I Can Knit A Sweater By The Fireside

March 24, 2008

We had a very pleasant Easter dinner, especially when the check arrived. Rebecca’s boyfriend is a manager at the restaurant, and he gave us enough freebies to slash the bill in half. Not a bad deal.

After I post this quickie, I’m going back to bed just because I can. I love days off. With that in mind, I’ll spend the next couple of weeks looking forward to spring break, even though at least a few of those days off will be spent at doctor/dentist offices.

Work has become a real drag. That’s partly because of the tension in the building. Morale is at an all-time low, and I can’t help but be affected by that.

But mostly, it has to do with the increase in physical pain after a day at work. It saps me of all my strength and energy. Weekends have been pretty much lost to recuperating.

I’ve done very little in the way of having fun. It just hurts too much to make the effort. This past weekend was an exception because we had two extra days off. It makes such a difference.

I wish I could retire at 55 (as many people in school systems do), but a recent examination of my retirement benefits made it clear that I can’t afford to do that. After twenty years working for the district, I’d only get $8000 a year. To get double that, I’ll have to stay until I’m 64.  Even then, how am I supposed to live on that?? Sigh.

Song of the Day: When I’m Sixty Four by The Beatles

11 Responses to “I Can Knit A Sweater By The Fireside”

  1. I took a look at my retirement accounts and realized that I’ll be working until hell freezes over. Glad you had a nice holiday!!

  2. I think the only way to retire is to have started paying into a 401K before you were even born.

  3. Stefani said

    So I guess we’ll all just keep working and keep blogging into old age! Glad your Easter was nice. Two days off?? Lucky duck.

  4. Jim said

    My employer froze company pensions last year — so my company pension has eleven years of credits in it, which will produce approximately 600 bucks a month (when set up to continue survivor benefits, including the fact that I am 12 yrs older than Nancy) — it is fully vested but no more money will go to it. Instead they will be paying an extra 2% of pay into my 401k.

    Since I am just weeks from 65, I suppose I could retire in a little more than a year from now (age 66 plus a couple of months to get full social security) but I can’t see how I could afford to do that — so I am planning to work another four or five years (assuming they don’t move my job to India or China any time soon).

  5. Bex said

    Before I met and married Paul, I was single, broke, had no savings, not even enough to pay my rent. My angel sent him to me. He got me saving and now we have several retirement accounts going plus soc.security. We’ll never be rich or even well-off, but I think, thanks to him in my life, I can at least know we’ll have a roof over our heads (we own our house outright, also thanks to him). Getting old is scary on so many levels.

  6. LA said

    Mick can retire in 5 years. He will and then immediately get a new job. His pension will be something of a cushion but it sure won’t come close to being livable. The only true benefit will be continuing health coverage. And that only if they don’t screw us over in the meantime.

    Rest and try to find some happy, dear one. Enjoying going back bed was a good start! Mwah! ~LA

  7. LeAnn said

    I think Bex and her husband are brilliant!! If only I had the foresight to plan my own financial future. Had I stayed at the phone company, I could be retired in thirteen years because of that years of service plus the number of years till you reach age 75 rule. I think I could have retired at the age of 57. The pay was great, and I didn’t know how I could ever live without it, but I learned since I’ve been gone that the money was not worth it! There are better jobs that pay less money, but I think it’s worth it. Besides, I really hope to get a nice settlement from those folks anyway, and that will make my years there worthwhile, for sure!! You could also consider what other type of work is out there that you could do, while collecting your retirement and benefits from the job with the school. I think you should do some freelance writing!! I’d sure buy a magazine with a short story or an article written by you!!!

  8. Oh, I don’t even plan on retiring–I’m sure I’ll be working until I keel over with a heart attack. If I hadn’t had that bout with heart failure, I’m sure I’d have a full time (or at least a better paying) job by now, but unfortunately, I don’t seem to have the energy. Maybe we can think up some type of get-rich-quick scheme so we can retire with yachts, champagne and caviar!

  9. Joan said

    Scary, scary, scary. My girlfriend always says, God will provider – it’s like the loaves and the fishes! I figure my daughter likes me enough to take care of me when I get old and dammit, she’d better 🙂

  10. Michael said

    I also plan to work until they carry me out. For a few years, back when I was making way more money than I am now, I put money into IRAs every year. And now it’s all worth less than I put in, not only in post-inflation dollars but in real dollars. I think I might have chosen the wrong mutual funds, but I keep hoping they’ll come back, because it will save me the hassle of moving the money somewhere else. Anyway, I expect my heirs to take whatever’s left of it and have a little party in my honor. Not too soon, hopefully.

  11. My husband is still working *age 63, because of the medical insurance and to have some extra money. We will never be well off but hope we can have a comfortable life. Thankfully we are not big spenders and don’t require fancy restaurants and clothes & jewelry and vacations….
    Hope you get some good results from the dr appointments so you can enjoy Spring.

Leave a Reply

