in an episode, it can’t be stupid. And besides, how could it be stupid? You stepped on a rake. I fell on a gumball (you know those trees that have those ball thingies that fall on the ground.) I’d call the ones that call YOU stupid STOOPID.

    Happy Mother’s Day!

  8. Michael said

    Yeah, they’re the stupid ones. Happy Mother’s Day anyway.

  9. Not only are they stupid but they are rude too! I sure hope the glasses look better than you think they will. You are so right about not being able to pick out frames when you can’t see to begin with!!!!!
    Sure hope your week goes better this time around

  10. Joan said

    I must agree…THEY ARE VERY STUPID…AND MEAN. What the hell was so funny about it? As I am aging, I am distancing myself further and further away from family – the mean stuff that was funny when we were kids just ain’s so funny anymore!
    I’m sure you’ll look as gorgeous in the new glasses as you did in the old ones!

Leave a Reply

