The Bad Luck Continues

April 7, 2008

For my first shaping project, I’ve been knitting a bath mitt. Shaping the thumb was the hard part, and I was so excited when I managed to jump that hurdle without tripping. Shortly after posting Saturday’s entry, I sat down to finish the mitt.

I was attempting to do a psso (pass slipped stitch over) when disaster struck. The needle snapped. I can’t simply insert another needle because a bunch of stitches dropped (along with my stomach), and I’m not experienced enough to be able to fix this mess.

I took a few deep breaths and moved on to an old project – one that I set aside last summer. Things were moving along nicely when the thing on the end of the needle (that prevents stitches from slipping) fell off, along with quite a few stitches. Again, this was beyond my ability to fix.  What are the odds for having back-to-back knitting needle mishaps??

I’m overdue for a good cry.

Song of the Day: If It Wasn’t For Bad Luck by Ray Charles

15 Responses to “The Bad Luck Continues”

  1. Stefani said

    Don’t cry, eat chocolate! That helps everything.

  2. What a mess to happen twice. I was taught how to pick up dropped stitches but can’t really remember how. Sorry, that has to be very
    disheartening.

  3. Stephanie said

    I know how to pick up dropped stitches, but not in a case like this where it would also involve moving stitches to another needle. Chocolate sounds like a good plan!

  4. After you eat the chocolate, maybe you can go to a yarn store and beg for help…or offer chocolate and then beg. I bet it isn’t difficult for someone who knits often and maybe you can learn how to fix it yourself. Good luck…I would be on my second bag of Hersey Kisses by now….

  5. hil said

    Chocolate AND cry works for me! Hugs! xoxo, hil

  6. kitchenlogic said

    Cripes. I thought you said you were knitting a bathmat and I wondered what in the heck you’d put a thumb in a bathmat for. Now that I look at it, it looks like something a guy would wear in the front of his pants. What is wrong with me?

  7. I thought it said bathmat too and was wondering what that big lump in the middle was. Maybe I need my eyes checked yet again????

  8. LeAnn said

    I think after you cry and eat the chocolate, you will find the courage to work on the problem and get it solved. The colors are lovely, btw.

  9. yaketyyak said

    It looks like a bathmat because the sides haven’t been stitched together yet!

  10. LA said

    Gads how frustrating! Not a clue how you fix that, I am but a humble crocheter. Hope someone at the yarn store can advise. Mwah! ~LA

  11. Joan said

    See, this is why I rarely do crafts! Crafts are supposed to help you relax – not make you cry! Oh, hell, buy a damn bath mitt and then go get a manicure – that will make you feel so much better!

  12. Celeste said

    First you need a new needle; you might have to buy a pair but look on the bright side, you’ll have a spare if this happens again. If you wanted to pick up the dropped stitches, you would need a crochet hook for that (something kind of medium sized since your fiber looks kind of thick (but I love it!).

    If it was me? I’d get the new needles and then I’d rip out the row you were on and just start over and learn how to pick up dropped stitches some other time (and the Knitting Gods will make sure you get a chance, LOL!).

    I’m a new knitter too and shaping is not my favorite thing. I know it’s going to click one of these days. You are smart to be learning it in a project where you don’t have a pattern to worry about within a row.

    Visiting from Lisa’s and just wanted to say good luck and don’t give up!

  13. yaketyyak said

    Thanks for the excellent advice, Celeste. To my good fortune, my cousin came over and fixed the problem for me!

  14. Celeste said

    Woohoo, glad to hear it! You’ll have this finished in no time.

    I forgot to say last time that I have learned A LOT about knitting from YouTube. Some things just have to be seen to be understood. I know binding off is easy, but I read the directions so many times and couldn’t get it. Then I saw it YouTube, and couldn’t believe how easy it was. ::DOH!::

    Right now I’m making my daughter a blanket, mostly so I can have practice at keeping consistent gauge before I commit myself to a sweater. It’s wonderfully addicting, isn’t it!!!

  15. yaketyyak said

    Addicting… That’s EXACTLY what it is!

Leave a Reply

