Slip Into Something More Comfortable

April 2, 2008

For the past week or so, the daily essays in Simple Abundance have been about style vs. fashion. I was particularly struck by the message on March 28th. Sarah Ban Breathnach wrote about “comfort clothes.” She began with this quote from Gilda Radner: “I base my fashion taste on what doesn’t itch.”

Breathnach goes on to say, “Unfortunately, comfort clothes exist for most of us only as a footnote to our lives, not center stage as they would if a sensible woman were in charge of the earthly scheme of things. Perhaps we feel good for eight hours out of every twenty-four, but that is not nearly good enough. The rest of the time we’re squeezed into uncomfortable things that pull, pinch, tug, choke, itch, hike up or down, and make the days of our lives miserable. We wear these creations of torture, we tell ourselves, in order to be agreeable to the rest of the world. But why shouldn’t we find a way to make the world agreeable to us instead?”

Because I am always in so much pain, physical comfort is very important to me. That’s why I change into pajamas (baggy flannel bottoms and a loose T-shirt) right after I take the dogs out as soon as I get home from work. An unexpected visitor might wonder why I am so attired at three o’clock in the afternoon. I do what I have to do in order to feel as relaxed as possible.

Now if only I could find a way to feel more comfortable in my own skin…

Song of the Day: A Little More Comfortable by Michelle Wright

14 Responses to “Slip Into Something More Comfortable”

  1. Stefani said

    My comfy clothes and my outside-world clothes are so similar, I can’t tell you the number of times I have come close to forgetting to change before I leave the house. I’ve actually walked into work, glancing down at my feet, “Oh please, don’t let me be wearing my slippers!” (My slippers are like fuzzy clogs, it would be okay, I suppose . . . )

  2. It’s always been my goal to wear pajamas TO work.

  3. Since I no longer work, most of my clothes are of the comfy style. It has been so long since I have had to dress up, I don’t think I would know how.

  4. hil said

    My dad went to work in a suit, and every night he changed as soon as he got home. It was a ritual, like watching Mr. Rodgers changes his shoes and zip his sweater. At least we don’t have to wear ties! xoxox, hil

  5. Jeanette said

    I can’t wait to get home to change into comfy cloths for the night. Usually jogging pants, t-shirt and my crocs which I have found that I can’t live without!

  6. After crawling around and chasing tods all afternoon, as soon as I am home it is sweats or shorts and the shoes, socks and bra come off! My work attire isn’t all that bad, jeans and a tee shirt…but by the time I get home I need something soft and stretchy on the bottom too 🙂

  7. Bex said

    Since I began working at home, I wear comfy clothes all day. The only changing I do is into more presentable clogs (still very comfortable but no so grungy) and jeans that are not all bagged out, only when I go out to the store or over to my office. The other day I got out of my car at the office and looked down and saw my old baggy jeans and crappy shoes. When I went in, I apologized for them, but my coworkers said they’d never even noticed.

    For years and years in my youth, I wore those awful pointy-toed 2-1/2 inch or higher high heels all day long, and because of that foot-abuse, I ended up with bunions with one having been surgically repaired but the other still in need of surgery. All because of socially acceptable shoes. I’ll never understand why or how anyone wears those these days.

  8. LA said

    The bra! The bra! Death to the bra! Otherwise I don’t wear anything ouchie. Then again I am a bum by trade. Mwah! ~LA

  9. Jim said

    Like Bex, I work at home — jeans, sweatshirts, etc. Comfort is the theme.

  10. Sunshyn said

    I’m with LA – the bra’s gotta go! But then I don’t attempt to exercise at home, because I took off the bra (and the shoes). God forbid I try to life five pound weights without a bra…

  11. Husband and I call them our “comfies” when we change. I used to take a shower when I got home from work and put on my nightclothes, robe…still take a shower by 4 pm and get into “comfies” for the evening. Husband changes into sweat pants and a t-shirt or sweatshirt as soon as he gets home from work too. If we have to be out for the evening, we start pulling at our “outside” clothes fairly early! LOL

  12. LeAnn said

    I always change into sweats or shorts and a tee shirt the second I walk in the door. Even though I’m not currently working, I try to at least look like I sort of care about my appearance just a little, before I go to town for anything. I do know for a fact that there are nice work clothes that are somewhat comfortable. I don’t know folks get around so easily in heels. They are just so unatural to me. Did you and your husband have a nice anniversary??

  13. tiajune143 said

    The best thing about retiring was retiring all of my “work” clothes! Sweats and tee shirts are my new “uniform”!

  14. Michael said

    I work at home, too, in such comfort that I insist people call me before coming over, so that I can get out of my holey sweats and into something more presentable. It’s nice to only have to look good when there’s someone who might see me.

Leave a Reply

