Queen of Pain

May 3, 2008

I went for the lumbar injections yesterday. What a ghastly experience. I wasn’t expecting it to hurt as much as it did. Honestly, the pain of the last injection took my breath away. It was really bad.

During the last injection, the doctor said that I would feel it going down my left leg. I felt it going down my right leg, and told him so – twice. All he said to that was “yes.” WTF?

Daniel picked me up after the procedure. When I got in the car I told him that I felt like crying. I then proceeded to do just that. It wasn’t so much because I was in pain (although I certainly was). It was more because of pain in general. It’s sucking the life out of me.

I can barely deal with the pain I’ve been experiencing on a daily basis. Having to put up with additional pain is getting to be more than I can bear.

And these injections did cause me additional pain. I was in agony yesterday, and I continue to be in agony today. According to my discharge instructions, this is “not uncommon, and should decrease in 1 to 2 days.”

I did a web search to see if others found the procedure to be as painful as I did. This site satisfied my curiosity. One person said, “Initial deadening injection was not painful. Next 2 injections were uncomfortable. The last injection was excruciating. I screamed.”

Another wrote, “My very first lumbar epidural put me in bed for about a week. The second lumbar ESI wasn’t as painful, and I was a nut to agree to another one. My third one nearly made me pass out.”

I’m supposed to have the procedure repeated in six weeks. The mere thought of going through that again makes me tremble. If it helps, I guess it will be worth it… maybe.

As for the shoulder blade pain – Dr. Bones called me on Monday with the MRI results, which were normal. I told him that I had done some investigating on the Internet (even though I know some doctors don’t like that – too bad!). I went on to say that many online sources indicate that pain in the shoulder blade is often referred from the neck. He agreed, and announced that I now have to go for an MRI of the cervical spine. Oh joy.

I’m going back to bed. It hurts too much to sit here.

Reading: Gods Behaving Badly by Marie Phillps (I LOVE this book! It’s a hoot!)

Song of the Day: King of Pain by Police

19 Responses to “Queen of Pain”

  1. Oh sweety, I’m so sorry you’re hurting so badly. Sending hugs.

  2. goatbarnwitch said

    Wow…..{{{HUG}}}

  3. Bex said

    It would be so nice to have an answer for you, but I don’t. I mainly type neurology reports and I see it all the time. Patients going for multiple studies, over years and years, only to have the pain remain. That probably why I just silently (sometimes) suffer with all my pains and don’t go looking for the cure. I really don’t believe there is one. It’s sad, too, considering all the money that is spent in the process of looking for one.

  4. Sorry that you are hurting even more.I hope it helps in some way though eventually.
    I research my illness on the net all the time. My doctor likes that I try to stay informed even if I don’t always find the correct answer.

  5. Sunday said

    I am sooooooo sorry about what you’re going through. This just makes me think that doctors, etc., don’t really know anything about pain. If it can’t be stopped by shooting you up with morphine or Dilaudid, then they’ve got nothing.

    Makes me wonder just what doctors learn in school anyway….

  6. K.Lo. said

    Oh honey. I’m so sorry!

  7. TexasPeach said

    I am so sorry Steph…you deserve a break from all this pain. Maybe after the initial added pain, the shots will work. My Doctor listens when I talk about something I’ve researched and then explains it or disputes it (or gives me his reasons for doing what he is doing at that point). In general, I think that many older Drs are less tolerant of the internet found info than younger ones are. It makes it easier for patients to find out more about their diagnoses and be more involved in their own care.

  8. liz said

    When I read these things, it just takes me back to what my husband went through with his Sciatica pain, and my best friend with her cervical spine pain issues. My husband also found those injections painful and that is what finally drove him to surgery. They didn’t help really, for him. But they do for some people, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you.

  9. LeAnn said

    My mother has had a very similar experience. You amaze me though, because while you are in constant pain, you also choose to continue to enjoy life to the fullest. I don’t know how you do it. I really don’t. Perhaps after the initial pain subsides you will have some relief from the pain for a while. I really do hope so!!

  10. LA said

    Baby, Your hurts is pain to me too. I love you so much and your suffering is awful. To live inside that kind of agony is torture and I hate it for you. How you hang on I just don’t know. I’m proud of you for not completely shutting down and giving up. You are a Queen. ~LA

  11. Michael said

    Egad, that’s horrible. And now another MRI to boot. I’m so sorry you’re going through this. It’s only worth it if it helps in the long run, but that doesn’t make the short run any easier to take.

  12. ilgabbiano said

    They agree. Internet can help to resolve its problem.
    Don’t lose heart
    http://www.otranto.beeplog.it

  13. Betty Lou said

    I’m so sorry that the Dr. inflicted so much pain on you. Let’s hope it eventually does some good. The last epidural I had for my spinal stenosis was so painful that I made up my mind that it really was the LAST injection, and I haven’t had any more. Stay strong.

  14. I certainly hope the results of those lumbar injections will prove to be worth the pain you had. I have heard if the intital shots do a good job; it is even better with the second series. I handled a lot of Workers compensation claims and most of my clients told me that. I hope it works for you. You deserve to have a less painful life, for sure.

  15. yaketyyak said

    Betty Lou – did the epidural injections help at all? Thanks, everyone, for the kind words. It helps to know I have so many people rooting for me.

  16. Allison said

    Stephanie, I am so sorry. I hope that you will find some relief from the pain. I’m definitely rooting for you!!!

  17. Betty Lou said

    Dear Stephanie, I honestly think that the epidurals didn’t do much good for me, but I don’t have sciatic pain, and the stenosis is too far advanced to be helped. It just seemed to me that I didn’t need to go through that extra pain, and just stay with the constant pain that I know. It’s hard to explain, but I think you know what I mean. I’m praying that the injections do help you.

  18. Stephanie said

    Yes, Betty Lou, I do know what you mean, and I thank you for answering my question.

  19. Joan said

    Maybe the pain will be like childbirth – excruciating, but then you forget it in a few days! I’m thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

