Book ’em, Dan-O

January 27, 2008

Got this one from Bev.

Which book do you irrationally cringe away from reading, despite seeing only positive reviews?

I don’t know why, exactly, but Eat, Love, Pray is the book I am currently most resistant to reading.

If you could bring three characters to life for a social event (afternoon tea, a night of clubbing, perhaps a world cruise), who would they be and what would the event be?

I’d like to visit cemeteries in New Orleans with Heathcliff from Wuthering Heights, the Vampire Lestat from the Anne Rice series and Snape from Harry Potter.

You are told you can’t die until you read the most boring novel on the planet. While this immortality is great for awhile, eventually you realize it’s past time to die. Which book would you expect to get you a nice grave?

While I already did read it, I’d still have to say War and Peace. I adore Russian literature, but Tolstoy just doesn’t do it for me. What a snooze-fest.

Come on, we’ve all been there. Which book have you pretended, or at least hinted, that you’ve read, when in fact you’ve been nowhere near it?

I have never pretended or even hinted that I’ve read a book that I did not in fact read, and am rather surprised by this question. Seriously.

As an addition to the last question, has there been a book that you really thought you had read, only to realize when you read a review about it/go to ‘reread’ it that you haven’t? Which book?

Nothing comes to mind.

You’ve been appointed Book Advisor to a VIP (who’s not a big reader). What’s the first book you’d recommend and why?

The Brothers Karamazov, by Fyodor Dostoevsky, because it’s one of my all-time favorites.

A good fairy comes and grants you one wish: you will have perfect reading comprehension in the foreign language of your choice. Which language do you go with?

Russian, so I could read Dostoevsky’s work in the language in which it was written.

A mischievous fairy comes and says that you must choose one book that you will reread once a year for the rest of your life (you can read other books as well). Which book would you pick?

Despite my love for Dostoevsky, his stuff is a little heavy to reread once a year. I’d probably go for something by Stephen King, The Talisman, perhaps.

I know that the book blogging community, and its various challenges, have pushed my reading borders. What’s one bookish thing you ‘discovered’ from book blogging (maybe a new genre, or author, or new appreciation for cover art-anything)?

I discovered that there are a lot of people out there who get their kicks by posting Harry Potter spoilers, thereby ruining the reading experience for others.

That good fairy is back for one final visit. Now, she’s granting you your dream library! Describe it. Is everything leatherbound? Is it full of first edition hardcovers? Pristine trade paperbacks? Perhaps a few favorite authors have inscribed their works? Go ahead-let your imagination run free.

My dream library would be in a turret with floor to ceiling shelves all around (except for the window wall). I’d want one of those old-fashioned globes in a wooden stand, over-sized luxuriously comfortable armchairs and couches, a map coffee table, and a Persian carpet. The books could be a mixture of hard cover and paperback – I’m not a book snob.


At present, I am reading three books: Duma Key by Stephen King, Emma by Jane Austen, and Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult. I just finished Bel Canto (which I loved up until the ending) by Ann Patchett. By the way, because of that book (and this YouTube clip – it makes me cry every time I watch it), I have become interested in opera. Before that, I read Body & Soul, by Frank Conroy (not to be confused with Pat Conroy), which was another book I was seriously loving until I got to the second half. At the end, it went from the absurd to the preposterous. I hate when that happens.

Song of the Day: Every Day I Write the Book by Elvis Costello

6 Responses to “Book ’em, Dan-O”

  1. LA said

    I’m very interested in your take on ‘Duma Key’. While I’m in King mode these days, I’m not really up for new King. I want vintage King. The storyteller with love for his characters and audience. Not this post-accident King who’s mean to everybody. I’m so hoping he found his heart again. ~LA

  2. Jim said

    I love opera. I had always thought I didn’t like it — until friends got me to come along to a workshop performance by the Tri-Cities Opera (in Binghamton) doing pieces from a variety of operas, mostly solos, just a singer on a bare stage with a suggestion of a costume (a cloak, a scarf, whatever) and perhaps a prop or two, no microphones, just their voice filling the room. Parts were so beautiful I had tears running down my cheeks. It was magnificent. I immediately went for season subscriptions until Jill & Jeremy came along and we cut back to just one per season.

    I still don’t much care for listening to opera on the radio but I love live operatic singing.

  3. Sam said

    I’m not sure if a mischievous fairy makes me do this, but for the last several years I have read The Catcher in the Rye every year around Christmas time. It’s become my holiday tradition.

  4. LisaL said

    Your dream library is mine, too! I’ve always loved the idea of a library in a turret. Perfect furnishings, too.

  5. I loved your description of your dream library. I would like something like that as well with maybe a fireplace.

    How are you liking the new King book? I saw him on one of the morning programs and his description makes me want to read the book. I also like his Gunslinger series.

    mz. em

  6. LeAnn said

    I love your dream library. That was great imagery!! I most definately could picture myself in a library like that! I love this survey too!! It was a lot of fun to read.

Leave a Reply

