Losing My Marbles

March 22, 2008

When I got home from work on Thursday, there was a message on my answering machine from the orthopedic surgeon’s office letting me know that they had obtained authorization from my insurance company for the MRI. I immediately called the Imaging Center, and was very happy to hear that I could schedule an appointment for 6:15.

The timing was perfect. I wouldn’t have to take any more time off from work, for one thing. Also, transportation wouldn’t be a problem because Leigh and I would be out running errands, and she could drop me off at the Imaging Center when we were finished.

So, we ran our errands and were on our way to the Imaging Center when I realized that I couldn’t find the script with the doctor’s orders for the MRI. I frantically searched my pockets, purse, and the floor of Leigh’s car, but came up empty handed. All I can figure is that I must have dropped the script when I got out of the car somewhere along the line.

I’ve got so much on my mind, I’m finding it impossible to keep track of everything, and things like this are happening more and more frequently. I know I shouldn’t kick myself when I’m down, but I couldn’t help doing some name-calling and hurling insults in my own direction over this incident.

I called the Imaging Center and explained my dilemma. The appointment was rescheduled for 8:00 Monday morning, and I was advised to contact the orthopedic surgeon’s office to request that a copy of the orders be faxed to the Imaging Center. It was too late to do that on Thursday, so I made the call first thing Friday morning. Much to my dismay, I discovered that the office was closed for Good Friday.

I had to call the Imaging Center again to advise them of the latest development. The 8:00 am appointment for Monday had to be canceled, and I was given an appointment for later in the day. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the orthopedic surgeon’s office will be open on Monday, and I’ll be able to get the orders faxed before my appointment that afternoon. Let’s hope nothing else happens to mess things up. I don’t know if I can handle any additional obstacles.

On a more pleasant note – I had a very nice day off yesterday. It started with an adjustment at the chiropractor’s office. Thanks to my cousin, who offered to give me a ride since she goes for weekly adjustments herself, I will be able to see the chiropractor once a week.

After that, my cousin and I headed for Tarrytown to check out the Flying Fingers Yarn Shop. We had lunch at a really good Portuguese/Brazilian restaurant, and then treated ourselves to a cone of homemade toasted coconut ice cream before heading back home.

This morning, I’m going to breakfast with My Friend, and then we’ll hit Sam’s Club. All in all, it looks like it’s shaping up to be a pretty good weekend. If only this pain would take a hike, I’d be better able to enjoy the things I’ve been forcing myself to do, so as not to become a total recluse…

Happy Easter to those who celebrate the holiday.

Song of the Day: Losing My Mind by Maroon 5

11 Responses to “Losing My Marbles”

  1. I thought I was the only one that drops things and then can’t find them when I need them. Well you have had a lot of stress and stress does make it hard to keep track of things. I hope it gets worked out.

  2. sassychickabea said

    I’m sorry that happened, Stephanie. It’s frustrating but like Carol said, you have a lot of stress and that’ll happen when your mind and body are stressed out. Toasted coconut ice cream sounds heavenly. *loves* coconut.

  3. LA said

    It was sooooo good to talk with you yesterday! Glad to hear the rest of the day went well. I had a giggle when I realized T-town is not the hike for you it would be for me. Silly Hudson gets my geography all twizzled.

    Back to my cooking. I’m doing everything but the ham today. Wishing for the zillionth time you could buzz on down here and we’d kitchen visit as friends are supposed to. Mwah! ~LA

  4. junkmel said

    How frustrating for you!!! Glad to hear your visits to the chiropractor will be easier, though. I’m so sorry to hear you’re still in so much pain.

  5. Betty Lou said

    Happy Easter and good luck with the MRI.

  6. joetwostep said

    I do hope everything goes well for you this weekend!

  7. Bex said

    Makes me think of something we lost the other day. The note from the mailman saying they had a parcel that needed a signature to deliver it to us…they’d be back another day or we could go to the P.O. to get it. That slip was on the kitchen table all day but when I went out and came back, it was gone. The only ones home were the dogs, and Kip (our almost 1 year old puppy) loves to eat paper-anything. He must have eaten it! Paul tried telling the Postmaster that his dog ate the slip, but no one would believe him! But it was true! He couldn’t get the parcel without the darn slip!

  8. Pam L said

    Yay for your cousin that gets you to the chiro!

    Hope you have a nice Easter. We are going out too, No one wants to take on a holiday meal after the week we’ve had, a very long and hard one. Here’s hoping the MRI goes smoothly. I once lost the receipt for having a transmission in my car rebuilt and the creeps pretended they did not know me 2 weeks later when they heard that, after it wouldn’t go in to reverse, and wouldn’t fix it again. Luckily I had a friend who knew someone who just had to adjust something but man, I was mad at myself for losing something so important.

  9. Michael said

    I think everything that could possibly go wrong with the MRI appointment already has gone wrong, so I wish you smooth sailing Monday. And Happy Easter, too!

  10. Jeanette said

    I hope you are having a wonderful weekend and that you are able to get your MRI on Monday.

  11. I hate when that happens. I try to remember to put all important papers in a specific place in my purse (with a zipper) so I don’t lose it but sometimes I get confused and can’t find what I am looking for. I sure hope by Monday, things are all straightened out again. Good luck

Leave a Reply

