Crazy Eights

March 2, 2008

I saw this meme over at Kitchen Logic Kathy’s place and tucked it away for future reference. Now seems to be a good time bring it out and dust it off because I am in desperate need of distraction. The pain is so bad this morning, it made me cry, not so much because it hurts so bad (even though it does), but because of the unrelenting nature of the pain. I can’t keep going like this without any relief in sight.

On to the meme.

8 Things I’m Passionate About

1. My daughters, Rebecca and Leigh

2. My husband, Daniel

3. Other family members

4. Ellie and Penny (our dogs)

5. Friends

6. Books

7. Music

8. Knitting

8 Things I Want to Do Before I Die

1. Be pain-free

2. Be financially secure

3. Be a grandma

4. Be a great-grandma

5. Knit Christmas stockings for my grands and greats

6. Visit Italy

7. Housebreak Penny

8. Enjoy a long retirement

8 Things I Say Often

1. F**k!

2. S**t!

3. C**k-s*****g motherf***er! (I blame my potty mouth on chronic pain.)

4. Ah-boo (I don’t know what it means, but it makes Penny deliriously happy.)

5. She’s a belly girl in a belly world. (This does for Ellie what ah-boo does for Penny.)

6. Where’s my theracane?

7. Pee pee poo poo OUTSIDE! (Penny refuses to be housebroken.)

8. Pain is a four letter word.

8 Books I’ve Read Recently

1. At present, I am reading The Last Days of Dogtown by Anita Diamont

2. Water For Elephants by Sarah Gruen

3. Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

4. Duma Key by Stephen King

5. Body and Soul by Frank Conroy

6. Emma by Jane Austen

7. Skylight Confessions by Alice Hoffman

8. Bel Canto by Ann Patchett

8 Songs I Could Listen to Over and Over (These are not in any particular order, and are subject to change without notice.)

1. You’ve Got to Hide Your Love Away by The Beatles

2. Street Spirit (Fade Out) by Radiohead

3. Let’s Stay Together by Al Green

4. Thunder Road by Bruce Springsteen

5. The Magnificent Seven by The Clash

6. Watching the Detectives by Elvis Costello

7. Lover I Don’t Have to Love by Bright Eyes

8. My December by Linkin Park

8 Things That Attract Me to My Best Friends

1. Sense of Humor

2. Intelligence

3. Compassion

4. Humanity

5. Similarity of interests

6. Willingness to be silly now and then

7. Being a kindred spirit

8. Respect for the earth and its inhabitants

8 People I Think Would Have Really Interesting Answers for Crazy 8s

1. John Lennon

2. Stephen King

3. Phyllis Diller

4. John Irving

5. The Artist Formerly Known As Prince

6. Antonio Banderas

7. Truman Capote

8. Aretha Franklin

Song of the Day: Eight Days a Week by The Beatles

6 Responses to “Crazy Eights”

  1. kitchenlogic said

    I don’t think Prince would have much to say. He doesn’t say very much at all. The little bitty guy’s a bit of a kook. Now Truman Capote? He would definitely have some interesting answers!

  2. goatbarnwitch said

    Several of your songs would be on my list too. Thunder Road likely at the top. I hope you are finding some comfort today.

  3. How do you feel about ENYA’s music. I find it extremely soothing. So sorry about all the pain….there has to be an answer somewhere….and I expect you have gone everywhere…. What about acupunture or a hypnotist? At this point, I imagine you would try anything.

  4. LeAnn said

    I’d enjoy reading Truman Capote’s answers. I hope you are pain free long before you become a great grandma. Cause otherwise you won’t have any fun when you take the great grand kids sledding!!

  5. Diane said

    I have a friend that sufferred from pain for many years. She was labeled a hypochondriac and a pill seeker. FINALLY someone found out what it was. She’s HLA B27 positive. It took more than 10 years to figure this out. Mention it to your doctor.

  6. Sunshyn said

    So how did you like Duma Key? I’m almost done, and I think he should have stopped at the end of the short story that began it all… Is Tabby writing his books, or what? I think The Jackal would have an interesting Set of Eights… (As the Jackal, I mean, not as the actor).

Leave a Reply

