Don’t Shovel the Yellow Snow

February 22, 2008

My grandmother is holding up as well as can be expected after her sister’s death. Still, my heart goes out to her. I know how much it hurts to lose a sibling.

My great-aunt has been cremated, and there aren’t going to be any calling hours or services. I’m glad for that. My 96 year old grandmother is definitely not up to a trip to New Jersey.


Schools are closed today, and, again, the timing couldn’t be better. I haven’t been sleeping well, and am deeply exhausted. It’s a relief to know that I can go back to bed and try to catch up on some zees.

There is one thing that’s weighing heavily on my mind, though. Homeowners are required to clear their sidewalks within 24 hours of a snowfall. Daniel is in Canada. Neither of my daughters lives home at present. I’m the only one here.

The thought of lifting a shovel while I am experiencing this kind of pain is not a happy one. If I had some cash, I’d pay a kid to do it, but I don’t so I can’t.

Oh well, I’ll think about that later. For now, I’m going back to bed.

Song of the Day: Don’t Eat the Yellow Snow by Frank Zappa

9 Responses to “Don’t Shovel the Yellow Snow”

  1. goatbarnwitch said

    At least it is very fluffy light snow. But still, wouldn’t the town understand if there is a physical barrier to moving the snow. What about a kind neighbor?
    I hope your grandma can get past her loss, it is so sad when folks get older and all the folks they have had around them leave this world

  2. Jim said

    I was raised with the concept that sidewalks must be cleared — and I was the one who was the designated sidewalk shoveler. When I was in grade school an elderly couple lived on one side of us and my father made it quite clear to me that the neighborly thing to do was to shovel their sidewalk when I did ours. (This “suggestion” was, of course, a non-negotiable demand — this was the early fifties.)

    The result of that upbringing was that when, in 1980, Nancy and I bought a house, and a neighbor on one side was a woman in her fifties (well, I was only in my late thirties when we moved in) who lived alone, I always shoveled her sidewalk along with mine. Sometimes the neighbor on the otherside of her house beat me to it.

    There were a few storms where someone a few houses down would come out with their snowblower and just go all the way to the corner, clearing all of our sidwalks. (Maybe only once or twice a year, but it was surely appreciated.)

    Maybe one of your neighbors will get to feeling neighborly?

  3. Jim said

    In other words, you should stay inside and do not risk hurting your back attempting to shove. Besides, there is still a chance of some snow tomorrow, so you can’t be expected to be cleared when the storm is still active and I doubt that town officials will be inspecting sidewalks on Sunday. The weather forecast says Sunday and Monday are supposed to be sunny and above freezing… and eventually one of the girls will come by, Daniel will be back from Canada, a helpful neighbor may shovel it, or the damned stuff will melt.

  4. Bex said

    Yeah, what Jim said… don’t you do it! Have a good sleep if you can. I can’t sleep either. My sciatica is back!

  5. Our snow was light and fluffy and I was able to sweep it off the deck and steps with a broom. As it turned out though I should have left it there because the ice came and my steps were pure ice. It would have been better for walking with the ice on top of the snow.

  6. Sunshyn said

    Just rain here, but we have snow in the low elevations (up the hill, we call it). NO shoveling for YOU missy! My mom can’t take her garbage cans out, and the waste management company has to come into her backyard and get them for her. Just wondering if your city doesn’t have some service for the disabled. I forget, this is California, and we have all sorts of services the rest of the country hasn’t caught up on yet. Aren’t there homeless people walking around you could pay to shovel on a regular basis? Probably not right around there, huh?

    My husband LOVES that Zappa song. Me, um, not so much…

  7. ann said

    Sorry to hear about your great aunt. As far as shoveling, what would happen if you went away for a week? Would they expect you to come back early just to shovel? Hopefully a kind neighbor, teh sun or the wind will take care of it so you don’t have to worry about it. Take care!

  8. Jim said

    Stephanie… about that comment you left on my page… that is a real puzzle. A few bucks difference either way would be no big deal but that is such a large difference that obviously one of those sources made a major error. TurboTax is a good product, but a typographical error in entering data could really throw it off.

  9. yaketyyak said

    Jim, I checked and double-checked all the data I put into TurboTax, so it was quite a surprise when our accountant’s version of our taxes came back with a thousand less refund dollars than TurboTax would have got us. It is indeed a puzzle.

Leave a Reply

