Shakers and Movers

March 1, 2008

Last evening, I attended the most unusual birthday party I’ve ever been invited to.  The guest of honor, Mother Anna Lee, has been dead for over two hundred years.   The party was hosted by my cousin, Kathy, and her friend, Bob.  The entire meal was prepared using recipes from a Shaker cookbook.

Here’s a shot of Kathy working on the cake.  An interesting feature of the recipe is that it calls for the batter to be stirred with a small branch from a peach tree.  As luck would have it, Kathy’s neighbor has a peach tree, and was willing to part with a twig.

Bob strikes a pose in his Shaker hat.

It was a fun evening, but mind-numbing pain necessitated an early departure.  The pain has been so stupefying lately, it pretty much renders me unable to speak.  I’m not exaggerating.  The simple act of talking has become rather difficult. It consumes energy I need to conserve just to bear the pain.

Poor Daniel must think I’ve turned into a mute.  By the time he gets home from work, I’m pretty tightly wrapped up in a cocoon of pain and silence.  I’ve been reading a lot because it takes my mind off the pain, and, when I read in bed, it helps me to fall asleep quickly.  Slumber is my only escape from pain.  Sleeping Beauty didn’t know how good she had it.

Song of the Day:  Shake Your Booty by KC and the Sunshine Band

6 Responses to “Shakers and Movers”

  1. Bex said

    I really feel for you. I’ve been going thru sciatic pain again lately. But I don’t know how you can actually fall asleep with bad pain like that. For me, the pain keeps me changing positions all night, looking for a pain-free one which never comes. I never get ANY sleep because of my pain and I have no idea how I’m living my life now with never any sleep at night. The sciatica is slowly getting less but it’s still there all the time. I just have to wait it out. Pain in the butt — literally!

  2. Sasha said

    I’m sorry the pain is as bad as it is. It sounds horrible, Stephanie. 😦 Would you like me to send you my copy of Snow Flower and the Secret Fan when I’m finished? I’m just about done and maybe you’d like it. I don’t usually hold onto books, I like to pass them on. If you want it, email your address to me again and I’ll send it.

  3. Sunday said

    Man, that ain’t right! Isn’t there SOMETHING they can do, medicine/massage/etc. wise that can help? This is obviously affecting your life, and doesn’t THAT warrent some action on the part of the doctors?

    As for the Shaker party–that cake looks scrumptious! I should sneak into the neighbor’s yard and get a plum branch. No peach trees as far as I can tell ’round here.

    If you have to sleep 28 hours a day, so be it–anything that’ll help.

  4. Sunday said

    Oh, I wanted to add that “Shake Your Booty” (or is it “Shake Shake Shake”?) is probably one of the first (non classical) songs I remember. Long live the 70’s!

  5. LeAnn said

    I just love the idea of the birthday party for someone who has been dead for centuries!! That is so creative!! Too bad you couldn’t get a reprieve from your pain long enough to be able to enjoy the entire evening. I really do hate that for you. Try to enjoy the rest of your weekend, if you can.

  6. Michael said

    It must be horrible to be in such constant pain. I’m sure Daniel understands what you have to do to manage it the best you can. Thank goodness sleep gives you some relief. Get as much as you can as long as you need it, until those doctors can come up with another solution.

Leave a Reply

