D is For Duh

March 26, 2008

I received a call from my Primary Care Physician’s office this afternoon with the results of my blood work. It seems that I have a severe Vitamin D deficiency. This is the second time I’ve had that diagnosis. The treatment is 50,000 units of Vitamin D once a week for eight weeks.

I did some digging, and found that “one in four patients who suffer from chronic pain also have inadequate blood levels of vitamin D,” which leads researchers to conclude that “vitamin D deficiency possibly contributed to the patients’ ongoing pain.”

How about that…

Song of the Day: Be My D from Sesame Street

13 Responses to “D is For Duh”

  1. chaosdaily said

    Do you take calcium supplements? You need extra D for that, too, just so the calcium will absorb..

  2. WCD said

    Right and if you live in a place where there isn’t a lot of sun — guess what you are most likely Vitamin D deficient. I am in Oregon, and I am as well. The shot will make you feel better!

  3. LeAnn said

    I’ll be darned. In January 07, I was also diagnosed with a severe vitamin D deficiency. I was prescribed the exact same treatment. The pharmacist even had to order the vitamins because he didn’t have them in stock. He said he rarely gets an order for vitamin D. Mine was related to my malnutrition though. It’s odd that I didn’t think to do research on it like you did though, because I researched everything else about my condition. Have you had a bone scan? I had one around that time and they told me I also had osteoporosis. I hope the D helps your chronic pain. Now, I think I will go research a vitamin D deficiency. Have a nice day!

  4. sassychickabea said

    Remember that entry I wrote about the vitamin D? I’m still taking my vitamin D and calcium and I’m still doing fine, except for my left knee, but that I attribute to the heinous dampness here. I remember you mentioned that you’d been diagnosed with vitamin D deficiency before but that taking the vitamin hadn’t helped, is that right? Maybe because you weren’t taking enough? Or not taking it with calcium? Any hope for relief of your pain makes me hopeful, Stephanie. By the way, I’m so glad you enjoyed the book!

  5. Well vitamin D is part of my mess of health issues too. Except that I can’t take calcium because my body can’t put it where it belongs.
    I hope the vitamins help you.

  6. LA said

    Maybe that’s why you felt a little better on the Monavie? It had to have a bunch of vitamins including some D. Along with the proper supplements I suggest Nature’s Own OJ with calcium and vitamin D. It’s tasty, low on the citric acid (for real OJ anyway) and it’s usually on sale at Shoprite.

    I am so hopeful that eventually you can patchwork together enough therapies and treatments to give you all the help and relief you need. ~LA

  7. Michael said

    Answers are always good, even partial answers. It must be a relief just to know there’s something you can do that might make things a little better.

  8. Deb Ray said

    The reason you probably went D deficient again is because, for a long time, the prescription 50,000 iu D pills were D2 which does not reamin in the system and is not the same form of D made by our skin when we’re in the sun. The form of supplemental D you should be using is D3 and is now readily available and very cheap. I buy mine a Walgreens. I found I was D deficient after being hospitalized for respriatory issues.

    I’ve gotten a great deal of information from the Vitamin D Council’s web site at http://www.vitamindcouncil.org

    Watch the video presented by Michael Holick, PhD, MD, Professor of medicine, physiology and biophysics and director of the General Clinical Research Center at Boston University Medical Center Keynote address at the opening ceremony of the 34th European Symposium on Calcified Tissues, Copenhagen 5 May, 2007.

    Video:
    http://www.uvadvantage.org/portals/0/pres/

    It will blow your mind how many diseases vitamin D3 is assocaited with. Please spread the word. Too many people are D deficient.

    Deb Ray
    South Bend, IN

  9. pKay said

    Wait why take vitamin D pills when you can just go out and spend a bit of time in the sun? Unless you live in the dark side of the moon (haha im so funny… NOT) anyway yeah… a few hours in the sun does wonders….

    Anyway keep up the great blogging 🙂
    pKay

  10. Jim said

    I was going to suggest you could get some Vitamin D the natural way by skinny-dipping during your summer trips to Rhode Island but the only nude beach (Moonstone Beach) along the coast here was closed to swimmers years ago to protect the piping plover (an endangered species).

    Yes, that closing is the history behind the bumper sticker you sometimes might see here in South County: Piping Plover Tastes Like Chicken.

  11. wineymomma said

    Vitamin D helps in the absorption of calcium so it stands to reason that if you have vitamin D deficiency that you would have osteoporosis or trouble with your body using the calcium you take in properly.

    Unfortunately there are only 2 naturally occurring sources of vitamin D that I know of. One is sunlight and the other is the yolk of eggs.

    It’s too bad skinny dipping isn’t an option!

    Of course then you run into the whole issue of sun screen and skin cancer!

  12. Sunshyn said

    Yeah, was gonna ask if you’d had a dexa scan, too. I have osteoporosis, and I just bet that’s why my pain is worse. I think my sleeves have suddenly become shorter, and I know the microwave moved up a little higher recently, as well. Seriously. My new fosamax has D in it. Also, a lot of us are vitamin K deficient, and that is one vitamin you CAN’T buy — you have to eat it at the source, so check that out. (She says, as she refuses all the green leafies, etc., and munches on Cheezits. I spent Wednesday in little kindergarten chairs, and I am dying. What’s up with the Monavie, anyway, did you run out?

  13. Sunshyn said

    and I forgot to close my paren after Cheezits).

Leave a Reply

