Valentine’s Day 2008

February 15, 2008

I don’t like to go out to dinner on Valentine’s Day. It has been my experience that the restaurants are too crowded, the service is too slow, and the food is mediocre. That being said, I should also mention that I prefer to not have to cook on Valentine’s Day (or any other day, for that matter. Honestly, I no longer take any pleasure in cooking. I’ve slaved over hot stoves for 40 years, and I’m sick of it.).

We decided to do the next best thing and order takeout. Rebecca’s boyfriend had to work until midnight (he’s a manager at a restaurant), so I invited her to join us for dinner. I called to place the order at 5:00 pm, and was told that the food would be ready for pickup in 40 minutes.

When Rebecca arrived at the restaurant, it became apparent that there had been a mix-up. Our food was at that moment being delivered to a retirement community. The reason for that, if you can believe it, was because I had given Rebecca’s name (since she would picking the food up), and her last name is the same as the name of the retirement community. Unbelievable.

Rebecca tried to convince the guy at the restaurant that he should prepare new meals, but he wouldn’t budge. He said that he would contact the driver and have him deliver the food to our house. The fact that the driver wasn’t answering his phone didn’t seem to matter. The restaurant dude figured that the driver would contact the restaurant once the mistake was discovered. Despite Rebecca’s protestations, the restaurant employee assured her that our food would arrive hot. Yeah, right.

I was furious when I heard about what was going on, and called the restaurant to complain. The young man who answers the phone said the driver was on his way to my house. My angry remarks about this being unacceptable fell on deaf ears. I was too hungry to push the issue.

Twenty minutes later, I called back to say that we were still waiting for the delivery (it should have only taken five minutes to get to my house from the retirement community). I pointed out that our food had been in transit for over an hour, and there was now no question of it arriving hot. The restaurant employee apologized and said, “If this had happened to me, I’d be even more upset than you are.” Fat lot of good that did me.

He told me that when the driver arrived, I should just take the salads (to stave off the hunger pains, I guess), and the restaurant would send fresh meals. I did as instructed, and told the driver to inform the people back at the restaurant that I expected to at least get free desserts out of this fiasco.

Our food finally arrived at 7:05. There were no free desserts, and nothing was taken off the bill to compensate for the inconvenience their error caused us. I’ll be sending them a letter voicing my displeasure. Unfortunately, they make the best penne ala vodka in town, so I doubt that I’ll be able to boycott this restaurant in the future. Sigh.

That negative experience notwithstanding, it was a very nice Valentine’s Day. Daniel gave me a box of truffles, and this pretty bouquet of flowers.

I’m off today (we have an extra long President’s Day weekend), but I still have to hurry up and get ready to go out. My Friend and I are going to breakfast, and then heading for Sam’s Club. See you later!

Song of the Day: My Funny Valentine as sung by my pal, Bradford Anderson

7 Responses to “Valentine’s Day 2008”

  1. Argh, I hate when that happens. We are so far out that no one delivers anyway. At least Daniel made your day special.

  2. Bex said

    It was iffy for a while, but when I called the old man down for supper on Valentine’s Day, he appeared in the doorway with a deep red envelope with “Wifey” written across the front. So I got a card. That’s success if you knew my old man.

    I had given him his card when I first got out of bed.

    It was funny too because both of our cards were funny cards and they both involved snoring…

    I guess our marriage must seem like a giant snore to most people. We never go out to eat, never even go to the movies anymore, and we enjoy just staying home and watching DVDs when we get the time.

    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

    I did go to the special effort of making a cherry pie for dessert. It was real hard.

    Put the premade crust into the pie dish. Open two cans of cherry pie filling and pour into the dish, put the other premade pie crust on top and brush with milk and sprinkle with sugar on the top, bake and let cool.

    But I wouldn’t want it any other way!

    Happy Valentine’s Day (a day late) to you!

  3. Jim said

    That was a pretty horrible way to treat a customer. You certainly should complain to the owner. You can explain what happened and tell them you wanted to give them the opportunity to make things right. (I think they should comp you for the whole dinner.)

  4. Michael said

    The restaurant managed to do the wrong thing every step of the way. I hope your letter gets some action, but it doesn’t sound like this place is very easily moved by customer dissatisfaction. Still, a box of truffles can turn a bad day good.

  5. terri t. said

    I also think a good letter to the manager of the restaurant is in order. Besides, if “you” were supposed to pick up the order, why were they delivering it to the retirement center in the first place? I think you should get a free meal or at the very least, a gift certificate…. and how do you know the return meal was a freshly made dinner anyway. Go girl!

  6. LeAnn said

    Have you heard My Funny Valentine in full yet? I can’t find a cd locally even though the ads say it’s available at local retailers. My husband said he would buy it for me but he doesn’t want to buy it over the internet. He doesn’t understand that it’s perfectly safe. lol. Tell Bex thanks for the cherry pie recipe. I think I can handle that!!!

  7. LisaL said

    Ugh, what a pain–ordering takeout is supposed to be easy, damn it! I hope the food, when it finally arrived, was delicious, but I think I’d still complain. The restaurant’s service (and attitude) was appalling.

Leave a Reply

