Manic Depression

February 27, 2008

Yesterday’s appointment with the orthopedic surgeon was a major disappointment. According to the bone doctor, the pain in my forearm/wrist/hand is not related to my shoulder problems. It could have something to do with my neck. However, he is leaning more towards Carpal Tunnel Syndrome as a diagnosis.

The really bad news is that I have to go for EMG and Nerve Conduction Studies. After my last excruciatingly painful experience with this test, I swore that I would never submit to such torture again. Now it appears that I have no choice. Actually, I do have a choice – go for the EMG or do nothing.

In reference to the shoulder problems, Dr. Bones’ recommendation was – drum roll, please – “Wait and see if it goes away. ” I’ve been doing that since last May! Nine months isn’t long enough to wait?? If I wasn’t on the verge of tears, I would have laughed.

I told the doctor that, since conservative treatment hadn’t helped, my rheumatologist referred me to his group because they have a reputation for being aggressive. I told him that just once I would like a medical professional to offer me a clear treatment plan with a good chance for a positive outcome. Just once, I would like to see light at the end of this dark tunnel of constant pain.

Dr. Bones didn’t know what to say to that, so he said nothing. I left his office with a very heavy heart and the slumped shoulders of defeat. Next, I just might need to be treated for depression because that’s where I’m headed…

Song of the Day: Manic Depression by Jimi Hendrix

11 Responses to “Manic Depression”

  1. LA said

    Oh baby, I am so sorry! What a nightmare. ~LA

  2. I can’t believe these doctors are treating you this way. Maybe you should explore alternative medicine.

  3. Hugs, hugs, hugs. I’m so sorry.

  4. hil said

    I am so sorry you have to bear so much pain. xoxo, hil

  5. I am glad you spoke your mind but so sorry you got no good treatment plan. Can your primary care dr refer you to Mayo’s or Cinncinnati or somewhere else? It sure doesn’t sound like anyone really wants to take a stand and agree that you need something more agressive.

  6. goatbarnwitch said

    I’m so sorry this mess just keeps going on and on for you. Maybe it is time to see a doc from a teaching hospital or get a referral to someone in the city. It just doesn’t make sense that you keep going around in circles with this stuff.

  7. Michael said

    You were so mean to that nice doctor. I’ll bet he didn’t sleep well last night. Seriously, though, please don’t give up, because I’m sure there’s an answer for you out there somewhere. You’re paying a terrible price to get to it, but keep shouting until somebody listens.

  8. Holly said

    Hope you will soon find some answers, instead of the run around…{{Hugs}}

  9. Sunshyn said

    I think it is your spine, all of it. Neck pain radiating to your shoulder, the nerve pain going down to your hand. Seriously. I think acupuncture. In a perfect world, worker comp would pay for it. Acupuncture, massage therapy, chiropractic. The Holy Trinity of alternative medicine. I have arthritis all over the place. It’s in my neck, my lower back, my right shoulder (from that 1977 moped spill I took), my hands. It all hurts. So I take diclofenac and ultram during the day and a vicodin and a soma at night and live with it and hope that the NEXT hip replacement will fix some of it. I feel your pain. Are you SURE you don’t have something autoimmune? Like maybe Lyme disease? My Sponsor had it for years before they finally figured it out — she never had the telltale bullseye rash.

  10. Joan said

    The insurance copmpany that I work for does pay for accupuncture! Would you be able to do that?

  11. What a horrible situation for you. My prayers go out to you. mz. em

Leave a Reply

