Picture Perfect

December 28, 2007

It’s time for the Christmas 2007 recap. The day started with the gift-opening extravaganza. Ellie couldn’t to wait to see what was in her stocking.

Penny was more reserved, and had to sniff things out before she showed any enthusiasm.

Here’s a shot of Rebecca with a gag gift. (She loves pigs and soccer, so I couldn’t resist getting her this t-shirt from Piggly Wiggly.)

Although she doesn’t look too thrilled, these Ugg boots were on Leigh’s wish list. (In her defense, she was tired from having to get up early to go walk the dogs that were being boarded at the veterinary clinic where she works.)

The girls were well taken care of in the gift department. Daniel and I didn’t do so bad, either. One of the presents Daniel received was an electronic keyboard package similar to this one. Since he moved here, he hasn’t been able to play the piano, and he was really itching to tickle the ivories.

I got what I asked for – a gift certificate for three massages. Yay! Among other things, I was also given The Police 2CD anthology. The accompanying card from Daniel said, “I’ll be wrapped around your finger.” I thought that was so cute.

After the presents were opened, I cooked the traditional french toast breakfast. Then we got ready to go my sister’s house. When we arrived, I stood in awe before the mounds of festively wrapped boxes, bags, and baskets. It was truly a sight to behold.

It reminded me of the family gatherings we used to have at my parents’ house. Bear in mind that my parents had six children, and most of us have spouses and/or children of our own. That makes for a pretty large gathering.

I had such a nice day. It was a very Merry Christmas, indeed. I’ll let the pictures tell the story.

Here’s a shot of me with my niece, Kristen.

After that photo was taken, Kristen took over my camera. Here are some of the results.

It’s too bad this photo of Leigh came out so dark. She looked really pretty.

This one of Rebecca came out better.

The two Stephanies. How cool that we were wearing red and green! (The other Stephanie, by the way, is my brother, Frank’s, wife, and Kristen the photographer’s mother.)

Kristen captured this cute moment between her sister, Rachel, and grandpa.

Uncle Mike is chillin’.

After that, the photos got kind of silly.

That last one is representative of how we all felt by the end of the day – stuffed to the gills. There was way  too much food. But we enjoyed every bite, and, more importantly, we enjoyed being together. And that’s what matters most.

So there you have it – my photo review of Christmas 2007. FYI: I’ve already started shopping for Christmas 2008. There are some good sales out there, people! Take advantage of them!

I have a busy day ahead of me, so I’d better go get showered and dressed. This evening, Rebecca and I are supposed to go to the Bronx Zoo’s Holiday Lights Unfortunately, the weather forecast calls for showers and then steady rain. I guess we’ll have to play it by ear.

Song of the Day: Photograph by Nickelback

9 Responses to “Picture Perfect”

  1. Looks like a grand time! Happy New Year!

  2. Glad you had a fun day with family.

  3. LeAnn said

    Thanks for sharing. I enjoyed the pics. Have a happy New Year!!!

  4. Jeanette said

    Great pictures! That red and green one is pretty cool!

  5. Betty Lou said

    It’s nice to share your family Christmas. Happy New Year !

  6. LA said

    Too. Much. Fun!

    I wanna hear about the other thing. Please call if you’re not up for sharing the tale here.

    Intriguiged, ~LA

  7. Sunshyn said

    I’m so glad you had a lovely Christmas. I had to wait to view your entry until I could open it at home. Photobucket must be blocked at work. Kodakgallery is blocked now, too (damn them…)

  8. So many great pictures. Kristen did a really good job taking some of them. Your daughters are so pretty….
    Thanks for sharing the happy day with us.

  9. Penny said

    Stephine that one picture of you … you look amazing.. really like you are in your 30s.

Leave a Reply

