Pain, Pain Go Away

January 3, 2008

Although I’m feeling much better in reference to the Fibromyalgia and arthritis in my left knee, I’m still really hurting.  It’s my lower back.  The pain has increased considerably.

When I last saw my doctor (on 11/07), he requested authorization for another MRI with gadolinium.  He also recommended that I see a Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation physician. Furthermore, when I went for the Independent Medical Exam on 11/27, that doctor did finally recommend a bone scan “to determine if there is increased uptake in any of the areas of abnormality in her spine.”

Clearly, additional tests are necessary to determine why I continue to experience pain.  However, I have not yet heard from the Comp carrier.  Two months seems to be an unreasonable amount of time to wait for authorization.

I am anxious to take the necessary steps in order to get some relief.  Therefore, yesterday morning, I contacted my attorney (via fax) to see if there is anything we can do to get the ball rolling.  After ruminating further on the situation while I was at work, it occurred to me that I should also get in touch with the doctor who requested authorization.

I called as soon as I got home, and the secretary told me she would contact the Comp carrier by phone.   I’m hoping for a quick response.  Please keep your fingers crossed.

Song of the Day:  It Hurts  by Angels and Airwaves

15 Responses to “Pain, Pain Go Away”

  1. Gloria said

    My fingers are crossed for you. I am dealing with severe pain and from a pinched nerve and bought one of those over-the-door traction contraptions and will hang myself today, lol, see if it works. Pain is horrible — please know that you’re not alone. And good luck!

    Gloria

  2. Stefani said

    Fingers and toes are crossed!

  3. Jim said

    Hey, eyes crossed too!

  4. Fingers, Legs, Toes, and eyes are crossed…and I threw in a prayer too!!

  5. Crossing everything here

  6. kitchenlogic said

    I am so sorry. I know how you feel, sort of. I probably have nothing compared to what you’ve been going through, long term. This is hell! And percoset is not what it’s cracked up to be. Also? The prednisone won’t let me sleep. Lordgoshalmighty, I’m bored out of my mind and I just want the pain and the muscle spasms to go away!

  7. goatbarnwitch said

    All kinds of stuff crossed here. I hope those comp dopes get their act together ASAP

  8. sasha said

    Crossed everything here. xoxo

  9. Michael said

    It’s good you got things rolling again. My fingers are crossed that these people who are supposed to be helping actually come through. Pain sucks!

  10. LeAnn said

    My landlady was over here yesterday and she was telling me about her workers comp claim. She injured her back at work and the workers comp folks sent her to several docs. Some of the docs said there was nothing wrong with her and her place of employment denied she was injured at work. She said it took about two years of struggle and headache with all the hassle and torture they put you through, but she finally won her settlement. I know you’re in pain and they are dragging it out but you will endure!

  11. Bex said

    It just never gets better, does it? I have bad bad problems, as well. Sometimes I get something “out of place” in my spine (like the other day while I was leaning over to kiss my dog) and it will invade my whole back. I went down to the basement and hung upside down on my machine (can’t remember the name of it but it’s been advertised on TV a lot) – I felt something pop back in my lower spine, and after that the pain was gone. That always helps me when I get a pain like that. Of course, I have what I believe is spinal stenosis and sciatica which can’t be helped just by hanging upside down, but for other things, it works great. Like neck pain! It just puts all the vertebrae back into their correct positions. I highly recommend one of these machines if anyone is thinking of getting one.

    After reading your entry today, I swear you could be a medical transcriptionist without too much training – you seem to be getting all the medical lingo down pretty good lately!

  12. You called all the people I was going to suggest you call. Keep on all of them too. It is nothing for them to just diary your claim up for 60 to 90 days….it isn’t their pain so they don’t “get it”. Hope you can find something for relief.

  13. Joan said

    My 29 year old son has been suffering from back pain for awhile. He is going in soon to have an MRI and he is absolutely terrified because (like his Mom) he is terribly claustrophobic. He won’t take any pain medication because of an earlier dependency with them. I feel so bad for him…and you!

  14. summergale said

    Two months *is* too long! It’s criminal if you’re in pain!

Leave a Reply

