Have a Holly Jolly Christmas

December 25, 2007

Santa Claus was here!

As on most mornings, I’m the first one up.  Also, as on most mornings, one of the first things I did was to sit with a cup of coffee and Sarah Ban Breathnach’s book, Simple Abundance: A Daybook of Comfort and Joy.  Today, when I glanced at the title of the book, the lyrics “O tidings of comfort and joy, comfort and joy, O tidings of comfort and joy” ran through my head.

In today’s essay, Breathnach quotes Dickens: “Oh, would that Christmas lasted the whole year, as it ought. Would that the spirit of Christmas could live within our hearts every day of the year.”

Breathnach writes, “But what is the Christmas spirit?…Perhaps the Christmas spirit is our souls’ knowledge that things, no matter how beautiful, are only things; that we were created not only always to do, but sometimes simply to be” (emphasis mine).

Ms. Breathnach ends with a wish for all of us: “that behind the toys, tinsel, carols, cards, and convivial chaos, there will come a moment of quiet reflection and peace.”

That’s why I get up so early.  Before I start my day in earnest, I need these moments of quiet reflection and peace.  I need to simply be, not do.

Today, and always, I wish you moments of quiet reflection and peace.  I wish you comfort and joy. I wish you a very Merry Christmas.

Song of the Day:  Happy Christmas  by John Lennon

17 Responses to “Have a Holly Jolly Christmas”

  1. Thank you for the wish of quiet reflection and peace. That is a wonderful gift.

  2. Merry Christmas Stephanie!

  3. Jeanette said

    Thank you and a very Merry Christmas to you and yours also.

  4. Betty Lou said

    Thank you for the quotes. I, for one, feel better now. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and yours.

  5. sasha said

    Merry christmas to you and your family!

  6. Kim said

    Merry, peaceful christmas, Stephanie. I hear ye about the getting up early for the peace and reflection part.

  7. Sunshyn said

    Merry Christmas. Remind yourself, as I try to remind my own self, “I am a human being, not a human doing.”

    Roo slept late and didn’t rush to the tree first thing. He sort of had to remember first. Santa was good to us.

  8. Merry Chirstmas Stephanie!!

  9. Bex said

    Happy Christmas, one one and all who visit here, and best holiday wishes to you, Stephanie, our hostess with the mostess!

  10. goatbarnwitch said

    I too have always found being the first to rise is a most peaceful way to begin…. I hope your Christmas was a most peaceful and joyous one.

  11. Stefani said

    Merry Christmas, Stephanie, to you and your family!

  12. Joan said

    Merry Chistmas, Stephanie! What a peace – full entry.

  13. LA said

    I love you so much. Merry Christmas. ~LA

  14. Alvin said

    Merry Xmas Steph and the best of the new year to you and yours.
    =a=

  15. Pam L said

    What a perfect time to reflect, before the busy day begins. Peace and Joy were ours yesterday, and wish the same for you.

  16. terri said

    Your Christmas sounded lovely…and thanks to you….I had mentioned the impact your blog had made on me regarding the Simple Abundance book and my dear, sweet, thoughtful daughter-in-law bought me a copy as a gift. So now I can read those special words myself every day.
    And btw, I am posting the recipe for the white chocolate chips and raspberry jam on my blog as soon as I relocate the recipe.

  17. LeAnn said

    That was a lovely blog. I hope you had a Happy Christmas!!

    Love,
    LeAnn

Leave a Reply

